288

thinking.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in think and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 288

  1. Sometimes you have to try outside to really appreciate what inside has to offer. ;]

  2. Chris F says:

    Fantastically wonderfully better! But like this guy, might be alone. And exposed – the sky might fall on his head.

  3. jonbirch says:

    that’s true too khs. :-)
    very funny chris f. :-) i was watching a programme on the telly last night on the power of the planet, this episode was specifically on the subject of the atmosphere. one of the things i gleaned from this most gob smackingly awe inspiring piece of tv was that bits of the sky are constantly falling on our heads… :-)
    but i guess you meant the whole sky all in one go… hmmm, not so good! :-)

  4. jonbirch says:

    i wonder if people who are thinking outside the box are really just stepping into another bigger box which exists outside the box, or rather that the smaller box exists inside.

  5. jonbirch says:

    thanks, carole. :-)

  6. Laura says:

    Reminds me of the Angel of the North

  7. jonbirch says:

    what do you think of the angel of the north? it’s bold and impressive… i quite like it. :-)

  8. Laura says:

    I quite like it too. Solid and Stately piece of art.

  9. su says:

    church is a phenomena

  10. jonbirch says:

    so is the angel of the north… or is that phenomenal?

  11. Carole says:

    Yes Laura, I agree that it is reminiscent of the Angel of the North. When I first saw pictures of the Angel of the North I thought it looked like a rusty old aeroplane wedged in the ground. In the past few years, we have passed it several times on the way to Newcastle to visit student daughter. About a year ago we finally got out of the car to have a closer look. It’s pretty awesome.

    A essence of Plato’s cave, too, methinks…

  12. jonbirch says:

    it’s a very big ‘welcome to the north’… i like that.
    i too didn’t like it at first… just goes to show how you can change and develop your appreciations, doesn’t it? i struggle with alot of modern art and installation because it looks easy to do. i may be completely wrong about what lies at the heart of some of the stuff i dislike the most… in fact i’m bound to be wrong really… but i want to be the boy who notices the emperor has no clothes. i need to chill out. :-)

  13. Carole says:

    Funny you should say that – I am always saying that I want to shout out “But the emperor’s got no clothes”. I’ve often felt very much on the outside looking in and that I see things differently from other people in my circles. This is occasionally, as I’m sure you agree, an uncomfortable place to be. I am quite a chilled person but I think it is good to maintain a bit of passion about stuff. I would hate to become apathetic.

    But also, there is enough heart in both of us, by the sounds of things, to admit when we are wrong about something, not least first impressions. I would like to (modestly) state that that is a real gift.

  14. Carole says:

    Just thinking about what you said about changing appreciations. I always, in my uneducated way I’m sure, scoffed at Picasso. I thought his cubist art was really crap until I saw a TV prog which explained a bit more about where he was coming from artistically with cubism. Then I thought he’d kind of earned the right to do bizarre pictures that I didn’t understand. When I finally got to see Guernica in the Reina Sofia in Madrid it was a truly jaw-dropping experience for me. I’d only ever seen it in books and on picture postcards before. Now Mark Rothko, I still find problematic… Sorry if this seems to be off on a tangent from the point of your cartoon, but I think all of it, art, life, faith, is often an ongoing evolution of ideas and changing perceptions. Everything I have said here is from my context now, firmly entrenched in the box of my experiences to date and may well change in the future and be influenced by those with whom I come into contact… Just a thought.

  15. Sarah says:

    It’s not just a question of “thinking” outside the box, it’s a question of feeling.

    Dare to be yourself.

    Sas

  16. Sarah says:

    I LOVE the Angel of the NOrth. My husband says the angels like it too (!)

    Sas x

  17. Laura says:

    Feeling outside the box???
    Hmmmmmmm so how would that work exactly?
    Curious now.

  18. jonbirch says:

    i often feel a bit misfit, even though i know i am very loved. that’s a bit like feeling outside a box. how about life on the edge of the box, seeing both in and out?… i think that is an experience i have… but like in the other box cartoon, i think now i’m probarbly just looking at another box. :-)

Leave a Reply

