320

answer.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in humour, jesus, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to 320

  1. Ros says:

    Taking the communion prayers a bit too literally!

  2. Carole says:

    This reminds me of when a lovely woman friend was going through a really crap time, I mean really crap. She is married to a clergyman so she has heard all the standard phrases a million times. Another friend, well meaning enough starts to come out with, “just lay it all at the foot of the cross” and that kind of stuff. Truly, I’m not demeaning the meaning of all that, it’s just the way it’s used. I’m not even having a go at the other woman – she didn’t really know how to deal with the situation, so she did what she could by hiding behind soundbites. My response? “God this is so crap. I wish I could do something to make you feel better but I feel so useless.” OK, not much better but it was my honest response. So we just hugged and we cried. Sometimes words just don’t cut the mustard.

  3. jonbirch says:

    yeh… sometimes words fall so far short.
    a bit like dogma… don’t say it, show it… and if it isn’t filled with love don’t even bother showing it.

  4. Rachel says:

    I love this! A friend recently wrote his English Exam on Jesus, and justified it to his father (our pastor) by saying that ‘Jesus is always the answer’!!

  5. jonbirch says:

    haha! brilliant! :-)

  6. Chris F says:

    You’ve probably all heard this one – visiting speaker does kids talk, knows the sort of church he’s in, so in attempt to liven things up, asks “Whats grey, furry, lives in a tree and eats nuts?” After a pause, a kid gets up and says, “Sir, I know the answer should be Jesus, but it sounds like a squirrel to me”

  7. Sarah says:

    Carole’s right it’s all in how you relate with people.

    I think our goal is to prize each of our brothers and sisters, and every human being, as unique, wonderful (even if they don’t always seem that way or we can’t deal!) individuals, made in Jesus’ image.

    The more we practice love the better we’ll be. Lifetime’s work.

    Love, Sas x

    PS If this is anyone’s last log on before Christmas, Happy Christmas! God bless you and love you and make all your dreams come true x

    Love to one and all.

    Sas x

  8. jonbirch says:

    i like very much the goal you’ve stated sas… nicely put… you are spot on. :-)

  9. jonbirch says:

    I’ve just noticed a typo in the cartoon…. AAAAAAGH!

  10. Laura says:

    I’m not sure what talking about. What typo did make? Surely, it’s just that are too hard on self. I think did it on purpose. ;-)

  11. Laura says:

    oh, and no one would have noticed if hadn’t pointed it out.

  12. Carole says:

    Now, Jon, if you hadn’t made me go back and read it I’d never have known. Isn’t it amazing how the brain just fills in the gaps for you?

  13. jonbirch says:

    hi laura and carole… it is indeed amazing how the brain fills in the gaps… i wish it did it in other areas of my life… but no, the gaps are still there. :-)

  14. Robb says:

    The kids at school are always doing this – regardless of their faith background. How many pieces of homework will I receive next year with a cross on the front? Lots. What’s the topic? Hajj.

    Do’h

  15. Sarah says:

    Remind me what hajj is Robb? It’s the pilgrimage isn’t it?

    Sas x

  16. Robb says:

    That’s right. It just finished 5 days ago. My year 8′s were doing a project about it – and I can guarantee at least 17 crosses will be drawn on them. The justification will be “It’s all ‘religious’ isn’t it?”

    It doesn’t matter how many times that if a Maths teacher asked for 2+2 and they answered 17 it wouldn’t be the right answer!

  17. sarah says:

    Ah well!

    They might have a point, if you weren’t trying to teach them the distinctives…

    All the best in your work Robb.

    Happy Christmas,

    Sarah x

  18. subo says:

    oh boy, the frosty atmosphere in this cartoon – it’s too much like life.

  19. jonbirch says:

    sorry, subo. :-(

  20. subo says:

    Just as well there’s a few humour filled blogs, like …

    Does anyone remember Calvin. S. in ‘Rainbows 4 a Fallen W.’ talking about the way people can loose their sense of play?

  21. jonbirch says:

    yes i do. but then he is the best christian writer ever. ‘on being human’ is my favourite read ever. he completely engages my brain and then i can almost feel the goodness and wisdom of his words trickle down into my heart. i love that man. :-)

  22. Jane says:

    When I first moved to France I discovered that there are two kinds of sliced sausage called “Jésus” – that’s right Jésus cru ou Jésus cuit
    which can translate as raw Jesus or cooked Jesus.
    I just love your work – wonderful, inspiring for many sermons.

  23. jonbirch says:

    thank you very much, jane. :-)

  24. sarah says:

    I love Calvin Seerveld too!

    Cool!

    Sas x

  25. jonbirch says:

    hi jane, was the sausage any good? :-)

    yes, seerveld is the man. :-)

  26. Carole says:

    If French sausage is your thing I can recommend andouillette…not…

Leave a Reply

