321

morning.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to 321

  1. Greymalkin says:

    wow.Jon my heart hurt from that. That was the best asbo jesus ever.and there have been genius ones but this ones just……cool

  2. thevikingfru says:

    nice, really nice;-)

  3. Tim says:

    I love it! I’ve been a reader for some time but never commented. Keep up the good work!

  4. Lori says:

    Simply beautiful.

  5. jonbirch says:

    thanks, lori. :-)

  6. i wish this were my life, but it’s not.

  7. Happy says:

    Nice. I loved this one, Jon.

    It reminded me of a time last February when I was wrestling with a tough decision I had to make, and in the middle of all of it, I felt God ask me, “Happy, what do *you* want?” I was so floored – and so honored – to know that I had a choice in this thing called life; that tho there is “a plan”, a something that God wants me to live into – I get to choose sometimes how that happens; that there are crossroads where rather than there being only one “right” path, there’s an option to have input into this story. it’s so cool. thanks for the reminder. God is SO good.

    peace,
    Happy

  8. Happy says:

    p.s. Heather – why not? or rather, what makes you say that? just curious…

  9. Angela says:

    I love this one too -it puts a smile on my face,love Angela

  10. storch says:

    i had a little discussion on my german blog on asbo-jesus being cynical and bitter. this one ist neither cynical nor bitter, thats for sure.
    i really enjoy asbo-jesus and this one is a highlight.
    thanks for it!

  11. will says:

    love it Jon Boy. It really makes the whole partnership thing with God hit home. God could do everything on his own but he has chosen us to work with him – A lovely reminder to our responsibility in these things.

  12. jonbirch says:

    thanks all! :-)
    the cartoon is a simple reminder that our life is our own. we can make the choices, we are free to decide. even if life seems to have given us a bum deal… a loved one to nurse, a job we hate, or an enemy who attacks… it is we who decide how we behave, it is we who can choose to love or to walk away. that is true freedom.

  13. Carole says:

    Aw, Jon, you’ve gone all vulnerable on us!!! Lovely!!!

    PS why is my response usually, “I know, Lord, I’ll make a list…”

  14. jonbirch says:

    because your life is busy? you’re worried you’ll forget something important? you have a head filled with lots of stuff? see you’ve got me making lists now! :-)

  15. Robb says:

    It does amuse me when I meet someone who claims that God chose their tie that morning.

    “I was praying, what should I have for dinner Lord when He led me to fish and chips”.

    Amen brother, preach it!!

  16. chris says:

    just found you. awesome stuff. I’ve been reading a devo by CS Lewis that, more verbosely, addresses the theme of your work here. Perhaps God is trying to tell me something. Hmm….

  17. Sarah says:

    Heather, peace to you.

    Lovely toon Jon.

    Sas x

  18. jonbirch says:

    thanks, chris. :-)

    cheers, robb and sas… i’m gettin more up beat in time for christmas. :-)

  19. Pingback: Top blogs, hot posts 12/23/2007 9:18:53 AM « conduong.co.cc

  20. Jenn Calhoun says:

    Jon… Masterful!!! That’s how I want to start everyday!!

  21. Pingback: The Perfect Start | Lundie’s Life

  22. Lundie says:

    I second the first post.
    Amen.

  23. jonbirch says:

    thanks, lundie. :-)

  24. Pingback: wake up and choose « u t h p s t r

  25. This is good.
    Except for a sunday.
    Obviously we already know how sundays go.
    Cos they’re the same every week. ;-)

  26. Bill says:

    The last frame is backwards.

  27. jonbirch says:

    hi bill… why’s that?

  28. Bill says:

    Because the servant of God should be asking God what God has for him to do each day, not the other way around.

    The last frame makes this cartoon seem very man-centered. Whether you intended it to be that way or not, I’d like to afford you an opportunity to clarify your position.

  29. jonbirch says:

    the cartoon is meant to be more relationship centred, rather than man centred.

  30. I get what you mean Bill. But that’s what I really like about it. God is amazing, worthy of praise, to be honoured etc etc.
    And then he comes along and says ‘what shall we do today?’
    Wow!!
    I find it hard sometimes to be God’s kid and just accept that he loves me like a perfect father without worrying about the detail.
    Whatever the theology, this cartoon so so happens in the real world – with the last frame just as it is!

  31. AnneDroid says:

    Mmmm. Think I’m with Bill #28 a bit

    Yeh, it’d be dead handy if God showed up in the morning to see how I’d like Him to help/serve me today, but I don’t know if I’d like it really.
    Remember poor Bruce Almighty when he gets a shot of being in charge!

    And as the kids are constantly told in the Narnia Chronicles, Aslan is NOT a tame lion.

    I prefer Him being a bit masterful, but I’m chuffed to bits if He wants to let me tag along with Him for the day (every day!)

    Ax

  32. Anna says:

    this made me smile!… Im still smiling!

  33. jonbirch says:

    cheers anna… i’m glad. :-)

Leave a Reply

