354

plugged1.jpg

something robb said. :-)

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in church, humour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 354

  1. “What’s your favourite sort of Gig, Pig?
    Barry Manilow?
    Or the Black and White Minstrel Show?”

    - Rick, the people’s poet from “The Young Ones”

  2. jonbirch says:

    hope you don’t mind oso… but i’ve ammended the cartoon as your comment made me realise how it could be interpreted… cheers. :-)

  3. sarah says:

    The community is supposed to welcome the newcomer. It’s not about a sea of activities, but about people.

    What springs out of that would hopefully look different with each community, but in some way all would be feeding the hungry, healing the sick, helping others to follow Jesus.

    Don’ want to blow our own trumpet here but here are some good thoughts on “what’s church about”:

    http://www.fotk.org.uk/index.php?module=ContentExpress&func=display&ceid=16

    Love ya all,

    Sas x

  4. subo says:

    lush graphics

  5. subo says:

    Your pic reminded me of how useful it is to read the bible following studying other subjects-

    for instance I read ‘Waking the Tiger’ by Peter Levine, he writes in detail about the effects truma can have on us, including loosing our speach, knowing this de-bunks the mystery in some texts about not being able to speak, including Zachariah on seeing an Angel in the temple, guess that is pretty scary.

    what I mean is, church can feel ‘super-spiritual’ as well as ‘belonging on condition of’, both these things can have a nasty effect on one.

  6. Robb says:

    In the words of a bowl of petunias, “oh no, not again”.

    I should keep my mouth shut! :D

    That is exactly the image in my head when I said it! Thanks Jon!

  7. ron says:

    It might be “oh no, not again.” for now.
    But wait til they get their karma saved up for a “kick-butt, kill the perpetrator of all the ills that befall me” body. Of course, Arthur still survived. Must be something to that.

  8. DrNick says:

    Hmmm, well when I said “plugged in” I wasn’t really thinking of the implications of that phrase!

    I guess I mean people need to be involved in a Church in such a way that they are both giving to and receiving from the community (both Church and non-Church) in a positive, enriching, bringing-God-closer way.

    A bit like plugging a network cable into two computers, the stuff goes both ways, and hopefully its good stuff going both ways! :-)

  9. Hello DrNick :-)
    I agree! I think people need it ideally. But I think sometimes it’s really hard to get it anywhere. And sometimes what’s available does more harm than it helps. Sadly :-(

  10. Carole says:

    Nothing to do with the post, guys. My dear old mum has had poor health for a while. It’s now taken a sharp turn for the worse. If anyone could spare a prayer for her it would be appreciated. We know there is only one way out but to be supported by your prayers would be good. Thank you.

  11. sarah says:

    Will pray for your Dear Mum Carole,

    God Bless,

    Sarah x

  12. jonbirch says:

    count on thoughts and prayers carole. xxx

  13. jonbirch says:

    drnick… the cartoon is no reflection on what you said… honest. :-) robbs comment just raised up a ‘had to be done’ cartoon. in fact your take on what plugging in should mean is quite right.
    blame robb… he started it! :-) :-) :-)

  14. Robb says:

    Eeek! I’ll get my coat!

    Dr Nick, you aren’t the first and you wont be the last to say plugged in in that manner. I think I’ll suggest it to someone tomorrow.

    I’m off to start something else now. ;)

    My head hurts. 3 Hrs in a rehearsal room playing cheesy songs has given be a bad head and neck!!

  15. Laura says:

    praying for you and your mum carole

  16. thevikingfru says:

    That could have been me in that cartoon a few years ago ;-)

  17. thevikingfru says:

    A few years ago that could have been me in that cartoon ;-)

  18. Rickard says:

    OOPS, sorry for the double post, just wanted to make sure my point got across LOL, not sure what happened, it must have been from being “plugged in”.

  19. Lori says:

    And under my alter ego Rickard (my husband) I must be tired!

  20. Robb says:

    You got it Carole!

  21. Carole says:

    Thanks guys, I really appreciate that.

  22. jonbirch says:

    hope spain is good! :-)

  23. jonbirch says:

    thanks jenn c! :-)

  24. Rick Gibson says:

    LOL, I never thought of ‘plugged in’ that way before! But I’ve had shocking experiences of my own.

    Hmm… we do make strange statements sometimes don’t we, like ‘getting plugged in’, or ‘I like a preacher who pulls no punches’.

  25. jonbirch says:

    some charismatic churches have some really mad ones. ‘aflame’, ‘fully in the water’, etc. burning or drowning eh?… some choice! :-)

  26. Robb says:

    Are you washed in the blood of the lamb?

    No and I don’t want to be! Sounds disgusting!

Leave a Reply

