355 & 356

reasons1.jpg

reasons2.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in think and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 355 & 356

  1. zefi says:

    Hey, I find much joy in rain!

  2. jonbirch says:

    me too… but not to the extent we’re having it in gb at the moment. :-)

  3. A S Hodel says:

    I’m reading a book on cognitive therapy for depression. Your cartoons are a fantastic illustration of how we can choose thought patterns that either strengthen us or tear us down!

  4. Lori says:

    Mmm… very true!
    I’m praying I’m more sunny all the time, though. :-)

  5. Happy says:

    deep thoughts at 1:00am on the far side of the Pond… what causes us to be the cause of both sunshine and rain? or is it just human nature?

    Carole – praying for your mum toni… er, this morning. God’s peace be with her – and with you.

    love,
    Happy

  6. sarah says:

    …you are a Big One Jon.

    We all are.

    Take care,

    Sas x

  7. Phil says:

    I hope I’m more sun than rain

  8. Becky says:

    Wow – this ties in perfectly with my New Year’s Resolution, which is “focus on what works” – My Lenten discipline (can’t believe it’s almost upon us) is to really solidify that. MUCH easier said than done as I’m the type to go ‘why doesn’t so and so be a decent human being to me?’ instead of focusing on the fact I have people like you in my life. Duh.

  9. csalzman says:

    Between these and 352 I think you might have just perfectly described the human condition.

    Thank you for what you do.

  10. youthworkerpete says:

    Anyone seen ‘It’s a wonderful life’?

    I havn’t, I’m not alternative enough to watch balck and white films and not get bored :(

    But I’m told it’s just what A S Holden was refering to above.

    Great cartoons tho! Love those two.

  11. Carole says:

    It’s a Wonderful Life? Compulsory Christmas Day viewing, that is YWP!Just the thing for when you are slumped like Mr Creosote in your armchair before that final after dinner mint.

  12. Carole says:

    There is a balance there, though. It’s a bit ‘yin and yang’ if you want to throw a Chinese philosophical twist on things.

  13. I like to be sunshine but then I get proud and pride scares me.
    I don’t like to be rain but then I feel humble and humble feels safer.

    Not sure what I’m trying to say!

  14. Steve says:

    In the words of the mighty Jon Foreman.

    “Cause I’m an already but not yet resurrected fallen man”

  15. Moppy says:

    to youthworkerpete,

    ‘Its a wonderful life’ is beautiful, beautiful beautiful film. im not kidding when i say it has literally been prescribed by doctors over the years to help cure depression. it makes you feel amazing, whatever is going on in life (well thats a bit of a generalization).

  16. jonbirch says:

    “focus on what works”… great idea becky. i’ll do that too i think.

    it’s a wonderful life will always be in my top 10 films! …and i prefer sci-fi normally. :-) i’ve never watched it at christmas though.

    hi csalzman… and thanks. it probarbly sums up my condition. :-)

  17. sarah says:

    Allatsea,

    I know what you’re trying to say.

    Sas x

  18. youthworkerpete says:

    I now feel very uncultured…. I will make steps to rectify this.

  19. Laura says:

    It’s a wonderful life is my favorite film of all time! Followed quickly by Willy Wonka (the orginial one, not the crap Johnny Depp version)

    oooompah, oooooompah…

  20. Laura says:

    I really don’t know why I just shared that…

  21. jonbirch says:

    hahaha! my favourite film ever… is… 2001. hope that makes you feel better laura. i think most would prefer your choice of willy wonka! :-)

    hurrah! ywp! i think you are this websites first ever convertion! obviously i’m trusting the film to work its magic on you. :-)

    hi allatsea+… do you mean that when you’re sunshiney you’re in performance mode and that feeds the ego? i know that’s true for me, but by the same token it can be great for the ego and i love it when others laugh and join in. :-)

  22. A S Hodel says:

    It’s a Wonderful Life … required viewing, along with Casablanca.

    B&W makes you bored? Ted Turner colorized them awhile back. :-O

  23. subo says:

    living in Inner City UK, this makes me feel for my multi-cultural neighbours, some clothes are so impractical in this climate – apparently women living in the UK suffer from Vitamin D deficiency unless they make the most of the available sun by exposing as much skin as poss, – and imagine being dressed from head to toe and going out in a soaker! There’s something to be said for christianity

  24. Hey Laura I lurve willy wonka aswell :-)
    I don’t mind the new one. Got some real funnies in there. But I really love the old one :-) :-)

  25. Jon, not really. Even when my motive are right on in the first place, as soon as I realise I’m doing something good pride and the need for approval start to creep in! One of my things. Then I have this huge battle.

    When I screw up, I seem to end up realising I don’t need to be great and free to be me, loved by God anyway.

    Wierd huh???

    Thanks for getting me Sas :-) xx

  26. su says:

    just a thought, allatsea.., isn’t it human to feel a need for approval, and don’t we really need a little sometimes from somewhere?

    I guess I’m reading your comments from recovering from my critical/superspiritual background, and learning not to be afraid is taking me forever.

  27. Carole says:

    Now I do think Johnny Depp can look quite cute – I liked him in Chocolat. But in Willy Wonka – he makes my skin crawl in that one.

  28. Su :-)
    Maybe our backgrounds are fairly similar in that sense! I don’t feel so afraid anymore but fear is still one of my things too. Big hugs for your journey xx

  29. sarah says:

    Love to you Both Allatsea and Su – here’s to journeying through it with each other and with God.

    Sas x

  30. subo says:

    cheers allatsea and sas, thanks shared footpaths and hugs

  31. sarah says:

    Su can’t wait to see you next Weds x

    Sas x

  32. Pingback: Daily How To 149 « Let the music move your body

Leave a Reply

