384 & 385

prov1.jpg

prov2.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 384 & 385

  1. marcus says:

    Brought a chuckle or two to me :)

  2. Pingback: How to use scripture « Ute & Christian’s Blog

  3. Clare says:

    Hm. Sounds familiar…maybe I should try putting you out on the roof tonight??!!!???
    x
    Wife

  4. Jeevan says:

    erm…as always…

  5. sarah says:

    Well…he said it!

    Sas x

  6. jonbirch says:

    he did indeed say it sas… he deserves all he gets!

    haha!… very disturbed to find my wife dis’ing me in public with her evil lies! :-)

    thanks jeevan. :-) marcus. :-) robb. :-)

  7. Roland says:

    But I don’t WANT to fix the toilet. :)

  8. Tom C says:

    Funny how some people like to pick and choose the scriptures they use. This guy should try reading Proverbs 31
    “A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds…
    {skipping ahead a few verses}…Give her everything she deserves! Festoon her life with praises!”

  9. A S Hodel says:

    Genesis: “Hearken unto the voice of your wife.”

  10. Chris F says:

    Very funny!

  11. becky says:

    You know when one wears a toilet over one’s head, it does look like one of those funny hats that one sees priests wearing when they play dress-up. ;-)

  12. jonbirch says:

    in all honesty i would never offer nor attempt to mend the toilet… nor much else for that matter. i am useless at all that ‘man’ type stuff. clare knew what she was getting though. she’s far more practical than me… by a mile.

  13. AnneDroid says:

    Hahahahaha…etc.

    My husband quoted, “It’s better to live on the corner of a roof than to share a house with a nagging wife” all through our engagement! He claimed it was his favourite verse.

    As I patiently explained, though, if he did what he was told the first time there wouldn’t be any nagging :)

    After fourteen years we’ve reached a compromise. He can have the last word… if it’s “yes dear”.

  14. steve says:

    Hey Jon. Is that a La-Z-Boy?

  15. subo says:

    as The Pub Landlord might say ‘I think I’m detecting a pattern’, in the hard man approach, where you neglect your wife, and then lable her as a nag! it takes two to build happiness and understanding

  16. thevikingfru says:

    Hehehe!

  17. jonbirch says:

    i’d love to see a book of proverbs written by women.

  18. Robb says:

    A kindhearted woman gains respect,
    but ruthless men gain only wealth.

    a foolish man despises his mother.

    I think most men have had this conversation at some point. I was having this conversation in the pub on Sunday afternoon whilst Sheffield held us to a 0-0 draw. “Son listen to my wisdom and it will guard you well… would you like a pint of carling whilst we do it?” Dad went on to tell me that “If I was you I would be buying a house and sticking at teaching and blah blah blah…”

    I refuse to believe that there isn’t an equivalent for women. Every time father and I return from the hard working afternoon of footbal, snooker and putting the world to rights I am greeted with tales of “Your mother says I shouldn’t let you go to… and your mother thinks I need to convince you to stick to teaching… blah blah blah…”

    The difference is that the ‘Wisdom of my Dad’ isn’t a book because he isn’t one of the big kings of Israel.

    I guess I have been shaped with the wisdom of my OT lecturer who was a firm advocate of scripture prompting questions. Questions that led us to the exact same place as Jons cartoons. There are three basic reactions to the ‘Pub Wisdom of Solomon':

    This is true
    This isn’t true
    [and the most important] Is this true?

    “Son, listen to me and you can’t go far wrong…”

  19. sarah says:

    Robb,

    You’re dead right mate.

    Sit on the lap of your mother and listen to her wisdom.

    Get out in the field and listen to your father’s wisdom.

    Or something like that.

    Sas x

  20. arjwdotcom says:

    Best one yet Jon; gotta love that wisdom.

  21. Carole says:

    Nice comic timing, Clare :lol:

  22. jonbirch says:

    oh ha ha … :-( grumpy sulk.

  23. Robb says:

    Ta Sas. Needed to hear that :)

  24. Carole says:

    Mr Birch, I’ve a bone to pick with you! I was merely commenting to my man on the fact that two of the bulbs in our ceiling spotlights in the kitchen have gone:
    “Do you have plans to change those bulbs at any time?”
    He quotes Poverbs 27 at me. Hmmm…

  25. jonbirch says:

    hahahahahahaha! :-) oops.. i mean, sorry carole. :-)

  26. sarah says:

    Robb, my pleasure. Glad I can help :-)

    Blessings and peace.

    Sas

  27. ben says:

    hahaha nice!

  28. Pingback: Snö i själen » Blog Archive » Hur klarar man av att vara gift etc?

  29. Pingback: Daily How To 91 « Let the music move your body…

Leave a Reply

