386

marprep.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

106 Responses to 386

  1. Laura says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. V for Victory… or Vendetta?

  3. whiteflash says:

    funny as

  4. Steve says:

    Sorry but the roles have changed already. I cant remember the last time I saw strong paternal role model on the TV or movie screen.

  5. jonbirch says:

    thanks laura and whiteflash. :-)

    oso… v for impending violence. :-)

    interesting point steve. even superman in his last movie had been an absent father :-(

  6. steve says:

    Yup John. We are usually portrayed as fools, thugs, absentees or preening idiots. Plenty of strong women tho, particularly in adverts.

  7. steve says:

    Reminds me of the quip “behind every great man is a woman rolling her eyes”.

  8. sarah says:

    Er no!!!

    Steve – you’re right though… I want a strong man to protect me.

    Apparently women have something called oxytocin which makes us want to take care of our blokes and kids, however high up the corporate ladder we go.

    We NEED BOTH.

    Good on ya lads and lasses.

    Sas x

  9. doctor ruth says:

    I disagree that the roles have changed. We may have these ‘role models’ but the research indicates that in fact women are actually more oppressed now than when they all stayed at home as housewives – the classic study by Blumstein and Schwartz discovered that in families where both husband and wife worked full time jobs, the women continued to be responsible for most of the housework and childcare in addition to their full time jobs. In fact, when the wife worked and the husband was unemployed, the women still did more of the chores at home! More recent studies have reported similar findings. Women may have been liberated to join the workforce but sadly men have not yet been liberated to do their share at home.

  10. Robb says:

    Hey, it’s the Mrs. What are you doing out of the kitchen!!

    Ah, she comes advocting male liberation. Geve her a minute and she’ll tell you that men need to be liberated enough to wear skirts :D I’ll go and cook your dinner dear…

  11. doctor ruth says:

    Skirts? Only if you mean kilts!

  12. Robb says:

    You come in here acting all high brow with your Blumstein and Schwartz ;)

    Skirts with wee badger handbags? Only if you can convince my dads auntie agnes to make me one…

  13. jonbirch says:

    hahaha! careful robb… i can see you ending up with a toilet on your head! :-)

    so dr. ruth… what do you prescribe for maledom?
    or is that dum males? :-)

  14. Robb says:

    She prescribes therapy :lol:

  15. jonbirch says:

    not more therapy! :-)

  16. Carole says:

    I must be very fortunate with Mr Carole. He does all the washing (I reflect upon the possibility of doing it but by the time I get there, he’s got it sorted), I don’t drive and so he seems to do most of the shopping. He panders to the many demands of our daughter. And he is the only breadwinner at present. Trying to think what I do – hmm…I suppose it could be summed up as “prat about”.

    Oh, and we are marriage preparation providers, too. But we are hoping to give it up because we’re sick of arsey young professionals who know it all, have too much too soon and object to having to give us a window in their hectic schecules. Church weddings seem to be for the elite these days. Everyone else just co-habits or goes to Cuba for a package wedding – that’s cheaper!

  17. steve says:

    I’ve just been liberated to come sit here in front of my computer.

  18. Carole says:

    So, three hours as your liberated housewife alter ego in Second Life, then, eh, Steve?

  19. jonbirch says:

    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! :-)

  20. Carole says:

    Ah, you know I’m only teasing, mate!

  21. doctor ruth says:

    I’m afraid there is yet to be developed a therapy that cures the inherent problems caused by missing half a chromosome… :-)

  22. steve says:

    S’OK. If only you knew the image you just conjured up for Jon.

  23. jonbirch says:

    i’m not sure i like your bedside manner dr ruth. :-)

  24. soniamain says:

    been away for a few days, great to catch up and laugh!. Dr Ruth I liked your references to Blumstein and Schwartz. I have just spent 4 days in Sweden where it appears they may actually have some real gender equality there.

  25. AnneDroid says:

    Steve #7 … a different version of the one my mum loves to quote: “Behind every great man is a very surprised mother-in-law”, something which (between ourselves)is, I think, literally true for both my dad and my husband!! Ax

  26. sarah says:

    Dr Ruth’s comment in 9) is a serious one.

    Our problems, however “the fall” happened, basically lie in the fall. At one stage we’re happy together and trusting each other. Then we’re fearful of each other and this manifests in different ways.

    We must do all we may to unravel this and create good, whole, whole-ing relationships.

    This to my mind includes the men being liberated to do the housework,

    and it also includes the women being able to say “I need my husband/ boyfriend/ fiance.”

    Feminism did a lot of good because at least now we’re post feminist and people feel comfortable saying I need him etc.

    I want you guys to feel comfortable saying I need her.

    Sas x

  27. Chris F says:

    “I need a hero… he’s gotta be strong and he’s gotta be right and he’s gotta be fresh from the fight” (Shrek)

    “Why can’t he be the king I know he is, the king I see inside?” (Lion King)

    Because ladies, “her beauty and the moonlight overthrew ya, she tied you to a kitchen chair, she broke your throne, she cut your hair and from your lips she drew the hallelujah” (Leonard Cohen)

    Oh dear. So much confusion…

    … do you want a hero or a house husband? I kind of guess both, depending what mood you’re in…

    … no wonder men don’t know what’s expected; men are just the same of course, can’t make up our minds whether we want a sex goddess or a mother substitute!!

  28. Robb says:

    Glad her indoors is taking part in the debate… keeps me honest…

    Anyway. Erm. hands up all the not needy men who don’t need her! Erm anyone…?
    ;)

  29. jonbirch says:

    don’t know how i’d survive without clare. seriously i don’t. i’m basically disfunctional in most areas of life. without clare i think i’d be well and truly stuffed quite frankly.

  30. kick-hat-snare says:

    well I could survive perfectly well without my wife but I would never choose that!

    God can survive without us but he chooses not to!

    I love the verse… Husbands give yourselves up for your wives as Christ gave himself up for the church.

    (I die a little bit more every day…. joke! lol)

    seriously thats a great verse and a constant challenge to me.

    ;]

  31. jonbirch says:

    ‘thats a great verse and a constant challenge to me.’
    and a reminder to me… :-)

  32. Robb says:

    I would survive [just] nut I ouldn’t be able to find anything…
    :lol:

  33. Robb says:

    erm… b and n are very close… But… But!!

  34. Lori says:

    Chris F in 28:
    No Question: I want a Hero, and my husband wants a SexGoddess.

    Of course, on rare occasions, The Hero rushes in and cleans the bathroom before company arrives. And sometimes The SexGoddess can make Chicken Soup when The Hero has the sniffles.
    ;-)

    Life is good.

  35. subo says:

    vicar spoke to supervisor after the marriage prep class. “I just feel I need to let them know how it is, there’s no point in a young woman getting married and assuming it is a reasonable, equal arrangement.”, supervisor “I know what you mean, the Biblical idea is that men and women will both help each other, but I’m still trying to find out how a man can be of any help to a woman”, vicar nods, “well, love is truly an amazing thing”

  36. Carole says:

    I mentioned rather flippantly earlier about the ‘young professionals’ that we get at our marriage prep sessions. Often they originate from the leafy and quite affluent local suburbs. Many have since moved to London to pursue high powered careers. They come home to marry at the home church and that’s how we encounter them. Often they live together and so wonder what the point of the marriage prep is. I must admit, I often wonder how much the materials are relevant to contemporary society. However, it frequently becomes evident that this proposed marriage of equals falls into danger territory when we raise the question of who might take primary responsibility for any children from the marriage. Whose career would take a back seat when the children are young (most childcare does not cover the days when a child may be ill so someone has to take days off). We often discover that this has not been discussed in much detail, rather assumptions have been made.

    Anyone see the documentary last night on BBC4 about Scottish singer Edwyn Collins? He suffered a major cerebral haemorrhage a couple of years ago and it was about his struggle to recover from the effects of it. Seeing him and his lovely wife Grace together brought tears to my eyes.

  37. Robb says:

    As the low wage earner and maternal part of our relationship it would be me :lol:

    Sorry was watching the new Terminator series last night to keep my manlyness up ;)

  38. sarah says:

    OK, also because of the fall/distortion in our relationships, we women want God from our husbands, and you men want…well, I don’t know what it is you want from us, but you don’t tend to like it when it gets complicated!

    Point is, we both need God, so we can help restore God’s image in each other, and learn to ask the Source for the stuff we need that he gives, and our spouses for the things we need that it’s their job to give.

    Lovin ya,

    Sas x

  39. sarah says:

    Robb- Come with me if you want to live!

    How about that Summer Glau huh?

    Sas :-)

  40. su says:

    “we both need God, so we can help restore God’s image in each other” love it Sas, thats powerful, and actually useful

  41. Robb says:

    Sas – they had to use that line. It’s a classic.

    I am much happier with the series (admittedly afetr 1 episode) than film 3! They shouldn’t have had Arnie do a third. He’s just too old. I can’t believe that they made T2 even better than the first (which was brilliant) and then totally screwed up the third. Stupid impossible bad girl with sill impossible weapons and shape shifting. I was sooooooo angry!!

    That Summer Glau eh. I assume you didn’t get into Firefly/Serenity before it was cancelled a few years back. She is essentially the same character she played then. I’m cool with that as river was an ace character!

    I think we should mount a petition against Fox to bring back Firefly!!

    Anyway, me and the Doctor are going to try finishing Lost season 3 now so that we can get on with season 4 :D

  42. jonbirch says:

    watched sarah connor chronicles tonight. after a shakey first fifteen minutes it picked up nicely. it feels like it’ll be more like t1… i hope so. reviews are good for the series after episode 1 i think.
    i liked t1 best though… more earthy… like it could be happening right outside your own house. a brilliant film.
    summer glau rocks… reminds me of thingybob ricci who played wednesday in the adams family. great to see women kicking butt! is that wrong?

  43. sarah says:

    Robb – Why assume I didn’t? I DID!

    We have it ALL at home!

    Let’s talk Serenity sometime…

    Sas x

    Jon – no, it’s not.

    Love to you both,

    Sas x

  44. Robb says:

    Sorry Sas, “How about that Summer Glau huh?” made me think it was your first encounter. I now know that you have seen the best Sci-Fi series ever and you deserve respect (ala Ali G ;) ). I know many geeky types (like me) who have never encountered Firefly. “Oh yeah, I saw Serenity but it wasn’t very good”. Too right!! 5-9 series in 1.5 hrs. Not a good idea. The worst thing since Bab-5 got axed and then reinstated and they had to create another series from dust when they crammed all their ideas into the “your getting axed” series.

    Have I shared too much?

    Jon – T1 was amazing. For about £2 they made an amazing film. They took someone who cant act and made him a megastar. They made him an icon!! He only had about 30 words to say. Pure genius!! Arnie is cool and you know it!

    For me, T2 had the money to do everything they wanted and they didn’t blow it on effects for the sake of it. There are films that are an effect looking for a story to surround them. This wasn’t one of them. T2000 was plausible as a scientific concept. Can flow but can’t make moving parts. T3 – bullets??!!? You can make bullets?? What??!!?? No. Go away and take your ageing robot with you!!

    Have I just put the cards on the table? I’m not a geek, honest. Don’t ask me about Superman!!

  45. jonbirch says:

    seems like this is a good place for geeks to hang out without being judged. :-)
    always preferred batman to superman… struggling with his own darkness. although i absolutely love the 60′s series that has no darkness at all… i think i like the colouration of it, it looks great. :-)
    christopher reeve was excellent as supes… and a top bloke it seems. sadly missed. :-(

  46. Carole says:

    I was watching the 60s series of Batman on Friday. Struck me that Robin was wearing women’s tights – I mean like what would have then been called pantyhose in American Tan… 8O

  47. sarah says:

    Robb- no you have NOT shared too much.

    I’m a neo-Trekkie, coming into it from Next Gen on.

    I see a lot of the Kingdom of God in the Federation (not all, mind).

    I love the Mimbauri, the way Bolians look, the actor who plays the Vorta and then the Andorian chief in Enterprise.

    I LOVE BSG new and am about to watch Razor.

    Call me a geek I don’t care sci-fi helps me look at life connect with God and go places inside.

    I love it.

    Sas x

  48. sarah says:

    ps I love Superman. He’s still one of my heroes. He’s like a cross between Archangel Michael and Jesus.

    Sas x

  49. Robb says:

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!

    Superman is silly silly silly!! You can’t make a super hero have all of the pwers. It doesn’t work like that. You have a power that is a blessing and a curse. You have to work out what you are going to do with it to make it work. You can’t just say strenght lasers inpenetrable skin etc etc etc… You can’t just make a super hero where you have to invent something to kill him. I can imagine the meeting now:

    “we’ve been doing Superman for years and it’s getting boring what shall we do?”

    “Lets get some Kryptonite.”

    “some what?”

    “Kryptonite. Its some alien rock”

    “excellent idea”

    However, one good thing came out of Superman – Supermans Song by the Crash Test Dummies!

    Where’s my Ultimate Spider-man gone? Teenage angst at its best :D

    I too am a neo-trecker. In hindsight, TNG has aged quite a bit in the last couple of decades. It is interesting to see how Star Trek always shows a perfect image of the society it was created in. Look at Kirk and Uhura kissing in the 60′s. Bring on the 90′s and what do you get? A therapist on the bridge. LOL

    Sci-fi is great for connecting with the bigger issues in life/faith as it manages to bring them out of the cultural context that we can’t escape in the real world.

    Incidentally, my lesson on salvation for year 9 involves a clip of Terminator 2 :D

  50. steve says:

    Absolute best Batman for me is “The Animated Series” that appeared on the TV in early 90s. No competition. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman:_The_Animated_Series

  51. steve says:

    In fact Jon, I think you still have my Mask of the Phantasm video.

  52. steve says:

    Or was it a birthday present…?

  53. Robb says:

    ’twas good. So was the Spider-man animated series of roughly the same time. The new Spider-man animated series is a bit of a hotch potch of traditional animation (done on a computer but 2D) and computerised 3D effects. It feels a little disjointed. But then it took me a while to get my head around the idea of drawing a comic and then photoshopping in things like motion blur before going to print but I hardly notice it now…

  54. steve says:

    I didnt see any of the Spidey stuff. The Batman animation was a bit lumpy and some of the geometry was a little odd but the visuals, stories and characters were fantastic. I actually got a bit obsessed and started collecting the comics and figures etc. Still have them. Actually I will probably dig them out again later…

  55. Robb says:

    it is all about the story – star trek, comics, books, bible whatever. it is all about the story!! Don’t care about the stting, I care about the characters!!

  56. Robb says:

    erm… sEtting!!

  57. jonbirch says:

    batman the animated series is the best rendering of any super hero ever. great art, animated fairly cheaply but with a great sense of design. it never avoided the darkness… the villains were quite stunning… they work in drawings so much better than in live action. i do also like the anxty young spiderman, but have yet to see an animation that nails him quite like batman got nailed.

    mask of the phantasm is mine, mine i tell you! :-)

  58. Robb says:

    you gotta love spider-man and his amazing friends!!

    Ultimate spider-man does a good job but you have toread it ;)

    Tim Burtons version of Batman was the best live action version!!

  59. steve says:

    Not sure. Tim Burton’s Batman felt a little claustrophobic. Seemed to be more about him and his style than about Batman. The most exciting for me was Batman Begins. Probably a little too “Bourne” but more honest to his dark side.

  60. Robb says:

    I think of Batman as Tim Burtons begining and defining his style. Beetlejuice was his only other big film before that. I tend to think of everything he has done since as being too much like Gotham City :lol:

    I found Batman Begins to be good when I saw it in the cinema. It has not inspired me to watch it again like most comic book films. I guess I just don’t find Christian Bale to be convincing – although I loved Equilibrium! He went to Bournmouth School with my brother in law…

  61. sarah says:

    Superman has his troubles too – he can never be with anyone long-term.

    All superheroes have a curse, it comes with the territory.

    Sas x

  62. steve says:

    Christian Bale. Pah! My sister stood on Leslie Crowther’s foot!

  63. Robb says:

    I wonder what my superpower is then Sas ;)

  64. Carole says:

    We’ll have to ask Doctor Ruth… ;-)

  65. sarah says:

    I think it’s being married to your lovely wife Robb….

    No, you’ll have one, I just don’t know what it is.

    “The son becomes the father, and the father, the son…”

    Magic.

    Sas x

  66. Robb says:

    Perhaps I will know when I have finished being a padawan…

  67. jonbirch says:

    question is… what super power would you want?

    i kind of agree with robb… tb’s batman is where he created his style… i kinda like it. the corpse bride is wonderful. also… equilibrium i loved… infact i lent it to a friend tonight… but christian bale seems only to have one gear… i like that gear… but it’s limited, even though noone could question his commitment to his craft… i think he’s probarbly obsessive. :-)

    i am very excited about the new hellboy movie… i loved the first one. :-)

  68. Laura says:

    Technically, Batman didn’t really have super powers though did he? I mean he had lots and lots of REALLY cool gadgets and he could do all kinds of gymnastics. But super powers???

    Name them….

  69. Robb says:

    Nope, no powers.

    Equilibrium was one of my favourite films that year. The gun kata is such a cool idea! The whole premise of the movie was good, working through what it means to be human.

    Hellboy was good fun but not a work of genius…

  70. jonbirch says:

    indeed… no powers. maybe technically he’s not a superhero?

    equilibrium. a great example of how to make a very cool sci-fi movie on a really small budget. my favourite scene is where he bursts through the door near the start in pich black, then each time you hear the gun go off there’s a flash of light and he’s throuwing a differt gun kata shape. brilliantly inventive.

    yeh… hellboy not genius, but a wonderful character. ron perlman was made for the part.

  71. Robb says:

    Jon, I am tired of seeing special effects that someone has come up with that a film had to be written around. To use simple techniques to effectively like in Equilibrium where they tell a good story is much more powerful.

    Conversly, Fantastic Four was badly let down by the special effects. Ben Grimm was dire!! Good job I didn’t like the FF before it was made :lol:

  72. jonbirch says:

    have you seen gatacca?

  73. Robb says:

    I don’t think I have.

  74. jonbirch says:

    then may i recommend it to you? very few sfx, strong story, beautifully lit and shot, good cast.
    it has a brave new world type theme in the way that equilibrium does a 1984 type riff. it’s more cerebral, more beautiful and thoughtful. liked it alot. :-)

  75. sarah says:

    Gattaca – very good. My ex-cousin-in-law’s in it.

    Jon did you realise the title’s made up of the G A T C sequence.

    Sas x

    Love HB.

  76. jonbirch says:

    ex-cousin in law? … i thought it was ‘jude law’! :-)
    yep… i did realise that… even the title’s well crafted, eh? :-)

  77. Carole says:

    Yeah, Sas, I suppose HB is a good all rounder. Though I do think something softer gives a more pleasing experience over all.

    What? We’re not talking about pencils, then?

  78. jonbirch says:

    2b or not 2b, that is the question? not a very good question i’ll grant you. :-)

  79. sarah says:

    He IS my ex-cousin in law.

    No, Carole. Something a little more fiery.

    Jon – do another toon, quick! ;-)

    Sas x

  80. Carole says:

    Sas, I feel quite unworthy now, in the presence of one with a claim to fame so tenuous and yet so illustrious…

    Jon, Such wit. That was a joke worthy of me. You can decide if that is a good or a bad thing. It made me laugh, anyway :lol:

  81. sarah says:

    Oi, I met him I’ll have you know!

    He’s a lovely bloke actually.

    I’m here all week…. =sigh=

    Oh, the price of fame… =sigh again=
    ;-)

    Sasbo

  82. Carole says:

    My claim to fame? My internet persona knows the internet persona of a woman whose ex-cousin-in-law is Jude Law.

    And a very nice internet persona she is, too!
    xxx

  83. sarah says:

    Thanks Carole! I’m laughing.

    But this is really me – not my internet persona, which I won’t have.

    Love you!

    Sas x

  84. sarah says:

    ROobb, your comment at (50): well done mate for using T2 to do lesson with. Good one.

    What you do is REALLY IMPORTANT so good on you.

    Sas x

  85. Carole says:

    I tried to hide behind a persona. I liked the idea of anonymity. But I find that more of the real me slips through all the time, especially here. But I don’t know if it truly is me by the time I’ve finished redrafting. Subconsciously we may be projecting an image of ourselves that we want the world to see. In the end, you could say that we see through this glass, that we call internet, dimly. Perhaps the imagination fills in the gaps. Reality may still have some surprises in store…

  86. Robb says:

    I tend to find myself being more real here than elsewhere…

  87. jonbirch says:

    me too. know this… i am flawed… if i give any other impression then you can be assured that’s not the real me. :-)

  88. Robb says:

    I’ll pull out my aces and trump your flawed-ness :lol:

  89. jonbirch says:

    i don’t even have any aces! :-)

  90. Robb says:

    Are you telling me now that you are even bad at being flawed because I have more flawed-ness? How much of that belgian beer did you have last night :lol:

    I stuck to carling – pub quiz for an hour ;)

  91. Carole says:

    OK guys, I think we’ve established that I’m the only person potentially guilty of artifice here. :cry: That’s pretty flawed.

    By way of an apologia (am I using that word in the right context?) I would say that what I give here is me. But there are other facets of me that you will not get through these comments. It may be that I fully believe that I am being totally honest. But I may be distorting my true self and be guilty of, as Sartre and his cronies would have said, mauvaise foi. I want, above all, to be ‘loved’ and this desire may influence how I put myself across.

    If feelings are anything to go by, I feel very comfortable and at home here.

  92. Robb says:

    Carole, thanks for making me reach to the shelf for the dictionary.com. Experience my conniption at your artifice!!

    I assume you are referring to the least of all definitions coming in at a lowly 4th :D

    http://dictionary.reference.com/wordoftheday/archive/2005/05/25.html

    Whilst I said that I am more real here than anywhere, there are still some of the more raw areas of my life that I choose not to bare. More because I don’t like the squirmy feeling it makes me experience…

  93. Robb says:

    That is human nature. People never share themselves 100%, even with the people they are closest to.

    “hmmmm, she’s attractive. I best run along and tell everyone I know that I thought that…”

  94. Carole says:

    Don’t worry, Robb, I’m sure the exercise will do you good. Now I have a new word for hissy fit. Cheers, mate! I was indeed referring to definition no.4 – there ain’t nothin’ clever about me!

    By the way, you are so right to keep your squirmy feelings to yourself. This is a family blog!
    :lol:

  95. jonbirch says:

    carole and robb. i know what you’re saying. i’ve by no means told all here (or probably anywhere), but that which i have i’ve tried to be honest about. writing to one another is different to chatting… i’d be more raw and honest in the flesh no doubt. the ‘squirmy’ feeling is amplified by the knowledge that you’ve written something down in an open forum. food for thought. i sense a cartoon coming on… a big one for no. 400. :-)

  96. Robb says:

    Hmmmm, you have personalised my anthropomorphising of random thoughts that people may have and not share with others. The dangers of open forum.

    I think an open forum has many dangers – like I highlighted a couple of weeks ago when I told you about the page the pupils made about me on bebo.

    The quirmy feeling is about my own personal issues and situation.

  97. sarah says:

    Robb, Jon, Carole, and all,

    Please don’t share anything you don’t want. We haven’t met each other yet – when we do, I think we’ll all feel a lot closer to each other.

    All I can say is, I feel I know each of you in some real, touching way, and you bless me.

    I am very grateful for your blessings in my life.

    Your sister and Friend,

    Sas x

  98. Carole says:

    Thanks for your warmth, friendship and encouragement, Sas. You are a real sweetie and you truly don’t know the value of your words.

    Robb, I take the point about the dangers of an open forum. Trouble is, you can feel so comfortable at times that you can forget that what we write is actually very public (so glad I proof-read that last sentence and put the missing ‘l’ in! :oops: ) I hope I haven’t written anything which could (a) be taken down and used in evidence against me in a court of law or (b) make people laugh at me!

    I truly couldn’t think of a bunch of people I’d rather be trapped in another dimension with than you guys.

    Now let’s get onto the serious business of getting this post over 100 comments (at least 20% of which were on topic) :-)

  99. sarah says:

    Yeah! You bet! Hey, I hit 100!

    Thank you Carole…

    God bless you

    Sas x

  100. jonbirch says:

    allow me to tip this thread over the tonne. :-)
    it’s funny. i happen to think that open forums are a really positive thing… they are inherantly dangerous and open to abuse, but most things worth doing are. i am thrilled that it is not just me that is dilligent about keeping this blog warm and open. at the moment it self polices very well thanks to a very good hearted bunch of regulars… thanks guys ‘n gals. :-)
    what i’d like, is for people coming here to see (esp. if they come from a different postion) that christianity can be honest and that christians can be open about being flawed. that christians don’t always see things the same way but need not go to war over it, that christians can be thoughtful, that christians can be gracious with one another and the wider world.
    it is not helpful for everyones dirty laundry to be aired in public… there are things that are just between my wife and me, there are things i’ve said in more depth to my counsellor than anyone because of the difficult nature of the problem and there are things i’ve been told in confidence by others that i’d not dream of sharing with anyone (even clare, unless i’d been given permission)… so honesty isn’t about having to parade around in our dirty underwear, rather it is the admission to one another of what we truly are like… as in other areas of our lives, some things we’ll share, others we’ll keep private.
    thank you to all the regulars who are shaping and moulding this blog in a way that certainly brings me life.
    btw. it is great to have so many comments on this particular thread. it has been an important subject all my life and looks like continuing on till the day i die. cheers. :-)

  101. Robb says:

    Like I say, more honest that any other part of the church will allow me… more public than any other part of the church… less personal information than any other part of the church ;)

  102. Laura says:

    I abso-lutely love the sheer randomness of this blog. Also completely appreciate the way that people go off on all kinds of tangents! May have wandered onto my “tribe” ;-)

  103. Robb says:

    And yet we’re all different Laura ;) Read everyone’s blog and you find we’re all completely random. Welcome to the place where you are united by your difference and your shared journey to the same destination ;) A few companions along the road :D

  104. jonbirch says:

    laura… have you bought that lens yet?

  105. Pingback: Daily How To 93 « Let the music move your body…

Leave a Reply

