389

botherer.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 389

  1. Carole says:

    …as I tend to reserve it for my personal prayer time with God…

  2. A S Hodel says:

    This one I like a lot. “Mere Christianity” in color.

  3. Laura says:

    “God bothering”?

    hmmmmmm, tell me more about that then.

  4. steve says:

    Its a modern book of martyrs. well worth reading.

  5. Carole says:

    A couple of years back we had one of those week long urban community action mission events. Standard routine, the weekend was reserved for fun, fun, fun and everyone in the community was invited along. Our eldest had been camping out all week so we went over on the Saturday to collect her. On the way in we overheard some bloke calling to one of his mates , “They’re all God botherers!” I found it highly amusing as it was the first time I’d heard the term. Couldn’t figure out whether the Christians were bothering God (eminently feasible, in my opinion) or bothering non-Christians with God.

    Funniest memory? We’d told my sister’s family that Kirsty would be in the park camping all week and as it was local to them, perhaps they would like to go along. My two nephews are big, brawny, adorable blokes who love their ale. They’d arranged to meet in the beer tent. What beer tent? Perhaps they’d like Greenbelt better, after all, organic beer is better than nowt!

  6. jonbirch says:

    hi carole… took me a while to get your point. are you referring to the fact that in certain circles when people pray they say ‘we just ask’ or ‘we just wanna’? or have i still missed your point?

    sounds interesting steve. can i borrow it?

    hi laura… god botherer… (British slang, pejorative) A person who insists on promoting his or her religious beliefs on others, whether they want it or not.

  7. jonbirch says:

    thanks a s hodel. :-)

  8. steve says:

    Jon. Sure, it’s in our church library.

  9. Carole says:

    Yep, Jon, you got it. Lord, we just wanna praise you, we just wanna say…we just wanna ask…if you could just…

    A bit wicked of me really but it is the ‘you know’ of Christian prayer. I do it myself sometimes and cringe every time I hear myself. You will begin to notice it more, now I have cruelly drawn attention to it…may I say, in my defence, I am not the first – Adrian Plass did a bit of a skit on it.

  10. sarah says:

    I always thought it meant, I bother God, to which I react, well of course I do, if we all did the world might be a better place!

    Sas :-)

  11. jonbirch says:

    robb… ‘so am i’ what?

  12. Robb says:

    A botherer of God…

  13. ben says:

    we are strangers to this world. therefore we kinda are freaks. we dont belong to this world!

    Matthew 5…the beautitudes.
    also 1 Peter 2:19For it is commendable if a man bears up under the pain of unjust suffering because he is conscious of God.

    conscious of God sounds a lot like God bothering to me.

  14. sarah says:

    Me too

    Sas x

  15. sarah says:

    like it ben

    sas

  16. jonbirch says:

    hey ben! welcome and thanks for the input! :-)

    me too all at sea! :-)

  17. Richard M says:

    I can’t help but think that God’s response would be something like, ‘really, it’s no bother… I love you’.

  18. sarah says:

    Nice Richard x

    Sas x

Leave a Reply

