418

The Lord is risen! :-)

whereisj.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to 418

  1. Phil says:

    Happy Easter everyone.

  2. B. says:

    He is risen indeed!

  3. Robb says:

    What B. said!!

  4. Pingback: Chris Baker - my ramble of thoughts...

  5. ben says:

    praise God. whenever people talk about the resurrection it gets me pumped!

    i think my favourite scripture on the resurrection is in 1 Corinthians 15.

  6. ben says:

    51Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed— 52in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed. 53For the perishable must clothe itself with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality. 54When the perishable has been clothed with the imperishable, and the mortal with immortality, then the saying that is written will come true: “Death has been swallowed up in victory.”[g]
    55″Where, O death, is your victory?
    Where, O death, is your sting?”[h] 56The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

  7. Dave Wiles says:

    Deep spiritual reality with profound implication for social transformation – The resurrection was an act of civil disobedience… Punishable by death! (Jim Wallis) – He is Risen and Rising! shalom – dave.

  8. Angela says:

    Er ist wahrhaftig auferstenden!

  9. jonbirch says:

    happy easter all! :-)

    dave wiles… very profound! :-)

  10. soniamain says:

    love the where’s wally/ jesus! :)
    Thanks Jon for making me smile

  11. amywatson says:

    I’ve found Jesus!

    He was behind he sofa all along…

    thanks for the laugh Jon, Happy Easter everyone.
    xx

  12. Susan says:

    Always new Jesus was an Arsenal supporter, or could that be a Sunderland top!
    Happy Easter Everyone.

  13. AnneDroid says:

    When is a body not a body?
    When it is a risen.

    (rest of that Steve Turner poem on my blog..)

    Happy Easter one and all.

    Ax

  14. ally simpson says:

    Happy Easter, this continues to be one of the few sites that i check every single day, so thanks to Dan for telling us Irish Hoodlams about it and for you as the genius who makes us laugh

    Happy Easter
    He is Risen

    ally

  15. jonbirch says:

    thanks ally! :-)

    susan… of course jesus is a gooner! :-)

    have a good day y’all! :-)

  16. Frederick says:

    Bwana Sifewe! (swahili)
    Preis den Herrn! (german)
    Hallelujah! (hebrew)

    PRAISE THE LORD!

  17. marcus says:

    Jesus looks too much like He should be selling onions at a French market!

    Ooh la la – Il est monté

  18. becky says:

    Jesus as a candy cane – me like. :)

  19. Rachel says:

    Wheres Jesus?… In my heart.

  20. Lucy Ar says:

    Wahooo! hahaha. this is awesome. Thank God eh?!!
    Have you seen that recent Wheres Wally type book called “Wheres Bin Laden”? I think you could do an equally popular Wheres Jesus version!!! Hmmm… there could be some potent scenes… Jesus in Soho, Jesus in guantanamo bay, hey even Jesus selling Onions. (well enough for a calender at least ;)
    thanks Jon

  21. ron says:

    Very good!
    Good thing you didn’t make it too close to the Waldo books.
    Or I never would have found him… ;)

  22. iaincotton says:

    Very good jon
    Interesting to see Jesus’ tomb was actually a bijou garden summer house that clearly went on to inspire the career of Diarmuid Gavin!

  23. su says:

    stripes are so in

  24. Happy Easter, but why does that discipley person look like Dennis the Menace?

  25. jonbirch says:

    hey there peeps… for all those who have not seen it… ‘where’s waldo?’ or (in GB) ‘where’s wally?’ is a kids book… you have to find wally/waldo amongst many other characters in an illustration. waldo/wally wears red and white stripes. :-)

    hey, lucy ar… i’ve had that same thought for a while. nice one… it’s a good idea! :-)

    hi frederick… do you speak all those languages? :-)

  26. Carole says:

    He is risen indeed, alleluia! alleluia!

    ″Where, O death, is your victory?
    Where, O death, is your sting?”

    Ben (7) – I love that one, too. It’s so triumphal with a soupçon of defiance. I always think it sounds a bit “Up yours, Death, you t*ss*r!”…OK, so you won’t find that in many translations of the Bible…I never claimed to be conventional. :)

  27. Carole says:

    Looking at the vaguely egg shaped stone and the empty tomb, it calls to mind the fact that Cadbury’s Buttons eggs no longer have the little bag of buttons inside the egg. How disappointing. :(

  28. jonbirch says:

    in an orthodox baptismal service the liturgy requires you to spit on satans head. cool. :-)

    hey carole… they never put the buttons or the cream eggs or the mini eggs inside the big egg anymore. it’s rubbish now! i’ll bet it’s something to do with health and safety! :-(

  29. Carole says:

    Either that or it’s cheaper to do it that way. I don’t know what those fiends at Nestle do with the Smarties. Perhaps someone can enlighten me.

    Don’t you think the whole Nestle thing is quite sad? You know the stories of the great chocolate men (not chocolate men, you uderstand!) like Rowntree are tainted by association with Nestle. And I don’t even know if the other choccy manufacturers are any more wholesome in their activities. Do you ever wish everyday life was more simple?

  30. jonbirch says:

    yes i do carole… bought a couple of pairs of jeans in the sale today for £15 each. i wonder where they were made. :-(

  31. Robb says:

    Oompa loompa dumpety do I’ve got another puzzle for you…

  32. Maggi says:

    Took me a while but – LOL for myself. Er ist wahrhaftig auferstanden!

  33. Pete C says:

    embarrassingly this must be the one I have found most entertaining and connect most with.

    I got the “where’s wally?” cultural reference immediately (although sadly my mum+brother didn’t at all!). **Please make more non-religious cultural references/symbolism like this!** It’s powerful!

  34. jonbirch says:

    maggi… glad you got there in the end. :-)

    pete c… cheers. hopefully you’ll have noticed the mr. happy and copious batmans. thanks for your thoughts, i will process them. :-)

  35. valharle says:

    Jon-
    Thanks I look at your stuff everyday! I am in seminary and it often directly relates to what I spend all my time thinking about. Thanks!

  36. ahhhh. I remember Wally. It all makes sense now!!! :D Sorry!

  37. jonbirch says:

    haha! wekcome to the party brunettekoala! :-)

  38. jonbirch says:

    valharie… you are welcome. where are you in seminary?

  39. jonbirch says:

    thanks amanda. :-)

  40. I have a story to share about explaining Easter to a non-Christian college roommate (Japanese, grew up in a Tibetan Buddhist community in India so she didn’t have much contact with Western culture!)

    “Easter is the day Jesus goes into the hole, right?”
    “No, Easter is the day Jesus comes out of the hole, Good Friday was the day he went into the hole.”
    [pause]
    “What’s up with that bunny?”

    I didn’t have time to explain about ancient European paganism and cultural assimilation as I was going to an American friend’s house for the weekend…

    Happy Jesus-comes-out-of-the-hole Day!

  41. Jesus Christ (isa Islam) says:

    My Name is Jesus Christ
    Jesus’s blog (isa Islam)

    Age: 26

    Religon: ISLAM

    New world will begin in 2012 with the name Of Allah.

    Islam is the answer and it is not easy to find me. God protects me from people and there evil plans. Indeed God is with me. You will never be able to find me unless I show up myself in front of people and which will only happen with the will of God. I won’t expose myself unless God allows me to.

    If you will read Quran, You will really find me right after you are done reading all of it.

    [6:32] The life of this world is no more than illusion and vanity, while the abode of the Hereafter is far better for the righteous. Do you not understand?!

    Allah is my Only God, I am his messenger. I am not His Son. Ask for forgiveness from my God. He is Most Merciful. Thank you

Leave a Reply

