419

mrhappy.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to 419

  1. Laura says:

    It was Saturday but Mr. Happy didn’t figure that out for 2 hours.

  2. Lori says:

    Apparently, Mr. Happy was convicted by the Holy Spirit.
    :-D

  3. shawn says:

    wonder if satirical is always cynical… clever for the better always trumps crazed negative…

  4. Chris says:

    Could you draw Mr Religious in the Roger Hargraves style?

  5. ben says:

    its probably because he was told off for not wearing pants

  6. AnneDroid says:

    Oh that’s so sad, especially after yesterday, which should have been such a happy Sunday. I suppose I’m lucky we had a wonderful service.
    Ax

  7. sonia says:

    Thank you Jon, that was me on Friday- went to church, well ‘proper’ church! 1st time in 3 years. I came out feeling guilty about my life and everything! thinking what was the point and questioning the small faith I have. Don’t think i will repeat that again for a while!. Only good thing was I went with a close friend and my husband- they made me smile!

  8. Angela says:

    Thank God for me it’s almost ever time the other way round. For me church is the right place to be. No matter how people are. I love the gospel. That Christ set us free and gave us hope for our lives.
    Sometimes I’m pretty annoyed by the way some people are, but I know people are annoyed by the way I am. But WE are meant to be HIS church. I’m sure God loves variety. Enjoy Easter. Love Angela

  9. ben says:

    ive come out of quite a few youth events like Mr Happy. the gospel was not preached, and people raised there hands to accept prosperity Jesus, so that there lives would be “wonderful and full of purpose”. it wasnt to be saved by the sacrifice that Jesus paid on the cross. i wonder how many of them even became Christians :(

  10. zefi says:

    Guilt is only as useful as how close it’ll draw you near to the guilt-removing-magically-Jesus!

  11. Dave Wiles says:

    Didn’t know treats/m&m’s did church – suckers! More seriously, church must/should be what we make it (in connection with the head) perhaps a revoloution would be in order? Now … what kind of revolution would Jesus do! D x

  12. steve says:

    Maybe he is sad it is over and he has to go home.

  13. steve says:

    Maybe he heard the gospel for the first time and is going home to think about it.

  14. steve says:

    This is my friend. He took a old car horn with him to a confirmation service at the city abbey and was going to use it every time the bishop referred directly to the Bible or said Jesus. Rather sadly he wasn’t able to blow it even once.

  15. Chris F says:

    Easter family service drama – father/king wants his family/kingdom to be perfect so everyone can be happy. 2 kids do minor naughty thing, so things no longer perfect – so a penalty as to be paid – they must be spanked (how this restores perfection and happiness is not explained). But it’s ok, the father/king will be beaten instead (fortunately the drama stopped here!!)

    Good grief

    So the cartoon sums it up for me!

  16. ben says:

    yeah the churches greyness has caused mr happy to be grey. poor guy.

  17. Robb says:

    I liked this post by nomadic faith…

  18. Carole says:

    Sonia (8) I’m assuming this is ‘Soniamain’. If I’ve got the wrong Sonia, sorry just ignore everything I’m about to say – or take anything that is relevant and ignore the rest! I’m so sorry you felt that way about your visit to ‘proper church’. Having been very slack in my own church going habits lately, I know going back can be quite daunting and it is often only the expectation that we might find some encouragement in the experience that gets us over the threshold. This can be a tough one to get your head around if church-going has been your lifelong habit. I don’t know if this ties in with your own experience.

    As an encouragement to you I would say that in the context of cyberspace, I have a real sense of you being a ‘fellow-traveller’. Your own struggles and the wisdom that you show in your reflections have provided sustenance for my own journey. It angers me that anyone, least of all our ‘beloved Christian brethren’ might cause you to feel any sense of guilt or inadequacy in your faith. Keep it real, as you are wont to do, because that is what keeps you progressing on your journey, not a weekly constitutional to your local church building. If you one day manage to do both you will be very fortunate indeed. Happy Easter x

  19. subo says:

    good to realise ours isn’t the only church meeting in a freezing building.

    seriously though, I do really feel churches have got stuck in an outdated format, and are just not meeting the needs of our current world – if I feel guilt and alienation in some churches, how would that feel to someone who hadn’t really done church much!

    I think we need to let God speak to us, and if a service leaves us with a strong sense of xyz, ask is God trying to nudge us towards reflecting on what church could be like?

    I have a friend who is hoping to create a working community when her daughter, who has a learning difficulty reaches working age, in talking to her she mentioned wondering how to make sure everyone is heard, how do you create a sense of empowerment for people who’s communication is not their strongest point?

    on reflection, my current ‘proper church’ church (in contrast to my alternative church) can be horribly cold in winter, but it’s a real, human faith filled place.

  20. jonbirch says:

    dave wiles 12… ‘what kind of revolution would Jesus do!?’
    thing is, jesus already brought about the revolution 2000 years ago when he turned things on their head… but we just want to turn all that stuff back up the way we are more comfortable with. which i reckon is why it’s a struggle for the institution because it’s run by the status quo. smaller communities, individuals and organisations seems to be where church is happening and making a real difference… i think.

    everything carole said to you sonia… i concur. :-)

    hi ben… i wonder how many came out richer… my guess, none. ‘prosperity jesus’? it really is a load of sad old hocum isn’t it! :-(

  21. jonbirch says:

    yeh robb… that is a good post. :-)

    subo… ‘but it’s a real, human faith filled place.’ i’m glad, sounds good. :-)

  22. jonbirch says:

    hey steve… maybe he should have blown it all the way through!

  23. Robb says:

    Interesting. Every time something bad comes out we identify it as “the church”. Every time something good cames out we identify it as “something else”.

    it’s a struggle for the institution because it’s run by the status quo

    On some levels it is but on others it is run by people who have become radicals through meeting with Jesus. Somtimes we can’t see the wood for the trees. Either it is a dill and boring thing to keep the ancient building alive (with all that jazz that everyone gets bogged down by) or it is a radical vision that every community should have a church presence.

    It depends on what day it is as to how I feel about stuff like that. Either he is a rubbish orgaist or he is a faithful servant who gives freely and generously of his time.

    Sorry, I’m waffling. Back to work…

  24. Robb says:

    Dull = boring.
    Dill = good with fish.
    :lol:

  25. Dave Wiles says:

    Jon – hummmm – i kind of think the revolution is still occuring – it was founded/secured/rekindled 2000 years ago and that one of the key ways it will occur is through the church – in manifold expressions! The revolution principles of love, service, sacrifice, faith in action, humility etc are still the characteristics of it in the many ways it is being worked out…

  26. steve says:

    Now that’s an interesting question. What might the revolution be? Problem seems to me that most things that we might claim revolutionary are probably already in the top 10 of any socially aware religion/movement/revolution.

  27. soniamain says:

    thank you Carole, your words are very encouraging.

  28. jonbirch says:

    dave… ‘one of the key ways it will occur is through the church – in manifold expressions!’ i agree. i don’t see the church of christ and the institutonal church as necessarily the same thing though… they can be… but are they always?

    robb… ‘Every time something good cames out we identify it as “something else”.’ yup, i would identify those good things with church or certainly with the kingdom of god. though i think often the institutions hinder the process… but then institutions are inevitable i guess and when they get too big and unwieldy control and status quo become an issue so it doesn’t all collapse. ironically, control and status quo inevitably lead to collapse. i think the institutions can and do change sometimes, just very slowly.

    i’m waffling now. :-)

  29. AnneDroid says:

    JB Status Quo certainly are an institution and thanks for mentioning them again :) but I don’t think they’ll inevitably lead to collapse…

    Ax

  30. Dave Wiles says:

    dave… ‘one of the key ways it will occur is through the church – in manifold expressions!’ i agree. i don’t see the church of christ and the institutonal church as necessarily the same thing though… they can be… but are they always?

    response – No… my own thinking is that ‘Kingdom’ is more important than ‘church’ as a theological concept and it is not co-terminus with denomination, church or institutions of any kind but often overlaps … and is in the ‘world’ too… I have to say that a lot of the new so called ‘emerging church’, ‘new forms’ etc that I come across have as many problems as the ‘institutional church’ – they often seem like the chattering classes playing at group work or ‘interest groups’ for the middle classes, they also seem as male dominated as the ‘wider church’ – not intended to offend any one! As for a definition, or summary, of ‘Kingdom’ – I would plum for the sermon on the mount and a radical application – personally and in community.

  31. su says:

    just stumbled on the ‘other6′ web page

    http://www.other6.com/

  32. becky says:

    6 – re: Pants – I’ve been told numerous times I’m going to hell because in some Pentecostal circles it’s a sin to wear pants. The thought of wearing a skirt to go kayaking, flyfishing, hiking would make me very sad indeed. :-)

  33. jonbirch says:

    dave… i agree with your comments completely… about church, emerging church and the kingdom. i absolutely agree that the sermon on the mount is the best definition of what ‘the kingdom’ is and how it might look.

    annedroid… haha! poor old quo, i seem to blame them for everything! :-)

  34. jonbirch says:

    becky… you know of course in the uk pants are what we wear underneath… so NOT wearing pants here would cause you similar grief. you just can’t win sometimes! :-)

  35. becky says:

    OK – trousers then. :-)

    If that’s the case, then walking around so your privates become public would cause considerable uproar – just as Britney & Co. not to mention the possibility of being arrested for public indecency.

    This brings me back to the bumbags vs. fannypack debate I had on Jonny’s blog before I came over to the UK last summer.

  36. Laura says:

    19 Carole
    NICE!!

  37. Andy in Germany says:

    That’s me in the big Charismatic organisation I worked in for 3 years. Most mornings I’d come out of ‘worship’ feeling like I’d been hit by a truck. It took until about 1pm to recover. Weekends were a break in the guilt cycle.

    Now in a traditional church I’m much better. I’m still not sure if that’s good or not.

  38. Carole says:

    Becky – 33 Looks like we’re both headed for the firey furnaces! :lol:

    As to the great pants/trousers debate, actually I have always resisted the temptation to refer to undergarments as ‘pants’. ‘Pants’ has always been synonymous with trousers for me. Are, for example,jogging pants under or outerwear? It was in the early days of alternative comedy back in the early 80s that I first heard the likes of Rik Mayall refer to underwear as ‘pants’. In this neck of the woods, women wear knickers and men wear underpants. Men’s underwear can be undies, boxies or bills (rhyming slang – Bill Grundy/undies).

    And for the record on the rare occasion that I get to go into the city centre for the evening, it is not uncommon to see a young lady or two who appear to have forgotten to put a dress on before leaving the house. Well, it’s easily done… ;)

  39. Carole says:

    By the way, I luv the Mr Men…but I think the Litte Misses were just jumping on the bandwagon. :)

  40. That should be ‘Little Miss Koala’…that’s me!

  41. jonbirch says:

    hi andy… only 1 hour to recover? i’m impressed! :-)

    aah… little miss koala. hope it’s not always that bad. :-(

    carole and becky… men wear pants, women wear knickers. it’s simple.

  42. Carole says:

    Ooh, I luv it when you get all masterful!!!

  43. AnneDroid says:

    Becky #33 and Carole #39. A very strict (male) fellow student I knew at college years ago was lambasting me one day for wearing trousers as they were men’s clothes. I was fairly pregnant at the time and pointed out (a) they don’t make maternity jeans for men so they couldn’t possibly be classed as men’s clothing and (b) Jesus wore a dress. This last remark led him to refusing to speak to me for a while which was a shame as by then I’d begun to like him!

  44. gilly says:

    When people get their knickers in a twist about women wearing trousers… we just know we’re mixing with the wrong crowd.
    Get outa there fast next time n don’t go back. Some places and people are best avoided!

  45. Not always. But do often feel like that going to a church service.

  46. becky says:

    Jon (42) Knickers sounds weird to my American ears.

    44. The same people who told me I was going to hell for wearing knickers/trousers/pants (take your pick) to church also chastised my father for wearing a dress to church. Apparently these sorts view Catholics/Anglicans as the anti-Christ because our priests wear dresses (cassocks and albs) drink wine at Church, and even dance.

    45. I “try” to avoid them but these are the same people who tend to stalk their victims.

  47. Laura says:

    That was me going to into my first meeting of the day today. Only the time lapse was about 15 minutes, not 2 hours. :-(

  48. Laura says:

    Also, I really like to use the word “pants” as a expletive.

    Today work was pants!

    See…it’s hard to take things too seriously after you say that outloud. ;-)

  49. Pingback: Tomorrow is not Low Sunday! | Seven whole days

  50. Andy in Germany says:

    Hi John- A bit longer- the worship Sessions started at 0700- not only did they depress you, they made you get out of bed early to do it…

  51. Pingback: Christenkritischer Karikaturblog « Spielzimmer meiner Gedanken

  52. Miguel says:

    How true!

    That is why I stopped going!

Leave a Reply

