423

mrmen.jpg

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to 423

  1. dorsey says:

    I am all of them, but none of them looks anything like me.

  2. flayedhypatia says:

    perfect!

  3. becky says:

    John – where is the Mr. Anything Goes, who’s a pile of God goo on the floor in a Silly Putty kind of way? ;)

  4. becky says:

    I meant Jon – my bad.

  5. Graeme says:

    Excellent! Would love to see more of these!

  6. AnneDroid says:

    Brilliant.
    Isn’t God good to love that random bunch?!

  7. Caz says:

    Hahahaha! That is BRILLIANT! Well done!

  8. Carole says:

    These are great, Jon, I love ‘em. You’ve got me thinking now. You do realise that on Sunday I will be matching them up to all people in the pews.

    Which one(s) am I, I wonder? :)

  9. Rachel says:

    Love It!! Provided a much needed chuckle this morning :)

  10. Hayley says:

    Which characters make everyone feel more comfortable at church? Sometimes I’d much rather be hanging out with all the people with problems because I fit in much better! Sometimes being with the characters in this strip that most Christians would want to be can make you feel…well, a bit rubbish quite honestly. But then perhaps that’s my fault for comparing myself to other Christians and thinking ‘oh, they all look so holy!’

    Although saying that I really do like the look of Mr Gracious and Little Miss Hospitality…I would like to go to their house for tea.

    Love to you all xxxx

  11. Jonathan S says:

    Hi Jon,

    I must have missed you when you sneaked in the congregation and took the pictures that inspired these drawings, the likenesses are remarkable.

    Say “hi” next time, won’t you?

  12. jonbirch says:

    well… lots of comments that made me chuckle… thanks! :-)
    mr. gracious and little miss hospitality are my favourites… although little miss faithful’s cool. :-)

  13. Robb says:

    I don’t remember wearing those sunglasses on Sunday…

  14. jonbirch says:

    funnily enough robb… i was definitely thinking of you when i did mr. rockster… with no picture to go by i seem to have drawn ‘cousin it’. :-)

  15. jonbirch says:

    hayley… you can be sure you’d be welcome round their house for tea. that’s what’s great about people like that isn’t it. :-)

    jonathan s… i’ll be sure to say hi! :-)

    rachel… hope the weekend provides a good few more chuckles. :-)

    carole… i think there is alot of mr gracious in your character from what i read here. maybe that should be little miss gracious. :-)

    thanks caz. :-)

    yep annedroid… god is indeede great loving a random bunch like us. :-)

    thanks flayedhypatia. :-)

    dorsey… you mean you’re not brightly coloured and round? ;-)

    you’re right becky… he’s definitely missing from the bunch. :-)

  16. AnneDroid says:

    Carole, I second that emotion, and emoticon, at #15.

  17. Carole says:

    Aw, thanks Jon & Anne. May you bask in the warmth of your own compliment reflecting back on you. You’re making me blush, now! :)

  18. Hayley says:

    I’ve changed my mind about what I said earlier, it definitely IS my fault for comparing myself with other Christians, there’s no perhaps about it! I need to work on that…

    Kindness is lovely to be around, always.

    You have a fan club Carole!

    hayles x

  19. becky says:

    John – which one is the “Mr. Jesus Jumper” – the one who is the first to put their hands in the hair, can speak in tongues on cue and praises everything. Maybe that’s just a US phenomenon. :-)

    I find bits of these people in me at different times – I want to be Mr. Gracious but some days I turn into Miss Cranky.

  20. Robb says:

    Sorry, this may not translate very well over the ocean.

    Miss Cranky
    :lol:

  21. Pete C says:

    oh my, you’ve certainly hit the stereotypes there! Yes, your “Mr Men” series (or “Mr/s People” nowadays!) certainly connects. Many of them have awesomely accurate expressions of their names.

    The thing is, I went though each of them this morning and easily identified all these nasty and superficial people in my mind, but I’ve only just realised that I didn’t see myself! Mr Vile Hypocrite perhaps? Boy there could be a whole series on the types of hypocrites. Not that any of this exactly fills me with hope, which is really what we need.

  22. k-h-s says:

    Jon,
    could you let me know where you lifted the Laura Ashley print from…

    It’s just what I’m looking for to go in the hallway.

    ;]

  23. Chris says:

    Wonderful!
    We could all write the books now!
    I think Mr Bully may get his from comeupance Little Miss Badmouther after hassling Mr Putupon. Miss Hospitality will put everything right in the end.

  24. Chris F says:

    Great stuff!

    To the right of Ms Feminist is Mr Put Upon and to her left is Mr Denial, apparently on his knees! Hmmm… – interesting
    I hope Mr Rockster above has some heavy stuff going down

  25. Sarah B says:

    These rock!

    I’d like to see Mr Emergent!

  26. subo says:

    every one of us would leave a big hole if we wern’t around for a while, – it would be easier to squeeze more characters in than take one away

  27. jonbirch says:

    yup subo… there’s a whole bunch missing from the set.

    k h s… i don’t believe you… but http://www.lauraashley.com if you’re really interested. :-)

    the krankies eh robb?.. a dubious national institution, or a harmless bit of family fun? :-)

    chris… i think you’ve written the first book. :-)

    yep pete c… didn’t want it too negative. our churches are full of wonderful people too, of that there is no doubt in my mind. :-)

    ‘Kindness is lovely to be around, always.’ too right hayles. :-)

    Sarah b… mr emergent is there… just not fully emerged yet. :-)

  28. Robb says:

    dubious national institution !!!!!!!!!!!

    I am often disowned by my family as being “English” as they all moved down to England before I was born. I am happy with this definition as that means that the ‘dubious national institution’ is a different ‘nation’ :lol:

    Excuse me, I’m off to crush a grape…

  29. Robb says:

    Erm….. if we have got mr emergent, where’s Mr Fresh Expression?

    [Sorry just spent all of today writing a chapter on how everyone has come up with their own language for defining Emerging/Alternative/Fresh/Younger/Generations/Church/Expressions. Yes someone did define it as 'younger generations' but he is a good guy none the less ;) He gets it but doesn't have the language. He went on to say "simply being authentic Christians seems sufficient to them". Amen to that!]

  30. Robb says:

    I take that back – ‘he’ was the wrong reference. ‘Mission-Shaped Church’ doesn’t get it but is a good …

  31. Carole says:

    Robb – A new lecturer on our course was doing a bit of ‘role play’ in a lecture at college the other week. She was playing the role of a kid with Asperger’s. I was utterly convinced she was Jimmy Kranky. Had a bit of difficulty explaining the concept of the Krankies to a Spanish ex-pat, though. I often wonder what it says about the marital relationship if you encourage the wife to play the role of a schoolboy…I suppose it pays the mortgage… ;)

    Subo (26) you’re so right. I couldn’t eat a whole chilli, but just a little hint of it adds flavour. I’ve often found it is worth persevering with ‘difficult’ characters as they often come good (I say often, not always!) in the end. So much more interesting than overdosing on ‘niceness’ – that can be too bland. If I have a right attitude in my relationships with people that I find difficult, I can grow as a result of the encounter. That said, some characters are just too much.

  32. jonbirch says:

    ‘mission-shaped church’ sounds awfully like ‘mis-shaped church doesn’t it?

    why ‘mission-shaped’ over ‘community shaped’ or ‘banana-shaped’ i can see why they didn’t go for ‘pear-shaped’…

  33. becky says:

    27. Re: Mr. Emergent – in select circles here in the States, he’d be wearing a goatee and blogging on his Mac listening to sermons on his I-Pod. But I doubt you’d see Mr. Emergent inside most churches. Instead he’s be at some bar or coffee shop surrounded by Mr. Emergnents who look and act just like him.

  34. Robb says:

    I think the problem with finding a title for a book is always going to be just that – a problem.

    I think mission shaped church did a lot to make evangelical people take notice of the emerging church concept. There were many who were (still are) convinced that if you stand up and preach a biblical sermon in your empty church every Sunday – people will be saved and the new world order will start! By calling it mission-shaped it made them take notice.

    I quite fancy a beer shaped church. I am convinced that the way to get a northern man (any other northern man other than me) is to start going to the pub.

  35. Liz says:

    Brilliant! I’m copying it onto my blog. hope that’s okay.

    I’ve written a story about Mrs Men O’Pausal; does that count?

  36. inge says:

    where is mrs. normal?
    or to put it in other words – where is the picture, which represents me?
    i am the only normal one in our church!

  37. andy t says:

    my kids love this sat around putting mr/littel miss to everyone at church hilrious but oh can’t kids be perceptive…. ;-)

  38. jonbirch says:

    can’t they just andy!
    great to see you here.
    football was knackering tonight. :-)

Leave a Reply

