449

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to 449

  1. flayedhypatia says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHA

    And folks say there isn’t any issue with translation when it comes to scripture.

  2. Jeremy says:

    haha…why not viscous old men!

  3. Laura says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Jim says:

    A mondegreen! We’ve just been having a conversation about this word/subject in the family unit over the past few days…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mondegreen

  5. TIST!! Ha ha ha Quality.

  6. slowburn says:

    The truth often hurts. Luke 6:22

  7. Joe says:

    ‘…vicious old men”

    Yep. The mark of of a true fundamentalist is the complete and utter absence of COMPASSION.

  8. Jonathan S says:

    Jesus is Coolio??

  9. Jacquie says:

    yep, it’s all in interpretation! Good one! (lol)

  10. Robb says:

    It’s also what many left wing liberals heard…

  11. Susan says:

    To be fishers of men don’t you need a hook? Sound viscious to me! :-)

  12. Robb says:

    My keyboard player handed me a good hook on Monday. I was suprised at how well he had written a guitar riff!
    :P

  13. Rich Lush says:

    that’s quality. Can easily think of a few people who have that attitude, particularly to specific groups of individauls.

  14. Jeremy says:

    Wow..so apparently we are choosing political sides via this cartoon. If thats the case lets even the tides and say that quite a few right wingnuts say the same thing! Go Pat Robertson, Jerry Fallwell, James Dobson, ect….

  15. becky says:

    15 – as a flyfisher, you can catch fish with barbless hooks. So you reel them in sans significant pain.

  16. youthworkerpete says:

    very true!

    But what about the missing one?

    There must be one for ‘what the left wing woolies’ heard – my funny bone just isn’t working in cynical mode today to be able to think of it. You want a school boy joke on toilets or farting tho, and I’m your man!

    I’m so glad I’m middle-of-the-road like everyone else ;p

  17. Susan says:

    19 – I have heard it said fish don’t feel pain in there mouths anyway. Not sure if it’s true but if so what does that do to the anology! :-)

  18. Ah, this is what happens when you go from Aramaic (Hebrew?) to Greek, to Latin to English……

  19. Lori says:

    I guess it’s easy to see when someone is judging US. Not see easy to see when we are judging others.

  20. Carole says:

    Clever, Jon. :)

  21. Robb says:

    My mother in law actually thought that was the line when she was a child.

    I didn’t think this was political in the slightest by the way. I was commenting on how hatefilled and vitriolic either end of the theological spectrum can become.

  22. su says:

    hey, nice one, I’m often amazed at the way Jesus the rebel, who told the nit-picking’ Law abiders they were like whitewashed tombs, is now misrepresented by the Law chrunchin preachers, as layin the law on thick and heavy, – and I’m a full blooded evangelical who fully believes all the fun and surprise inherent in the resurrection.

    the truth is though, it’s taken me a long while to unscrew my own blinkers, to allow myself to de-mystify, and de-superspiritualise sacred texts.

  23. amywatson says:

    Jesus a.k.a Craig David?

  24. Tom C says:

    spot on Robb. too often we see groups on the extremes who are so set on showing why ‘the other side’is wrong/evil/dangerous that it becomes their sole identity. Instead of existing for a purpose and being dedicated to following that purpose they exist solely to attack ‘the other side’. it works both ways and we end up with two groups of people who seem like their only purpose is to attack each other. We don’t have the monopoly on this in religion. Politics has elevated it to an art form. I once had the opportunity to speak with a political candidate (let’s call them Party A) who was campaigning on the street during a general election. I spoke with them for a few moments, talked a little about what was important to me, (foolishly it turned out) told them of my dislike of one of the parties explained that I had always voted one way before but this time I was undecided, I then asked ‘so why should I vote for you?’ I felt was inviting this candidate to tell me what they believed in, what they stood for, why they’d be great as my MP. instead the candidate’s answer was along the lines of ‘I’m not the other guy (let’s call them party B) and I’ve got a better chance of beating Party B than party C does.’

    I wanted to know who party C was. Apparently Party A’s sole identity was

    ‘not party B’ and politically better positioned to beat party B than Party C.’

    I voted for party F… a fringe guy who had no chance but was really passionate about preserving some little scrap of wetland. At least he believed in something.

  25. Carole says:

    Can’t be – there’s no Kes…

  26. Miriworm says:

    2 Timothy 2:23 – does this qualify I wonder?

  27. Hazel says:

    Many of the same people also think he said “by their suits you shall know them…”

  28. jonbirch says:

    very good hazel… i like that. :-)

    i agree with robb and tom c re. both ends of the spectrum being where intolerance abounds.

  29. Robb says:

    Don’t join me. My possition is fraught with danger. You are always in the wrong. If you place me next to a liberal I am too conservative. If you place me next to a conservative I look like a liberal. I really can’t win. It is the bane of my life. I don’t fit anywhere but I fit eveywhere.

    It doesn’t mean that you will find that eveyone likes you. It means that everyone hates you!!

  30. jonbirch says:

    cheer up robb. the good doctor loves you… and i don’t mean david tennant. :-)

  31. Robb says:

    This is true :lol:

  32. Robb says:

    …but she does think I may be a bit too liberal ;)

  33. Robb says:

    …and the girl opposite me in the staff room thinks I should be burned as a heretic :lol:

    But then she accused Jesuits of committing groce herecy for “messing with the liturgy” :lol:

  34. jonbirch says:

    you seem to have the opposite problem to leonard zelig (woody allens best creation ever).

  35. Robb says:

    Haven’t seen it but wikipedia makes it sound fascinating.

    I think the problem is that I started off on a chemistry degree and then became a follower. When I changed from chemistry to theology my methodology hasn’t really changed – pull it appart and see what is inside :lol: I guess that means that I am the perpetual devils advocate. When someone is arguing for something I find myself compelled by the opposite viewpoint.

    I guess this is why I am so overjoyed by Brian McLarren’s generous orthodoxy. He has finally put me into a box that I fit – the “why don’t we all get along” box. He himself writes in the forward “I’m not writing anything new, I’m just putting words to the tune you’ve already been singing”*

    The Doc and myself are suprisingly theologically alike. When we talk we still ed up on oposite sides of the coin because I have this annoying tendency to try and paint the whole picture rather than just affiring one possition.

    I do keep pointing out to the kids that if they come into a lesson and start argueing theism I will start argueing atheism. It’s never happened – but I will.
    :lol:

    *another one of my great paraphrases ;)

  36. k-h-s says:

    Blessed are the cheese makers for they shall inherit the earth.

    oh!
    or is it..
    the cheese makers who are called the children of God..
    and it’s the Sikh’s who inherit the earth?

    I don’t know, but my reckoning is..
    it was the old folk that took notes and were probably hard of hearing. ;)
    ;]

  37. drewman says:

    39. The other side of the coin here is that the good old prosperity gospel cometh. Oh dear. I reckon your ‘kids’ learn though Robb – regardless of the chemistry/theology mix. I also happily find somewhere in McLarren. My fave answer to the Young People is ” I don’t know, I wasn’t there…but what if?”
    As far as the cheesemakers go, thats genius!

  38. Robb says:

    Oh no! I don’t want to touch the screen and claim my miracle in faith!!

    “What if…” very powerful words!! ;)

  39. drewman says:

    Just how much is one of those screens anyway and do they do them in 16:9?

  40. FSWood says:

    Ooooo, that one scored a magazine hit on the battleship of fundamentalism!

  41. drewman says:

    Just been reminded of the story of the priest who was trawling through the archives at the vatican. After several days in the deepest, darkest room he emerged beaming and hugging everyone.

    “Its the best day ever! – it’s just a typo – the book says CELEBRATE”

  42. jonbirch says:

    hahahahahaha! :-)

Leave a Reply

