450

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 450

  1. Jessica Denise says:

    This is a fundamental character issue that I think affects the way that we view God and how we interact with God. In that way, how we view God will affect how we live. This is definitely a good cartoon. It got me thinking about my motives when I do things. Thank you! :-)

  2. Roland says:

    500? Where are 450-499?
    I feel like I missed out.
    I bet you won’t even thank me for noticing. ;)

  3. jonbirch says:

    thanks roland… that’s me engaging in wishful thinking again! :-)

  4. dadube says:

    Jon, this made me think about you having that conversation with a guy, asking him what he was going to spend the money you gave him on….I love the fact that you didn’t make any judgements but gave him cash anyway.
    Wish I were better at this…I find the amount of begging here especially hard to deal with, but I know I should try to do more to help.

  5. becky says:

    As a single woman in New York City, I have a problem with giving on the subway from a safety angle. I know this makes me a wimp but I’m alive.

    And then there’s the problem that as a freelancer, some money I am in the begging position.

  6. becky says:

    I meant some months I am in the begging … freudian slip I guess. :-)

    I give back by volunteering with the Salvation Army’s Emergency Disasters Unit and Habitat for Humanity – I honestly don’t know how to help panhandlers without putting my physical safety at risk.

  7. helen says:

    Knowledge of who your giving to can be a help, I will happily give money to most, but two regulars in my town are well known to me (one went to school with my husband) and are habitual drug users, I know any money I give them will be spent on drugs, but they are happy to be given a cup of tea, soup, a sandwich, a warm blanket, an a smile and acknowledgement of their existance. They no-longer ask me for money, but are quite happy to ask for food or drink because they know I will provide that, and that is their most basic need. I agree with becky that by supporting the Salvation Army we can support those in need, and any of you who know the SA wil be aware of what they do. But to simply ignore the homeless and destitute is not an answer.

  8. AnneDroid says:

    I’m very interested in the jump the guy makes from “I gave a tramp some money today. He didn’t even say ‘thank you'” to “I’ll not be doing that again”.

    I once visited a couple who were technically members of our church but hadn’t been for 14 years. The reason they gave was that the minister had walked past them in Safeway without saying ‘hello’.

    This seems the same. I guess if we don’t want to do something (give to the poor, go to church) we don’t REALLY try to find an excellent reason but are happy with the flimsiest excuse whilst slyly at the same time blaming anyone but ourselves.

    We are clever old sinners, us humans…

    Ax

  9. Robb says:

    Oh no, this resonates with my “the milk of human kindness is running out” comment…

  10. Chris F says:

    We tell ourselves we’re “giving the money to the Lord” don’t we, when as christians we give the sum we have decided in our hearts to give (careful avoidance of “tithe” there!)

    So, we should be sensible and not give to obviously dubious causes; BUT on the other hand we shouldn’t be too inhibited by fear of whether money might get misused somewhere, and end up not gving at all. For if we ARE “giving the money to the Lord” then we have done our bit and it is over to his servants to use it wisely or not – we should not worry, expect results, expect thanks.

  11. gilly says:

    oh my. this so made me laugh- at myself. Years ago, in the mists of time, we gave a set of suacepans to a friend. damn me if he didn’t sell them on the market and pocket the money!
    at the time…..i REALLY couldn’t see the funny side of it.
    Today….?
    lol

  12. Dave says:

    not on the subject – but the toon reminded me of Simon Chaplin (NZ) saying he was struck dumb when a beggar asked him in the States if, ‘he had any change to spare’ – give the money and BE the change I guess! dave

  13. anita says:

    Jon, today’s toon seems applicable to me in a broad sense, bumping into that whole question of why I’m giving in the first place? Is it for the notice, thanks, and indebtedness of another, or is it because giving is simply the right thing to do and as what I give leaves my hand I let any expectation go other than hoping the other will be blessed by it.

  14. jonbirch says:

    “as what I give leaves my hand I let any expectation go other than hoping the other will be blessed by it.”
    you’re right… and hope is so very different to expectancy in this case isn’t it. seems to me there’s an act of faith. :-)

  15. Miriworm says:

    I once offered to buy a homeless guy a cup of tea and some food without him asking first. It was amusing to watch the confusion on his face before he made a haste retreat apparently thinking I was a nutter. :-)

  16. k-h-s says:

    Miriworm..

    possibly he was not homeless?

    A friend and I were sitting on the floor waiting for a bus
    (during my college days)
    and a lady walked passed and gave my friend £5
    she told him to get something to eat..
    he politely said thanks, she walked off,
    we both cracked up laughing
    she thought we were homeless
    while actually we were music students with long hair and ripped jeans.
    lol
    ;]

  17. k-h-s says:

    Paid for our bus fair ;]

  18. Rob says:

    Walking in Chicago I tried to talk to a homeless guy once. (Saw him every day during a high school internship… he was “the guy with no legs”) Unfortunately, it was rush hour, so he was busy begging.

    And that’s how I learned that you can make lots of money in an hour’s time begging! I often wonder how he ended up.

  19. FSWood says:

    Wasn’t there a case where Jesus healde several guys and only one came back and said thank you?

    How many times has God given and how many times have I done same as the most guys there????

    Person in cartoon’s diasppointment likely echoes God’s with me in that case?

  20. As a former NYC’er, I know what you mean Becky……..

    Truth be told, most, if not all homeless organizations (many of them church sponsored) blatantly say NOT to give the homeless money when they beg. There are resources they can avail themselves of, and giving money does not help them. In fact, it only aggravates their situation.

  21. Dave says:

    having had to do some begging myself I am much relieved that some people don’t listen to homeless organisations!!

  22. drewman says:

    Taken to taking folk out to lunch. We have the folk of the road into our building regularly – its cool that they feel they can come and great that we can be there to give. It might sound a bit twee but there for the grace of God and all that….

  23. Dave says:

    nice one drewman (22) – thing i find that many people who are homeless want most (other than perhaps some place to stay) is quality human contact that doesn’t patronise them. shalom – dave

  24. jonbirch says:

    i say, if all someone has is the comfort of a drink it can be cruelty to deny them it. just as it’s cruelty to deny morphine to a patient in deathly pain.

    a flip side to this is… i was in a hurry and bumped into a guy wanting money, i gave him a fiver and told him to get something to eat and not to spend it on drink. i walked back the same way an hour later and the guy was totally bladdered and embroiled in a fist fight with another guy. my fault probably. it hasn’t changed my view though.

  25. Tom C says:

    I like this cartoon. We had a debate in the family a while ago. My father-in-law and I argued that it wasn’t our place to ask if someone will misuse what we give, it was simply our place to give with love. From that point it’s the recipients responsibility to use their blessing wisely.We don’t give for the thanks. We give purely to bless the recipient. I inclined myself to agree with him while my wife and mother-in-law argued that he (and I) were being very naive, and living, as we do in New York it’s a great way to get taken advantage of and giving money to beggars is not always a wise way to give. It was an interesting debate.

  26. Will says:

    I was at a conference today about a project called the besom. http://www.besom.com I am someone that emotionally has a soft interior and a hard outer shell. Although, ironically, physically i am the reverse!

    Anyway an hour in and i was in tears by th way i had been challenged about my perceptions about those in need and those that have stuff. My mind is a bit all over the place right now as i had to draw myself together and focus on the rest of the day.

    The strap line, for want of a better expression, is thus:

    The Besom helps people make a difference. It provides a bridge between those who want to give time, money, things or skills and those who are in need. It ensures what is given is used effectively. The service it provides is free.

    This looks like it could become a large part of my life!

    I would describe myself as a broken man tonight -With a Jaded edge but loving the journey.

  27. jonbirch says:

    tom c… i would have been arguing the same point as you and your father-in-law. i can see the other view, but i just can’t square it with what i believe. life is a risk.

    sounds amazing will. look forward to finding out more about that. sleep well mate. :-)

  28. ron says:

    Jon,
    I should be thanking you.
    You are a blessing to most that visit here.
    I am praying about some things in terms of blessings.
    Pray for me that my wife agrees with my decisions. ;)
    Okay, pray that I make the right ones.
    Thanks.

  29. jonbirch says:

    thanks ron. :-)
    i guess sometimes it’s not necessarily about right and wrong… i’ll pray you make a good one. :-)

Leave a Reply

