467

inspired by my friend the naked pastor.

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to 467

  1. Tokah says:

    Never has one of your comics struck me as more true, especially as a person with a disability. I’m expected to be unhappy, inspirational, ever patient, willing to part with my medical information with a smile to anyone who asks, plucky, desiring of a cure, “fighting” and certainly not just living my life.

  2. The hardest thing to be is true to one’s self, and not to what others think you should be. To be true to one’s self requires more courage than just about any other endeavor.

  3. James says:

    Not to mention a very hard fall also.

  4. Caz says:

    This has struck a particular chord with me today….!

    It’s a tough thing indeed.

  5. soniamain says:

    very timely, just be ranting at my husband about how I feel completely taken for granted by others expectations of me. :(

  6. soniamain says:

    Just read naked pastors blog, rest- now that is what I need -thanks for the link.

  7. I’ll bet this also applies to certain cartoonists whose work constantly provokes many heated comments and great misunderstandings!

  8. Mark Burgess says:

    this can also apply to lowly church employed youth workers or children and family workers (of which I do both, depending what time of what day you ask me!)

    Just this afternoon I have been attempting to find some retreat centers locally that can ‘host’ me for a day – having just been told I can put a day ‘retreat’ into the agenda – ahh, how I need some ‘stop’ time!

  9. subo says:

    I agree with you here Tokah -especially as a person with a disability-, it’s as though seeing you as a person and asking for your views is just too challenging for people at times, its as though a health problem or a disability focuses people’s minds on ‘just how much of a saint’, they are in your eyes

    also, for some reason it’s impossible for English people to acknowledge that life is hard for someone else – and if you don’t acknowledge a difficulty, it will disappear (where?)

  10. Mimou says:

    Good one – and also an encouragement for me today!

  11. jonbirch says:

    well, from the sounds of it, i did this cartoon just in the nick of time. :-) if you haven’t already, i would urge you to go and look at the naked pastor article on r & r… it is very relevant.

  12. Jon, I just don’t think I can handle the disorientation you gave me by turn the strip upright. Just doesn’t work for me. ;-P

  13. BTW, I think this is one of your best EVER.

  14. jonbirch says:

    jonathanbrink… i am crushed by the weight of your dashed expectations. :-)
    oh… and thank you. :-)

    thank you tokah! :-) i’m sorry you have to endure such rudeness and ignorance. :-(

    be encouraged mimou! :-)

    but sonia… i always thought you were a headless chicken crossed with a blue arsed fly who never needs sleep. should i lower my expectations? :-)

    mark burgess… take’em at their word and book in a 5 day retreat! :-)

  15. sarah says:

    Don’t do it. It ain’t ever worth it.

  16. jonbirch says:

    paul wilkinson… thanks for the empathy. the only time i ever feel misunderstood around here is when i’m referred to as a ‘cynic’… it has happened very rarely amazingly and there is always some kind soul ready to leap to my defense. i guess i sometimes feel the pressure of expectation to deliver a cartoon but i think that is mainly a self made pressure and one i am now savvy to.
    i ran the last competition so that i’d have material for when i ran dry and am now much more relaxed about taking the odd day off from cartooning. :-)

    by the way, you peoples rants exceeded my expectations and you in turn can expect to see more of your own cartoons up on the blog soon. :-)

    oh… and sarah’s right… it is never worth it. just found out another vicar friend has been laid off for a month due to stress. it’s all very sad really. :-(

  17. Laura says:

    Thanks Jon!!
    Well drawn mate!

  18. dadube says:

    Jon I love this one – slightly timely as I have the Head of RE job interview today as well(!) but hopefully I won’t feel this bad if I get it :)
    I LOVE it laid out this way – more please :D

  19. soniamain says:

    thanks jon- crossed with a fly and a chicken- and i always thought you were a charmer!

  20. soniamain says:

    all the best fro the interview daudbe

  21. AnneDroid says:

    I was once told that the reason the pension scheme for ministers in my denomination is quite good is that so many burn out or die before retirement that there’s more to go round! What a cheery thought!

  22. marcus says:

    Timing is everything…so they say – well Jon the timing is spot on for this not just for me but for many others of my brothers and sisters in Christ who are called to the pastoral office of ordained ministry (not to say that I am glossing over the vital and oft overlooked work of volunteers…)

    I pray for all of us in ministry that we would cast off the expectations of others and take on the expectations of God who says “come to me all you who are weary and heavy laden and I will give you rest”

  23. jonbirch says:

    all the best dadube! :-)

    annedroid. cheery indeed. :-(

    marcus. that’s a good passage. have you read the naked pastor post yet? it is excellent on this theme.

  24. marcus says:

    have read it and am inwardly digesting it in the real hope of an outward manifestation of rest and peace and the freedom to be me in Christ

  25. janetp says:

    Oh to be able to stop myself doing this!:0)

    Can anyone point me in the direction of the naked pastor’s blog some of you think is so good – I’ve not come across it.

    Thanks.

  26. janetp says:

    OK, forget that last bit – I’ve just found the link (and thereby failed to meet the expectations of anyone out there who thinks I’m efficient, or even fully awake, most of the time. ;0))

  27. dadube says:

    not relevant to the ‘toon but further on from my earlier comment I got the Head of RE job! Woohoo :) This also means I can spend some money on commissions Jon :D

  28. jonbirch says:

    cooool dadube! :-)
    congratulations! :-)
    i remember you when you were a nipper! :-)

  29. Carole says:

    Congratulations on the promotion Dadube. Good news, just what I need.

  30. dadube says:

    Gee, thanks on and Carole :)
    Must admit I’m dead chuffed…

  31. dadube says:

    ooops that should have said jon not on!!

  32. jonbirch says:

    hope all’s okay with you carole.

  33. Carole says:

    Stress and fatigue. I’ll get over it. Your concern is appreciated, Jon. x

  34. dadube says:

    Awwww Carole. Thinking of you. Do you finish your practise soon for some R&R? I wish I were a primary teacher right now so I could share some resources and try to help ease your stress/fatigue.
    (((((Carole))))))

  35. Carole says:

    Thanks, Dadube – I can feel the calming vibe.. :)

    Half term now so that is a relief. Then the final onslaught. Will I be able to convincingly evidence all 33 incredibly vague and wishy washy QTS standards? Tune in in 5 weeks to find out…

  36. jonbirch says:

    i hope you have a really good half term carole. not long, not long now… :-) x

  37. Laura says:

    This is right where I am right now. Completely stressed and fatigued from trying to keep up with the expectations of others. Stressful project and haven’t figured out a way to recover quick enough on the weekends so I stay wiped out.
    Thanks for the cartoon as a reference point.

Leave a Reply

