515

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to 515

  1. Deacon says:

    Brilliant!

  2. becky says:

    Trust Jon to think out of the box …

  3. dennis says:

    So I am going in the right direction, Phew!

  4. Catriona says:

    One of your best. Thank you

  5. I think I crossed the line many years ago as a teenager. It took me all summer but I didn’t admit that detail at the time. But now I am proud to stand up for the idea of gradual conversion rather than instantaneous. And I hear more and more people saying that actually this was their experience too. I think making the line horizontal could be more helpful is seeing becoming a Christian as a journey rather than a one off experience. What do you think?

  6. zewt says:

    nicely put…

  7. Claire Khoo says:

    so simple yet so profound.

  8. Carole says:

    Jon you are soooooo clever! This one is brilliant!!!

    Who said clever had to be complicated. Now this is a T-shirt if ever there was one, one on the front and t’other on the back.

  9. zefi says:

    And the crossing line stays there.

  10. grace says:

    Very, very clever…

  11. TyTe says:

    6 – David, I think Brian McLaren and Tony Campolo’s in ‘Adventures in missing the point’ discuss this. Brian favoured gradual and Tony came back and pointed out that many people can still point to a time when a decision was made. I agree with both of them! My salvation is gradual (it’s still ongoing) but there was a definite time in my life when I decided to follow Jesus. Hope this helps!

  12. subo says:

    a cats eye on a bright day

  13. Mimou says:

    haha brilliant idea :)

  14. Linus says:

    Beautiful cartoon. been thinking about this. Been thinking a lot about how i might have reacted to Jesus had i lived in the context and culture he appeared in. Don’t know that it would have been a positive reaction. Think i would have thought he was irresponsible, arrogant, not playing by the rules, not showing due courtesy and respect, outrageous, foolhardy… and oh look he’s gone and got himself killed horribly. Poor stupid B*stard.

    How i would have responded to the news of resurrection, though… well that’s always the question i think? Jesus caused chaos almost wherever he went. put a lot of backs up. broke an awful lot of rules. Paul of Tarsus reckons he broke the power of death* as well. I really want to know if he’s right about that.

    *2 tim 1:10 NLT

  15. kim says:

    The cartoon, and the comments, cheered me up after a very hard day. Thanks Jon, blindingly simple,and profound.

  16. subo says:

    “Think i would have thought he was irresponsible, arrogant, not playing by the rules” – me too Linus, 1st time i read St John’s Gosple i got really wound up

    also, it’s taken me ages to find the human Jesus, fed up with the way he got rejected, looking for friendship with the woman at the well, the excitement of getting the bbq ready for his mates …

  17. Forrest says:

    Ohhh Baby, do I know a bunch of Southern Baptists where that “gradual conversion” would have them thumping their Bibles “‘up side yo hereh-tickle haid!”!

    eh, what do they know.

  18. I agree that for some people they would see their conversion as a very clear datable experience. I think that if this really is the case for someone that’s fine. But it isn’t for everyone. My conversion was over two or three months but I have no problem with people who remember theirs as lasting longer. I just think that it is a shame when people feel a pressure to rewrite their testimony to fit in with a particular theology.

  19. Robb says:

    I had a conversion experience. I have no problem with either way of coming to faith and discipleship. It doesn’t really matter.

    I arrived at the end point of someone elses conversion experience. It confused the hell out of me. A year later he told me that he was at the end of a long process involving loads of other people. He just happened to be in my kitchen when he decided to make a commitment. I had only known him five minutes and had only really exchanged pleasantries with him.

    In hindsight it makes perfect sense.

  20. Robb says:

    Oh pants, done it again…

    Christianity is about having a relationship with Jesus. What other relationship has anyone ever heard of that starts with three steps and a non-conformist liturgy (you know… the prayer. The now you are a christian prayer).

  21. janetp says:

    “What other relationship has anyone ever heard of that starts with three steps and a non-conformist liturgy”

    Any other relationship that started this way would be laughed at as totally bizarre …. :)

  22. Korinthian says:

    Christianity is about embracing thousands of years old traditions. Jesus might have crossed a line back then, but *you* are just doing the same old.

  23. Pingback: annikas und christians sicht der dinge »es ist eine linie…

Leave a Reply

