518

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 518

  1. diewahrheitistuntoedlich says:

    Not a new idea: http://www.ekd.de/aktuell_presse/pm133_2006_ekir_dekt_plakatmotiv.html

    Additionally, sometimes Islamists use this symbol to show their disrespect towards the weakness of chrisitanity.

  2. NonCharon says:

    Heh. I’ve met one of those before. :)

    I just love those “Truth Fishes” where one is eating a Darwin Fish. “If you oppose us, you shall be eaten”.

    Isn’t it interesting that what used to be a clandestine communication used by a persecuted minority has become an open show of solidarity and sometimes even an assertion of dominance?

  3. andreas says:

    Sometimes christians are too frindly. Some teeths are no mistace. Teeth in the mouth, a smile on the face and love ins the heart-thats good!

  4. carol says:

    i have to pick my jaw up off the floor… first of all, i haven’t read any posts in moons, but the title hooked me bad. then i open it and don’t really pay attention to the ‘fish’ but keep trying to open ‘article’… then i get it. oh how i struggle. i relate way too much to this but am grateful to know that there are believers in the world that realize what ‘man eating fish’ these x-tians can be. i am de-sconstructing and hopefully re-constructing a belief in what it means to be a follower. so thanks in a strange kind of way. really. carol

  5. Carole says:

    Ha! Ha! I like this one. I suppose we’ve all met a few predatory Christians in our time. The worst of it is when you get the cannibalistic Christians who want to eat you up because you are not the right brand of Christian for them! I’ve met one or two of those, too… :)

  6. janetp says:

    Ooooh, brilliant. :)

    Reminds me of the song “Mac the Knife” ;)

  7. will says:

    must be a submergant christian.

    Jon have you removed the title that Carol was referring to?

  8. Peter Kirk says:

    Where can I get a T-shirt with this on it?

  9. zefi says:

    Yeah, we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us!

  10. sarah says:

    NonCharon, yes.

    I dislike it very much. Prefer Darwin.

    Jesus doesn’t need defending.

  11. Anna says:

    Did you know, your more likely to die in your own bathtub or by being squished by a falling vending machine than to die of a shark attack. Its just media and films like Jaws that give sharks a very bad name.
    Maybe its the same with Christians? But I suppose you do get some shark (and Christian) attacks all the same. But there are different types of sharks (and Christians). Some aggressive great whites, some nice little ones, and some very clever white tipped cave dwelling reef sharks. Their the cool ones ;D
    Sorry for being random!

  12. JF says:

    No eyes.
    And no teeth? :-)

  13. Sophie says:

    Nice one Anna, I like that! I sometimes think we can be too harsh on ourselves/our fellow followers. As you say not all of us are big ppl eating monsters!

  14. zefi says:

    Fishes are friends, not food!

  15. Pingback: Vicious Christians? | Seven whole days

  16. becky says:

    I can relate to the fish having no teeth – you think it’s harmless but then whammo, it eats you. Sounds like being love bombed at some US charismatic churches.

  17. Tyler Dawn says:

    Ooooh, I like this one… had a pastor like that, only with teeth!

    Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the (holy) water… (dramatic music by John Williams)

  18. dennis says:

    been trying to think of something constructive to say all day about this but all I can say is yeah its True!

  19. Chris F says:

    will “submergent christians” ha! ha! brilliant

    My daughter’s boyfriend, who has yet to “see the light” (!?) wears a T -shirt that you’ve probably seen “Lord protect me from your followers”…

    … I rather like him!

  20. lolori says:

    I guess I see the point, but it hurts me, because that fish symbol represents Jesus and his followers, my brothers and sisters.

    So… ouch.

    Maybe I’m blessed that I don’t personally know any sharky-Christians. I’ll take your word for it that they exist.

    Lori

  21. do do…..do do….do do..do do…do do do do do

    SCREAM!!!

    (Jesus has Jaws….?)

  22. Laura says:

    ooooooh yeah.

  23. Caroline Too says:

    umm,

    yesterday I was at an academic conference

    a well respected professor said something that I thought was tosh

    I went for him

    ferociously

    … so you see,

    eveb though I don’t mean to be

    I am that shark chistian…

    better go away and repent…

  24. zefi says:

    Maybe I’m blessed that I don’t personally know any sharky-Christians. I’ll take your word for it that they exist.

    Well, the reason for this cartoon strip is not to condemn (or at least I hope so).

    There are sharky Christians, but I believe (or rather, want to believe) that most of them do not realise they are one. They do not purposefully wanted to be so.

    I think it is a responsibility, almost, that we point that out, sometimes in a jokingly manner. If they have a good level of humour, perhaps they will respond is, “uh, I never realised I’m so. LOL.”

    It’s good to take God seriously, while taking ourselves not so seriously.

    That is why critics are among the things one cannot live with. It relieves you of the arduous task of having to evaluate the wrong things you do yourself. Plus, it’s free! :D

  25. TyTe says:

    How weird is that? I was just thinking of a cartoon with a Christian fish looming up on an unsuspecting swimmer (like the Jaws poster) with the caption, “Just when you thought it was safe to go back into church” Wierd!

  26. zefi says:

    How weird is that? I was just thinking of a cartoon with a Christian fish looming up on an unsuspecting swimmer (like the Jaws poster) with the caption, “Just when you thought it was safe to go back into church” Wierd!

    Since when it’s safe to be part of the Church? It is in the Church that false prophets and wolves lurks.

    Why are they there, you ask. Well, where else can you find sheep of God?

    We’ve even been given countless of warning in the Letters of Old. Sadly, apart from just warnings, they never do advice on how to deal with them.

  27. jonbirch says:

    hi tyte… i did that already. cartoon 100 i think. :-)

Leave a Reply

