523

I apologise to any overseas asbo’ers for the ‘Britishness’ of this cartoon. However, I think there are themes here which apply wherever you come from.

Also, this cartoon is not meant to be ‘classist’ although it looks it even to me. The good ol’ British class system, eh? :-)

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to 523

  1. subo says:

    guess we’ll soon find out – they could hardly give away more of the country and the publics assets for their own benefit than the opposition have been doing

  2. soniamain says:

    What does it mean to serve?- will it mean they will do a better job at eliminating childhood poverty?, will they be there to help all and not just the rich?. But also makes me ask what should I be doing to serve?

  3. dennis says:

    God help us all!

  4. Richard says:

    Usually the Conservative Party has the best interests of others at the heart of its raison d’être. Even if it is done in a hierarchical paternalist fashion and it may at times not work as well as it should. Where as the Labour party is due to its foundations will always try to control from the centre putting power and wealth in the hands of a few who believe the know best.

    Therefore i for one am looking forward to having a conservative Govenment again. Because there reason for existing is serving.

  5. James says:

    Ok you get pretty much the same whoever you vote for. It’s only ever (for the foreseeable future) going to be Tory or Labour in government and the two parties are so alike these days its unreal. There was a time where labour supported the working class and the Tory’s “looked after” middle England however these days both parties are only interested in the votes of the middle classes, after all this is what will get them into power. In sociology at college last year we looked at the stances both parties took on certain issues and apart from the wording there was very little difference in the speech the ministers gave from both parties. All we can hope is that the next government will be a little more careful with our personal data and will also think a little more about the policies it bring into action (10p tax and all that). I can’t believe what a mess Gordan Brown has made sometimes, and we all thought Blair was bad (better the devil you know?? grass isn’t always greener on the other side?? – even though its technically the same side before someone points that out :p)

  6. JF says:

    Blimey Richard, the ASBO comments board goes party political broadcast! :-)

  7. janetp says:

    Sonia (2): Very good questions. :)

    I would also add, “What do we do when serving one set of people conflicts with serving another?” We can’t please all the people all the time, and I have a degree of sympathy for all those who attempt it by entering into politics knowing that WHATEVER they do, they will be pilloried by SOMEONE. :( I often disagree with what goes on, but I do try to remember that they’re people too, and whatever I think about it they’re usually trying to do their best in difficult circumstances, like the rest of us.

  8. janetp says:

    Jon: Being picky, there shouldn’t be an apostrophe in the strapline … :)

  9. subo says:

    i guess serving is about using your skills for the benefit of others – so the Queen might at times, serve her country.

    i know i mix up subjugation, and the relinquishing of freedom, with serving.

    it’s also easy enough to mix up establishing your own little castle with serving others, with ‘but i was only thinking of you!’ (translating, let me be in control)

    sometimes though, i think God likes to work with our failings, and bring good stuff out of our little plots

    could God use David C.?

  10. Miriworm says:

    Democracy is the worst form of goverment bar all others – Winston Churchill.

    I think revelations in the press over the last year or so have confirmed what we all suspected that most MP’s (but not all) are in it for what they can get out of it financially and any political ideals they may have had are soon lost.

  11. Ros says:

    I’m not sure any of our political leaders know how to serve! :(

  12. JF says:

    Yes, Miriworm. Financial or purely egotistical gains. It’s all about gaining and maintaining power. There has been little ideology in UK Politics since Thatcher, Heath Benn and Kinnock left the scene. They weren’t the only ones at that time by any means, but the final battles of political ideology were taking place in the early 90s. Thatcher won and history has proved her right in some regards, wrong in others.

    Now it’s all about massaging information (spin) to look like you’re getting it right.

    BTW – Great example of spin yesterday (not from a political party) as the Centrica boss announced 35% price rise in gas while wearing a hard hat at the site of a new, efficient power station near Plymouth. Non-verbal justification of the price hike and massive profits. I don’t have an issue with that per se, but it was a wonderfully transparent bit of visual work from their PR people. Oh he just happened to be on that building site this afternoon…

    And that’s British politics. “What do I need to say to be popular?” (they call it “listening to the public”).

    And targets. Targets aren’t there to make anything better. They’re there to allow the manufacturing of spurious ‘good news’ headlines on a bi-weekly basis. The police, teachers and nurses will tell you that targets are the bane of their lives. Last week we heard about the drop in crime… probably because no-one can be bothered to report it any more to a call centre 40 miles from where they live…

    Read “Nineteen Eighty Four”, watch a couple of episodes of “The Thick of It” and you’re pretty clued up on the current scene.

    Rant over, although I do have another question based on an earlier post: why would God ‘use’ David Cameron? If he has an interventionist agenda for Britain, maybe he should just get on and ‘use’ Gordon Brown!?!? Which other PMs in the past has God ‘used’ / not used? Sorry but I cannot get my head round this.

  13. Sarah B says:

    Not like me to defend the Tories so perhaps I’m defending Eton – is that worse? Anyway… when a friend of mine was a youthworker near Eton she had sixthformers from Eton who volunteered to do youthwork locally. She said they were really good. The public school in my old patch also used to encourage local service and we had girls serving tea and coffee to pensioners in our church coffee shop. Doesn’t say they know how to “serve” I suppose…

  14. jonbirch says:

    glad to hear it sarah b.

    on jf’s point… i just don’t believe in god having an interventionist agenda for britain, or anywhere else for that matter. i do think it’s about us being just, fair and righteous… it is our responsibility, period.
    if you compare hilary benn to his dad tony, you’ll see in a neat package how politics has changed. benn the elder believing in something, benn junior spinning like a top… sad.
    btw… 1984 is my favourite book ever. as scarily true now (as jf points out) as ever. george orwell was an etonian, so not everything from eton is useless… but methinks he’s a rare genius.

  15. Mimou says:

    Why don’t they just abolish the whole private school system and invest a lot more in the public schools. Like all the money the parents put to tuition fees, they could give to public schools? And all would be well.. They should ban private schools by law =D and make all public schools awesomely good quality. :)

    a bit aside the topic that, but I really think that it creates such unequalness. Maybe not everywhere, but in general.

  16. subo says:

    good point, maybe he should just get on and ‘use’ Gordon Brown!?!?, guess I think God gave us government to provide a supportive and just society, not that government always achieves that, therefore I think governing well is a valid form of Christian service.

    I think the show belongs to God, and he’s inviting us to play our part, which is way i’m unsure about ‘seperatist christianity’, i think we sould get stuck in with existing structures, and improve them, and aviod setting up ‘alterantive’ options, unless this is the only way we can find to bring new life into existing structures (don’t ask me how you tell the difference)

    i like to smugly think, that over the few months i’ve been in my new job, i’ve been able to subvert the culture for the better – may be am just deluded,

  17. subo says:

    Here’s a vote for keeping public schools,

    – during my troubled schooling, I got to spend a few months in a public girls school, to be honest, it’s one of my big regrets that i didn’t get to stay on there, but thats a long story, however, i’d hate to see public school abolished,

    rather i’d like to see a different set of values implimented in education, stuff the stats, and lets encourage social well being, confidence, diversity and creativity.

  18. Robb says:

    I don’t really know anything other than Spitting Image and other satirical shows on TV when it comes to Eton/Other Private Schools.

    When I was at Durham University I had a conversation with an undergraduate who was looking down his nose at me that went thus (I am not lying or exaggerating):

    (affect a stereotypically posh accent, a bit like Basil Fawlty talking to Lord Melbury about how much he loves wheat)”When I lived in Cambridge, daddy was a surgeon and we used to go punting. Oh I loved punting. We used to do it all the time. Are you a good punter?”

    (affect a proper Yorkshire yokel accent that makes you sound like Monty Pythons Four Yorkshire men sketch)”My dad was a miner, write your own answer”.

  19. jonbirch says:

    robb… hahaha!

    subo… a good friend of mine sent one son to public school, another to comp. both were perfect for who they were and where their skills lay. still can’t help thinking though that comp boy will be far more in touch with what is really going on in the world amongst ordinary people.

  20. Robb says:

    Jon, tis good to be back crackin jokes ;)

    The problem is that there is no such thing as ‘ordinary’.

    I am an ‘ordinary’ yorkshireman who drinks beer, walks in the sunshine and can fix just about anything… and on top of my genetic breeding I play guitar and do theology.

    I encountered the ‘ordinary’ the other day when I was walking through an east end park. I was in this guys ‘enz’. In fact, I committed the ultimate social foe pa of taking a photograph in his ‘enz’. For that is a capital crime in ‘the enz’.

    I wish I had said something like “Sorry cock, I dunt knaa what tha’s seein'” – or “Az from the LS massive”. Either is as stoopid as the other.

    The thing is…. connecting to “the ordinary” takes context. I connect to the moshers of the north very well. I connect with the people of the north very well. I connect really well with foreigners. I connect with placid people from all over the place quite well.

    I don’t have a clue how to speak to ‘Mo and his massive who wants to beat me up’. I know totally how to deal with “dave the pissed up guy from Redcar who has had too many beers and wants to beat me up”.

    I guess ‘ordinary’ has a social grouping attached to it. Who are we to detract from the social grouping that David Carmeron belongs to? Perhaps they are just another bunch of ‘moshers’ ‘emo’s’ and ‘chavs’ along with us ‘ordinary people’ ;)

  21. Tyler Dawn says:

    Good grief, when are politicians ever ready to “serve?”

    Unless they are playing tennis at the country club that is….

  22. jonbirch says:

    yeh, but robb, there’s rich ordinary people and not so rich ordinary people… i was thinking of the not so rich ones. :-)

  23. jonbirch says:

    oh… and nice to have you back! :-)

    my feelings entirely tyler. :-(

  24. Carole says:

    53% of voters in the UK believe the Conservative Party is ready for office…yeah, the office I had in mind is a little portakabin down on the industrial estate.

    I was reading in some scandal rag the other day that some Tory party ‘think tank’ or other reckons that the North is beyond saving and that no more should be ploughed into regeneration of the Northern towns and should instead be invested in the south east. Then we northern oiks can all gather our possessions into a knotted hankie on a stick, don our flat caps, sell our pigeons, put our whippets on a lead and go to London where the pavements are clearly paved with gold. If this weren’t so clearly comical, I would be insulted. Is that what they teach them in Eton? Let’s take an overpopulated area, build overpriced housing on rapidly diminishing greenbelt, move more people in and stress the infrastructure to breaking point. I’m sure the unethical financial service sector would be prepared to overlend to us to facilitate the purchase of a desirable broom cupboard. Grim and industrial it may be up here (not really – the Tories kindly relieved us of that burden under the Iron Lady) but I’d much rather stay here, thank you, the quality of life is far better. ‘Think tank’? They should stick to advising about tropical fish.

    But then Labour don’t exactly ‘wow’ me either…

  25. jonbirch says:

    that’s the problem ain’t it carole!? no flippin’ labour party of any worth!
    i’ve always been a labour voter… i felt enormously let down by blair and his gung-ho warmongering, then hoped for better from brown. the country now feels like it’s being led by rice pudding!
    does nobody believe in anything anymore? are all our politicians bankrupt of ideology and vision?
    i’ve voted green the last couple of times. at least they stand for something and apply pressure on the commons.
    the tory party are as big a joke as ever… except they’re still not funny. our country, run by etonians and the old school tie… it’s an annoying stereotype i thought we were rid of. but ‘no’… we’ve got it all to come again it would seem.
    boo!

  26. Robb says:

    the North is beyond saving and that no more should be ploughed into regeneration of the Northern towns and should instead be invested in the south east

    Give me more ‘cos I’ll go round and beat them with the ugly stick ;)

    It’s grim oop north! Well let me tell you (good northern expression) that when I was ‘darn saarfff’ I had a guy try to kill me. That was within 24hrs. I’ve lived ooop north for many a year without that delight. I think I’ll keep doing it.

    The particular incident was “wot u doing in my enz?”

    My response should have been “I dunt know what thas saying cock”.

    But I am alive. hooray!!

    I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo angry because of that statement!

  27. Robb says:

    It was so grim today. I rode a harley around the dales in the sunshine with my wife past a sign that says “beware the sheep”. Please someone, “save us”.

Leave a Reply

