555

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 555

  1. Timbo says:

    I can sense a windscreen/fly conjunction in the offing.

    Of course, God’s much nicer than that.

  2. David Ker says:

    That’s a beauty. So true.

  3. becky says:

    Why is the man standing on God’s middle finger? Then again, Jon’s god has four fingers so does that mean he never gives us the finger?

  4. Jessica Denise says:

    Love it. Just love it….I basically prayed a similar around the time this was posted. Maybe he’s trying to speak to me through this. Thank you.

  5. pastorsandy says:

    haha, i like that one…

  6. Sarah says:

    Absolutley love it. Spend a lot of time thinking about this recently. The cartoon hit me hard

  7. Stumpy says:

    This is an absolute classic Birchy, hope it goes in your book, maybe as the front cover? ;)

  8. Nathan says:

    Good comic Jon :)

    I just imagine a third panel where it pulls back even further and the guy says, “Seriously God, whenever you’re ready.”

  9. Schmikey says:

    this is something i have been struggling with recently. i’m a bit fed up with blame being placed on me (by myself included) for not being able to find God. if we believe the God is into relationship, then why is it so difficult to feel it. we live in a physical world and are used to physical relationships, surely God knows this, wheres the physicality?

    or is that God is not in to relationships in the way that is implied or we are led to believe

  10. Schmikey says:

    sorry, i realise i’ve just taken a couple of sidesteps from this cartoon.

  11. Johanna says:

    Just what I needed this morning. Thank you.

  12. janetp says:

    Hey Jon. That sums up pretty nicely where I’m at at the moment.

    Looks like I’m not the only one, which is lovely :)

  13. zefi says:

    this is something i have been struggling with recently. i’m a bit fed up with blame being placed on me (by myself included) for not being able to find God. if we believe the God is into relationship, then why is it so difficult to feel it. we live in a physical world and are used to physical relationships, surely God knows this, wheres the physicality?

    Someone once said that we’re actually spirits having physical body.

    And also someone once said that God is Spirit.

    Oh well.

  14. marcus says:

    let’s hope God doesn’t clap His hands!!!

  15. andy amoss says:

    Yeah, how do we really know God isn’t just Rick Moranis off ‘Honey, i shrunk the kids!’?

  16. andy t says:

    Great cartoon Jon just love it
    re 9 I was watching a Rob Bell DVD the other day and he was saying that in Hebrew their isn’t a word for Spiritual because the idea we could live outside the spiritual realm was alien to them. Don’t know if this helps but for me just walking around in woods or outside in natural or looking at the stars at night helps me to feel the physical side of God just by experiencing the beauty of the world around us. Helps me I hope maybe it can help you :-) But i have had many times when i can really relate to what you are say he.

  17. Caroline Too says:

    Thank you, Jon… just wondered what it would mean to the cartoon of the person was on the ‘wedding’ finger of God’s hand?

  18. Robb says:

    I only have a little to contribute…

    Amen!!

  19. Robb says:

    Andy t – they don’t really have a concept of secular either.

  20. jonbirch says:

    no… they don’t do dualism at all.

    andy t’s idea of seeing god in his creation is how i experience god for the most part… when i do. see the little cartoon retrospective i’ve just posted. :-)

  21. Pingback: Funny cause it’s true. « Jesus Loves The Children

  22. becky says:

    Carole – I like the wedding finger analogy – God has no middle finger.

  23. steve lancaster says:

    Schmikey (9, 10),

    Not a deep or particularly spiritual thought – just something from practical experience. When I was at my lowest, for a period in the mid 1990s, I discovered I could go a day without more meaningful contact if all I did was head to the local shop to buy something from the assistant.

    Like I say, not big stuff! But it still works for me – it’s the intention to meet someone rather than the buying, of course.
    :)

  24. gilly says:

    having missed this and read 556 first…i was feeling a bit worried. what’s it come to when i really don’t see God in all the majesty?

    But these images are ( for me) more like it. Thank You.

  25. subo says:

    I love being in a wild place when the ground is hot, and smelling the dust rising from the living earth, I love the aliveness of the ground

  26. Carole says:

    Becky, I’d love to take credit for the profound image in the comment at 17…but it was Caroline Too who wrote it…

    I so love this, Jon. The idea of being in God’s palm is one which I find very comforting. I painted a picture once (I am no artist but I just painted this one picture) of me cradled in the palms of two hands. OK, like I say I’m no artist and I looked very odd and disproportioned, curled up in a foetal position. But the hands were Phil’s hands and he has real manly hands. I was quite pleased with them. There have been times when I have felt supported by the hands of God.

  27. subo says:

    Maybe God’s hands are the hands of a musician, with their own knowledge and memory, bringing life and music into being

  28. Pingback: /Seventy-Two » God…reveal yourself to me!

  29. Laura says:

    Is it wrong that I keep expecting to open up this site and see that little guy all squished up inside a big old fist?

    Yep…probably it is.

Leave a Reply

