572

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to 572

  1. tallandrew says:

    The people in church should be more alive than anyone else. “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

    So what does ‘life’ in church look like? discuss.

  2. Timbo says:

    It sometimes feels like we’re already dead and that our Christian-ness gives us that ‘unfinished business’ to keep us hanging around well past our sell by dates.

  3. Robb says:

    Along with n and all the company of saints…

  4. Becky says:

    So when are we the Bruce Willis character where it’s but a mirage?

  5. Carole says:

    They aren’t very good pew warmers, then!

  6. marcus says:

    Could have done with this last Sunday when I asked the congregation if we were closer to death or closer to life and why don’t we look more resurrected? C’est la vie or something like that.

    Good to see you back in action Jon :-)

  7. Forrest says:

    If they’re “dead to sin” spiritually, that’s one thing; if they’re just plain spiritually dead, that’s another.

    And deadly dull, uninteresting, and uninspiring, is still another.

  8. Stewart says:

    Easy to write off the people in church but perhaps they are there looking for life?

  9. Laura says:

    Dead people have no arms :shock:

  10. smudge says:

    Jesus has left the building

    I see – [as I'm typing], Jesus like a Pied Piper and people following Him wherever he goes, dancing…coming alive..
    [just realised, that's similar to a scene in Godspell...haven't watched it recently though]

    anyway…there’s a song in my mind but can’t think of it…
    maybe the Crispin St.Peters’ one [The Pied Piper], but I think it’s another one.

    verse from Lord of the Dance…

    [ignore me...thinking aloud]

  11. Forrest says:

    Stewart makes an exceedingly good point there in #9.

    There _Should_ be dead people in church looking for life!

  12. marcus says:

    there should also be living people in church looking for the dead

  13. dennis says:

    I shared this with some friends a few years ago and they just looked at me blanc! My guess is they were dead, but then crap!! what if I am dead and they are alive and didn’t see me?

  14. It’s a mirage, they just don’t turn the heating on till November 1st. WB jon and bless them students!

  15. Linus says:

    Carole @ 6: nah, but they make good draught excluders!

    maybe if we got them outside of a ‘special’ building and endless meetings, they might come alive again.

    Maybe things are more alive than they appear to be. Would we know life if we saw it? what does it look like? must there be more than this?

    Would it be worse if Haley Joel said “I see Lukewarm people”?

  16. Dave says:

    Death is only the raw material of resurrection!! Great film!! I liked Unbreakable too! Dave :)

  17. Dave says:

    Keeping it light – one of my favourite book characters of all time has to be Terry Pratchetts DEATH – of HIM it is said, “The Death of the Disc was a traditionalist who prided himself on his personal service and spent most of the time being depressed because this was not appreciated. …. He still used a scythe, he’d point out, while the Deaths of other worlds had long ago invested in combined harvesters.” – dave :)

  18. Miriworm says:

    Mat 22:32 I am the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob? God is not the God of the dead, but of the living.

  19. Miriworm says:

    I think you must have sixth sense! :-)

  20. Carole says:

    “So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.”

  21. subo says:

    I often wonder what it was that goes through assassins minds, as they barge into classrooms ect shooting all and sundry. It never occured to me that they might see ‘dead people’.

  22. Robb says:

    They are merely inhuming them Subo.

  23. Timbo says:

    On my i-pod this evening, on the way to church, the random song that was playing as I arrived was L7’s ‘Pretend We’re Dead’.
    I heard it and I thought of here.

  24. Linus says:

    I’m sure their clients were very grateful for the elegance of the service rendered, Robb.

  25. Dorian says:

    I have a feeling he’d be sating that a lot, in and out of the church.

  26. Dorian says:

    saying*

  27. Laura says:

    Botti @15 – ok, that explains it. They do have arms, they are just tucked under the blankets they have wrapped around them is all. Duh. ;-)

  28. Laura says:

    This also reminds me of that movie Pleasantville.

  29. Robb says:

    Timmy – I have never been as gutted as the day I arrived at band practice back when we were at uni with my ‘new song’. Dr Ruth said “it is the same as ‘pretend that you’re dead’ by L7″. I asked the question “who”? having never heard the song before ever…….

    ………gutted……….

  30. Carole says:

    So tell me, just so that I can avoid it, which church does Jimmy Kranky go to? ;)

  31. Robb says:

    That is the second time within 12 hours I have heard the words “Jimmy Kranky”. Am I being haunted by the ghost of Jimmy Kranky past??

  32. Carole says:

    I seem to recall we had a Kranky-esque exchange a few months back. Aah, the cream always rises to the top, :lol:

  33. jonbirch says:

    hey robb… are you honestly saying that you do a song as good as ‘pretend you’re dead’ in church? gosh! this really must be encouraged. :-)

  34. gilly says:

    well he could be a prophet
    or he could be a boy in shorts shouting

  35. Linus says:

    or he could be Jeremiah, in which case he would be both.

    Robb@30: great minds think alike?

    Robb@33: fools never differ? =]

  36. janetp says:

    :)

    Linus (16): “nah, but they make good draught excluders!” :lol:

    “Lukewarm people” – according to the early chapters of Revelation, those are the ones (God? the author?) will ‘spit out of his mouth’.

  37. janetp says:

    Forgot to say, great song, Robb. And I hadn’t heard of them either :)

  38. Pingback: [No comment] | The Daily Scroll

  39. Robb says:

    My most encouraging song in church? Erm…..

  40. Pingback: Church « nathan the alien

Leave a Reply

