597

this idea stolen from becky. :-)

jesustm

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to 597

  1. Mike says:

    Hmmmm. It does seem like we have taken a revolutionary message and turned it into a product.

  2. Laura says:

    we’ve turned a revolutionary person and turned him into a product.

  3. Laura says:

    first turned should be taken. :oops:

  4. Becky says:

    Awww – thanks — though I do think these kind of logos make the baby Jesus cry.

  5. chad m says:

    can i get a t-shirt? i think it would really help spread the love of Christ if we all had this on a t-shirt. then people would be able to see the “real” Christians are…

    uhhhh…just kidding?

  6. Kim says:

    Oh yeah, I’ve got shares in him, wonder if credit crunch will affect their value??!!

  7. Andrew Sillis says:

    Are there any franchise opportunities?

  8. Caroline Too says:

    hey, hang on guys…

    when you’ve got as good a brand as this you’ve got to protect it

    so we’ve got make sure that we’re all on message here

    and that we keep close to the brand immage and that all our actions and talk are brand compliant

    so, remember the key brand values that we’re talking about here:

    Jesus meets your every need
    Jesus will reward your giving with prosperity
    Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever: a free market, zenophobic right winger
    Jesus is dead interested in you being comfortable and entertained in your entertain-o-worship
    Jesus is all about more more more

    oh, umm

    Lord have mercy

  9. Robb says:

    Where to start on this one….

    “My saviour and my friend”*

    *Now in the back of my mind I suspect you may be judging me. I suspect that you are thinking something terrible like this little ditty. However, in my head it goes like this!!

  10. Sorry Jesus.

    Becky, you know the baby Jesus doesn’t cry!! (Did you learn nothing from the Christmas hymns of nursery school?)
    ;)

  11. sarah says:

    The trademark of our lives might be love, joy and peace but you can’t put Jesus in a cage. He’s way too powerful. :-)

  12. subo says:

    good to realise I belong somewhere

  13. jonbirch says:

    your brand values are in good hands caroline too, if ‘so-called’ christian tv is anything to go by. i was looking for a documentary to watch last night and found myself at the god channel. once again they were talking about money… these guys seem to love money… (sorry, i mean ‘blessings’… er, um, ‘gifts’)… anyway, these days they talking about seed sewing and tree planting as a money metaphor. they’ve even removed the £/$ sign for a nice tree graphic. when i first saw it i thought they were talking environmental issues and planting trees. i was wrong.

  14. Caroline Too says:

    the real danger of the ‘brand values’ is that they’re almost ok, but…

  15. jonbirch says:

    man robb, your clips took me back plenty of years. church parade and the muppet show… that was a full weekend in our family. :-)

  16. jonbirch says:

    that’s exactly it caroline too.

  17. Robb says:

    Jon – Glad to be of service ;) Ahhh, the God channel:

    “Why do we always come here? I guess we’ll never know. It’s like a kind of torture to have to watch the show….”

  18. jonbirch says:

    hahaha! you’re not kiddin’! :lol:

  19. Robb says:

    Statler: What would you do if you we’re a rich man?
    Waldorf: I would buy the network and cancel this show.

  20. dadube says:

    Robb – I agree with jon that it took me back years. Mind you, what’s with the sailor in his uniform in church in the first clip???? (not that I have a problem with me in uniform….thats a whole different cartoon and discussion…but I thought it was quite random!

  21. Stewart says:

    I’m sorry Jon. We’ll have to inform our lawyers. Jesus is ours. We had him before you. You don’t have permission from the authorities to use our brand. You may use it incorrectly or in inappropriate situations (with poor people and other undesirables). Could you please refrain from all further use until you submit your material for theological examination by a committee of experts. ;)

  22. jonbirch says:

    sorry stewart. :-)

    maybe remembrance day dadube?

    robb. :-)

  23. beatthedrum says:

    I wish the name was Trade Marked!

    Think we could sue all the false Jesus products and people out there.

    JW’s, Mormons etc

  24. Sophie says:

    Brilliant! Although there would be no end to the sueing…

  25. Kim says:

    So sad that we are having to fight against that sort of rubbish – is really sad that apparent Christians have given Jesus such a bad name. There’s now a whole genre of books out there trying to reclaim him from the God channel loons and others – (sorry to return to the book theme!)

    I’m sure I represent him badly at times too. Whoever said Lord have mercy earlier was right I think. Lets keep on keepin on.

  26. Becky says:

    10. Hate to burst your bubble but the baby Jesus was fully human – that means he cried, pooped, peed, farted, etc. And when he became a teen, he went through puberty and all that entails – and like most men, I’m sure he got excited more than once.

    I put this link in the emerging cartoon section but at 127 posts, not sure who’s still reading it but this really applies to this cartoon as well …

    http://tallskinnykiwi.typepad.com/tallskinnykiwi/2008/11/recession-proof.html

  27. Sophie says:

    I’m not sure I can pretend to give Jesus better representation than anyone else really.

    I was thinking recently if anyone can see the ‘godness’ in me. I’ve always been taught that us christians should be different somehow to everyone else. I really don’t know if/how that’s the case.

    Really though, the them and us mentality gets me down, as if somehow christians are better than other people. And the idea that we should only get involved in peace and justice issues in order to convert people really does my nut.

    I’ve been reading Re-enchanting Christianity by Dave Tomlinson recently (another book, I know), and there is the idea in there that we should be extending the Kingdom – that the Kingdom of God is anywhere where there is love, justice, peace, forgiveness, joy, hope, etc as opposed to somewhere where there are more christians!

    Sorry I think that’s a bit of a tangent.

  28. Robb says:

    Sorry, it was the jolly ditty hymn that I was pointing at really not service…

  29. Becky says:

    I connect with God through books, art, music, theater and other creative expressions that cost money to make – the difference as I’ve noted elsewhere is does the person feel called to be a writer or to get published.

    Someone I know asked a known speaker/writer for advice about writing a book. (If I already told this my apologies – I’m on book deadline and my brain is a bit filled with stuff). He had been approached by a publisher and wanted to know how he could publish a book without selling out his ministry. The advice he was given was something along the lines of … the mere act of writing/speaking is selling out. So if you’re going to become a whore, you might as well find yourself the biggest pimp. When I heard that, I about cried.

  30. jonbirch says:

    “the Kingdom of God is anywhere where there is love, justice, peace, forgiveness, joy, hope, etc”
    dead right sophie. :-)

    not sure about suing… i like the osmonds, they’re mormons… they seem quite nice. :-)

  31. jonbirch says:

    funnily enough becky, my next cartoon is on that very theme. :-)

  32. Richard says:

    I assume that ‘TM’ stands for ‘The Messiah’ or am I missing something…?

  33. Becky says:

    (TM) means trademark.

  34. Have you seen that brand of escatology called transmillennial®?

  35. Caroline Too says:

    sophie (#26) and Jon (#29)

    the kingdom of God is wherever their is justice, forgiveness… etc.

    yes, but

    that runs the danger of packaging and branding Jesus every bit as much God-Channel or systematic-theology types in universities…

    Jesus is not, as CS Lewis implied, a tame lion…

    and whilst the pietistic “Jesus-in-my-heart” brand is inadequate to capture Jesus’ kingdom, so are earthly expressions of His character as we find them in society…

    I wonder, what are the non-tame ways that we have encountered Jesus? Telling those stories to each other might help us avoid ‘selling’ the brand.

  36. Robb says:

    Caroline Too – but it may scare the pants out of me too!!

  37. jonbirch says:

    ooh… nice use of lewis there caroline too. :-)

    robb… i don’t remember the phrase ‘scare the pants’ ever being used by cs lewis. :-)

  38. theseoldshades says:

    Caroline Too: This is completely cliched but last year, when coming out of one pub to go to the next (!), my friends and I walked outside into a massive thunderstorm which we hadn’t realised was happened. It was just immensely powerful, and also incredibly funny because we were all standing there in dresses and heels trying desperately to hail a cab while getting absolutely soaked. Made me realise a) the awesome power and beauty of creation b) how much I loved my friends and how blessed I am here at uni. Cliched like I said, but it was good times!

  39. Robb says:

    Jon – You should read the screwtape letters ;)

  40. Richard says:

    Becky, are you sure it means ‘trademark’? Wouldn’t that be Tm? I suppose TM could also stand for ‘The Master’ or ‘The Mediator’ – let me know as I see you are a writer so no doubt clued up on these matters of copyright and tradmarks. On reflection, when it ccomes to copyright I am all in favour as long as Jesus in central – in which case it becomes “copy Jesus right?”

  41. Becky says:

    Useless crapola that I wish I didn’t have to know …
    http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/tac/doc/basic/register.htm

    I like trademark better than copyright (c) because (c) is what’s used to opyright our work on blogs, etc. Somehow Emergent Church ™ just stands out more.

  42. jonbirch says:

    hi richard… yup, it’s trademark. :-)

  43. Caroline Too says:

    Theseoldshades (#38)

    what I loved about your story was that the storm was going one and you didn’t realise…

    I wonder what God’s up to that we don’t realise?

  44. wezlo says:

    Nice. Some friends of mine and I have been using Evangelicalism™ for a couple of years now to express how it’s morphed from a religious tradition to a product and fiercely guarded brand. I guess it was only a matter of time until someone thought to apply it to Jesus. Ironically, this is a tee-shirt I’d wear – but I don’t think anyone would get it.

  45. subo says:

    I know what you mean, it’d make a great T.

    I find something de-humanising in our Trade Marked and Branded culture. We’ve moved away from our source and roots, debunked or lost extended families. And then think we can make the tiny unit of our immediate family, into thriving homes. We can build our image ourselves, within our little bubble, slavishly excluding things that might nurture us. How come so much of our experiencing is discounted, as ‘not cool’?

  46. sarah says:

    Because it doesn’t make them any money.

    Sas x

  47. Joe says:

    I was at Creation Festival (a big Christian music gathering in the US) last year and this fellow told us that we’d all been branded by the world and that we should be branded by Jesus instead. Then he proceeded to tell us to go to his tent and BUY a JesusBrand T-shirt. I laughed… I cried… I vomited… and then I bought a T-shirt. (except I didn’t actually buy a t-shirt)

  48. Robb says:

    “(except I didn’t actually buy a t-shirt)”

    That is how Timbo talks!!

    (and me…… quite a bit……)

  49. Richard says:

    Hi Jon, thanks for the correction (and so much for my attempt at humour!). Did you receive my email(s) Jon? I have sent two to ********* but had no reply.

  50. sarah says:

    Yeah we should be branded by the Lord but it’s a HEART thing. :-)

  51. becky says:

    Richard – I thought it was funny. Wish it was true.

  52. jonbirch says:

    richard… that must be cos you spelt my surname wrong. :-)

Leave a Reply

