614

glasses

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to 614

  1. Forrest says:

    I’m nearsighted, Kathy is farsighted – walking a mile in the other’s glasses would land us both in hospital after only a few steps!!!

  2. ED... says:

    I always find the proverb about walking a mile in another man’s shoes funny because I’ve got outlandishly big clown feet.

    Perhaps it’s important to have doubts, just so that someone else can have the benefit of them…

    I blogged on that a while back here:

    http://caughtnottaught.blogspot.com/2008/10/ephesians-5-4-6.html

    ED…

  3. Mike says:

    Isn’t this the issue of our times. we Christians are not willing to look at something through the eyes of another. We are even less willing to see things as Jesus sees them.

    Great sermon in art Jon

  4. becky says:

    I really needed this – I’m staying with my sis over the Christmas holidays and it’s always stressful – I’m the oldest and a creative and my brother and sister are kind people but very materialistic. They don’t understand living on the edge financially and why I don’t get a “real job” – though since I started publishing books they lay off me a bit. I can’t believe we came out of the same parents.

  5. dennis says:

    I lost my glasses last week and have come to realise how blind I actually am!

    It has taught me more lessons than just DONT lose your glasses!

    Have you found my glasses Jon and are just winding me up? *paranoia* again.

  6. drew says:

    I did this a while back and decided to keep the glasses or at least have my own pair made!

    What a relief!

  7. Pat says:

    It’s getting people to realise that weallwear glasses that’s the problem sometimes :-)

  8. Catriona says:

    LOL! Like others I thought eek, wear someone else’s glasses and I’d fall flat on my nose within ten paces. Great fun – and makes me think, as ever.

    Thank you for another year of fun and thought, hope you have a fantabulous Christmas/New Year

  9. Linus says:

    If you walked a mile in someone else’s glasses,

    you’d be a mile away…

    and you’d have their glasses.

  10. subo says:

    Gilbert and George?

  11. Laura says:

    For some odd reason, this made me think of Ronnie Corbett falling down on Peter Kay’s “Amarillio” video a few years back :lol:

  12. jonbirch says:

    “It’s getting people to realise that weallwear glasses that’s the problem sometimes”… yes indeed pat. :-)

    laura… i missed that one. peter kay makes me laugh. :-)

    dennis… yes it was me… i did steal your glasses… i’d give’em back… but i can’t… because i accidently sat on’em. sorry. :-)

    thanks catriona. you too. :-)

  13. subo says:

    it is, it’s Peter Kay and Ronnie

  14. Carole says:

    You’ve got 20-20 vision in this one, Jon!

    Actually, I think you should dedicate this one to Laura – her blog is called changinglenses!

  15. jonbirch says:

    mike… thank you. i agree. :-)

    linus… haha! :-)

    subo… who are gilbert and george? :-)

    welcome to the world of sharp focus drew. :-)

    becky… have a great time with the rels. one thing i’ve noticed with more material, or careful people that is good for the relationship when you feel they don’t get you is… ask them for advice… it is amazing how peoples attitudes towards you change when they feel like they’re joining in with you. :-)

    ed… so how tall are you and how big are your feet?.. you don’t have to answer that. :-)

    forrest… sounds like you and kathy shouldn’t change a thing. i don’t wear glasses, but i gather that the correct prescription means the world. :-)

  16. Laura says:

    jon, it’s at 2:50 on this version.
    What can I say..I love this song.

    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=x7a_6ZsumkU

  17. jonbirch says:

    aah subo… i’ve missed way too much peter kay. :-(
    :-) good idea carole!.. here goes…
    :lol: :lol: :lol: LAURA… I DEDICATE THIS CARTOON TO YOU! :lol: :lol: :lol:

  18. Laura says:

    Whooo Hooooo… an ASBO dedicated to me…I have arrived! :mrgreen:

  19. jonbirch says:

    that video alone was worth the dedication… how happy was that!!!? that pretty much sums up everything i’ve seen and love about peter kay! :lol:

  20. Laura says:

    Gotta get some sleep. It’s nearly 5am my time.

    Had a great day, fantastic dinner with some amazing friends…and an ASBO dedication.

    Life is good!

  21. jonbirch says:

    right… i’m off to have a hot bath to see if i can draw out yet more of this everlasting, nasty cold bug thing. then, i’m gonna fix a few last christmas bits’n’bobs.
    have a great day y’all… see you later! :lol:

  22. jonbirch says:

    good idea laura. 5am? you’re as bad as me!!! :-)

  23. beckyw says:

    #11 laura – hahahahahahaha :-)

  24. Caroline Too says:

    Pat your point is absolutely spot on…

    rather than walking a mile in another’s specs

    what about reading the bible for an hour from anothers perspecstive?

  25. JF says:

    Anyone got any idea where the Pope gets his glasses? Should have gone to Specsavers!

  26. becky says:

    15. Actually Jon asking my relatives for “advice” is the worst thing I could do because a good chunk of our problem is that they think everyone should wear their style of glasses even though they look like crap on me. So we end up fighting and in the process, break each other’s glasses. I’m at a point where I accept the fact that we wouldn’t choose to be friends but God made us family. I chose not to visit them for extended visits and then allow time to go for walks (sister is working until christmas eve night and the temperature just shot up so I’m hitting the beach for walks in about an hour). Oh, and make sure there’s wireless nearby so can connect with my friends (the ones like y’all that I chose to be with).

    25. Clergy glasses – the Pope hasn’t changed is prescription since 1960.

    Something tells me evangelical pastors wear colored contacts so they have baby blue eyes just like Jesus.

    Here in the United States, the US Episcopal Church broke its glasses and is fumbling in the dark looking for a good optician.

    Emergent Church ™ leaders wear whatever was uber trendy last year even though everyone else’s prescription has changed.

    TV preachers refuse to wear glasses which is why they squint when they ask you for money.

    And the list goes on …

  27. Pat says:

    Becky – love this list. Has the makings of a good party game although, to make it fair, one ought maybe to include oneself in it. Not sure what my current ‘look’ is but no doubt my kids would be only too happy to tell me! :lol:

  28. jonbirch says:

    jf… hahaha! :-)

    “Something tells me evangelical pastors wear colored contacts so they have baby blue eyes just like Jesus. ” nice one becky, hahaha! :-)

  29. becky says:

    I like to say I wear Mike Yaconelli glasses – I admit I’m flawed, screwed and yet somehow saved – that’s why I offend some people and attract others. But it’s real and messy but I know this is where I need to be. And so be it.

  30. subo says:

    here’s a link to a vid by Gilbert and George – for anyone who wants a peak, it’s hard to say why I find them so depressing, possibly it’s because along with a few other people, they are heralded as the best Britain can offer!

    http://www.tate.org.uk/modern/exhibitions/gilbertandgeorge/

  31. subo says:

    Peter Kay rocks, ‘it’s that wet rain, goes right through you’

  32. ED... says:

    I’m 6’2″ and UK size 14. I get the shoes at Yarrows shipyard.

  33. Robb says:

    Becky – I only have two ears and one nose – I can’t wear all of them!!

  34. janetp says:

    Just a quick note to wish everyone in ASBO-land a wonderful Christmas and a happy New Year. Hope you have a great time wherever you are, whoever you’re with and whatever you’re doing. Here’s to a fantastic 2009 (imagine me raising a glass here).

    :0

    J
    xxx

  35. janetp says:

    OK, it’s late so I goofed the smiley.

    It should have been
    :)
    :lol:

  36. Robb says:

    Janetp – to you and yours also. And to the rest of yers… a Very Merry Christmas!!

  37. becky says:

    Robb – that’s why I wear the Yaconelli glasses – enables me to see clearly and cut through the bull. The rest is for show.

    I’m going offline more or less until I fly back from Florida late on the 27th – if my sis and I were to kill each other, we would have done so by now. It helps that it’s sunny and over 70 degrees so I can relax from the NYC snow.

  38. Linus says:

    have a good break, Becky

    Merry Christmas to all. Here’s to hopefully seeing just that little bit clearer in the coming year.

  39. Linus says:

    have a good break, Becky

    Merry Christmas to all. Here’s to hopefully seeing just that little bit clearer in the coming year.

  40. Laura says:

    Oh my gosh Linus!! I think I’ve got double vision! :shock:

  41. subo says:

    Yes, here’s to a very happy christmas, all you wonderful Asboers

    and loads of good stuff for 2009

    HAPPY HAPPY CHRISTMAS

    – will miss you from the rainy slopes of Cumbria

    x
    subo

  42. jonbirch says:

    laura… you’re making a ‘spectacle’ of yourself! :-)

  43. zefi says:

    If I look through your glasses, I won’t be seeing what you’re seeing; it’ll be blurry.
    The only way to see what you’re seeing through your glasses is for our eyes to have the same power.

    It’s better for the world that you keep your glasses, and me mine.

    This analogy doesn’t work, unless the you intended for me to come to that conclusion. Or I’m being too factual, missing the forest for the trees. Or maybe I’m just trying to appear really analytical and smart, and that it’s not really working.
    :P

  44. Linus says:

    Haha Laura i wish i’d got even a quarter of that amount of vision* – in the land of the blind, the one eyed man is… well, probably locked up for being a heretic or something. I’m usually pretty blind so i’m always on the look out(!) for the one eyed amongst us.

    I think that’s cool, Zef, as long as you keep telling me what you see (or can’t see) and i keep telling you what i (can’t?) see… that way we both get to see twice as much.

    *insert joke about half-wits here, timbo =]

Leave a Reply

