680

binge

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to 680

  1. darren says:

    ans some binge worship while wishing they were drinking and some run churches in pubs so they can do both at the same time…

  2. Sara says:

    and some worship in churches that cause them to binge drink…

  3. tom says:

    So which one’s damaging to the body and which one is damaging to the soul? I think I’ve seen people act more like idiots drunk on the Spirit as opposed to being drunk on spirits.

  4. Will says:

    Interesting that there is mor human interaction on Friday. Night than Sunday morning. I understant the “purpose” is to worship god but I do prefer it when that is done with interaction with other people.

    How do you get that to happen when those who are there just want to face one way and worship by themselves

  5. rockingrev says:

    Interestingly some figures came out in the paper this morning that say that a person who takes one drink a day is more likely to suffer from liver disease than those who binge drink. What does that say about those of us who do see life as being worship and worship a bit each day? Are we more likely to get sclerosis of the soul?

  6. Miriworm says:

    Quite a few do both and they all end up slain in the spirit! :-)

  7. Kim says:

    These look like the same people to me….

  8. Robb says:

    So worship is bad?

  9. Pat says:

    Will @4, I agree; maybe it all goes back to what we understand ‘worship’ to be – what is ‘giving glory to God’ all about?

  10. Pingback: Lobpreisgelage « lobpreiser.blog

  11. beatthedrum says:

    Darn im a binge worshipper and a daily worshiper…. im going to come a cropper!

    http://www.beatthedrum.wordpress.com

  12. jonbirch says:

    how many ‘units’ do you reckon you consume then, beatthedrum? ;-)

  13. James says:

    We actually have a bar in the building we use for Church. It is only run as a coffee bar on a Sunday evening (our service time). But occasionally we all look like the first on a Saturday night when someone is having a party to go back on a Sunday evening. Though quite whether we actually look like that on a Sunday evening I’m not so sure.

  14. subo says:

    thats a sharp one Jon, I’m glad it’s possible to have a great time with a fine bottle of wine (or other intoxicating concocktailations), and too to have a fab time worshiping.

    I do though recognise, though, the ‘binge worship behaviour’. and think a similar rule might apply from alcohol reduction advise, “ask other people what your like when you’ve been drinking, if you’ve become boring or embarrassing, maybe its time to cut back a bit”

  15. Dorothy says:

    Regarding your comment, Will, about how we can get more people to interact on Sunday like they do on Friday night:

    Being invited to small groups that for Sunday school together and also being invited to go to lunch after church seems to help interaction.

  16. beatthedrum says:

    A couple of units most days monday to friday in private (a secret drinker)

    Then more on a Wednesday night (party time sorry praise and worship at my church)

    And even more on a sunday morning (Early morning drinking!)

    And if you add to that trying to lead my life worshiping God in my lifestlye and choices and conversation then even more

    (speaking of worship ive just put up a great youtube vid on my blog… Tim Hughes “Greatest Day in History – Happy Day) which is meshed into clips from happy feet and LotR)

    http://www.beatthedrum.wordpress.com

  17. Kayte says:

    Maybe God likes it when we we fill our lives with praise and worhsip, and binge on telling him he’s amazing?

  18. beatthedrum says:

    Nice way of putting it Kayte!

  19. HisGal says:

    One of my favourite songs as well, BeatTheDrum!
    Magnificent POWERFUL lyrics. Really gets you in tune with the true Easter spirit..especially with all the ridiculous Easterbunnies, -eggs etc.etc. all around us these days.. ;-)

    Also just watched the video on your blog; FABS too; thnx!

  20. beatthedrum says:

    My pleasure HisGal, I think it sums up how I feel about Jesus and my journey in life, its a battle, but its also fun.

  21. HisGal says:

    Me too..
    It’s the Foundation, the only thing that keeps me going traveling this liferoad..we’re ‘only’ on the way Home..

    And yes, it’s a battle alright..I suddenly recall however a line I once read: “If it weren’t for the rocks in its bed, the stream would have no song..”

    Okay okay, I agree, sometimes it would be nice to not have so many rocks or perhaps not so many big ones..and yes, I also wish I would get to quieter water sometimes, but still..somehow I find it to be true that people WITH rocks (read: challenges) have so much more to give and share and are often far more ‘interesting’ to be around, than those without any..;-)

  22. femaleanon says:

    that is brilliant!!!!

  23. Laura says:

    We have church on Friday night, so this is pretty funny to me.

  24. Linus says:

    “What makes you think I want all your sacrifices?”
    says the Lord.
    “I am sick of your burnt offerings of rams
    and the fat of fattened cattle.

    I get no pleasure from the blood
    of bulls and lambs and goats.
    When you come to worship me,
    who asked you to parade through my courts with all your ceremony?
    Stop bringing me your meaningless gifts;
    the incense of your offerings disgusts me!
    As for your celebrations of the new moon and the Sabbath
    and your special days for fasting—
    they are all sinful and false.
    I want no more of your pious meetings.
    I hate your new moon celebrations and your annual festivals.
    They are a burden to me. I cannot stand them!
    When you lift up your hands in prayer, I will not look.
    Though you offer many prayers, I will not listen,
    for your hands are covered with the blood of innocent victims.
    Wash yourselves and be clean!
    Get your sins out of my sight.
    Give up your evil ways.
    Learn to do good.
    Seek justice.
    Help the oppressed.
    Defend the cause of orphans.
    Fight for the rights of widows.

    “Come now, let’s settle this,”
    says the Lord.
    “Though your sins are like scarlet,
    I will make them as white as snow.
    Though they are red like crimson,
    I will make them as white as wool.
    If you will only obey me,
    you will have plenty to eat.
    But if you turn away and refuse to listen,
    you will be devoured by the sword of your enemies.
    I, the Lord, have spoken!”

  25. subo says:

    cheers beatthedrum, I just love that happy days clip. you’ve completly won me over to worship rock

    – it was a bit weird though, watching the clip, and then coming back to read Linus’s quote, which some how had arrived just as I flicked back to asbo. it really made me think, it’s not passionate, heart felt, worship that bugs me, it’s that feeling that somethings going down about smugness, or indifference to others, or something. (that thing churches do, about deciding who’s got ‘it’, and who aint) Sometimes people are blasting away, full pelt, and yet a chill drifts across. church can be the coldest place in the world, or full of love, there aint no middle ground.

  26. Linus says:

    sorry, yeah, quoting that wasn’t a response to that song or anything. Just a response to the topic from where i’m at with it.

    For what its worth, i quite like “greatest day”. Most drummers do, i’d imagine =]

    Subo, try playing in the band and watching people “blasting away” and feeling total disconnect whilst you play the song they are singing. It is really odd. You are right there ain’t no middle ground. Which is good, cos God doesn’t care for lukewarm muchly.

  27. beckyG says:

    This reminds me of the time I was a chalice bearer for Easter – we had to consumer ALL the leftover wine after each service – and we drank it rather quickly. I was plastered after three services.

  28. Hazel says:

    I found this so funny. It’s so where I’m at. Can’t be bothered with the “look at us, we’re so trendy” church and all the shouty songs. And incidentally, I do not like Happy Day!

  29. youthworkerpete says:

    One of my favourite ever ASBOs, and true on so many levels!

    Although, #28, I’m pretty sure even contemplative/alternative/emergent worshippers can save up all their worshipping power for their fortnightly chillax with God – I don’t think this particular post is getting at one tradition in particular.

  30. jonbirch says:

    thanks youthworkerpete… yup, i’m indiscriminately having a pop at everyone anyone this may apply to. :-)

  31. Hazel says:

    To #29, I do agree it’s not intended to “get at” any one tradition in particular and didn’t intend to imply that it was, but that was my personal interpretation which which was what amused me and was very much my personal rant!

  32. jonbirch says:

    glad it amused you, hazel. it amused me too. :-)

  33. Doug Chaplin says:

    A very big thank you for this bit of subversive genius

  34. JF says:

    Reminds me of our evening at Bath City Church, Jon. This made me look up the Revival Fire thing and Todd Bentley to see what had happened to that. Imagine my surprise…

  35. jonbirch says:

    jf… hahahahaha! you’re very naughty. ;-)

  36. jonbirch says:

    doug… great surname. any relation to the great sir charles? thanks for the compliment. :-)

  37. beckyG says:

    In some US “Emergent Church” circles, one can go to a bar/pub for a religionless Christianity experience – so you can get wasted and worship … bring on the biblical buzz …

  38. andyp says:

    I’m more concerned that none of them seem to have changed their clothes for 36 hours…..

  39. beatthedrum says:

    Didnt know you were a drummer as well Subo……

  40. beckyG says:

    38. My point exactly – just like in college the philosophy pub went on and on and on … until all involved passed out.

  41. Lewis says:

    Reminds me of Soul Survivor.

  42. Caroline Too says:

    following the advice of beatthedrum and Hisgal, I found Tim Hughes and Happy Day on you tube…

    sorry, but

    I found it disappointing

    what gets to me about modern worship songs is that they’re all
    in the past tense, every thing is complete…

    ok ok, I know the scriptures; I’ve read I Peter as well and

    yes, I know that the cross is crucial to my faith and to the
    destruction of that spoils this world, but

    and this is a big BUT for me

    it seems to me that current worship songs give the impression
    that the hard work is all done, but

    as Paul noted, there is a sense that we have to compete Jesus’
    crucifixion in our own lives, holiness doesn’t come in one
    whoossshhh, with a torrent of the Holy Spirit (we all hoped that
    would be the case in the seventies, and my life seems to be
    evidence that it doesn’t go that way….)

    I would like more worship songs that centre Jesus but also centre
    Him from the ongoing, difficult walk that is my Christian
    pilgrimage, otherwise the worship is just fooling people that a few
    moments of intensity of feeling captures a depth of God’s life…

    I think that’s the difference between binge worship and a life
    or sacrifice of worship…

  43. beatthedrum says:

    “Though I walk upon ground that is rugged and uneven….”

    “… there’s pain in the offering…”

    http://www.beatthedrum.wordpress.com

  44. beatthedrum says:

    Again i agree and disagree with Caroline #42

    I like to binge worship at times, just drink in the presence of God and give him my all, in singing, dancing, shouting, quiet, sitting, on my knees, face down, standing…. because He is amazing and it is finished. I am free, I am saved, I am rescued becasue of a past event, but in God it is current today as well.

    But then there are also times when i want tell him how hard it is, how im struggling, how lonely i feel, when times are tough, when people are after me etc

    Is it me or does that sound like the example of a song book we have.. oh yes its Psalms.

    http://www.beatthedrum.wordpress.com

  45. Linus says:

    CT, agree very much with your point that our worship should express the whole of our heart to God, not just the well-adjusted shiny happy bits. It was a priveledge to hang out with my church community yesterday morning as we acknowledged that sometimes its tough going, but God is still here.

    To be fair, no one worship song is going to express the whole gamut of human emotion. That’s why there should be variety in the acts of worship that we come together to engage with God through. I think “Happy Day” is a good way to express one set of human emotions to God. In fairness to Tim Hughes, he is responsible for songs which can help to express very different sets of emotions, too.

    One more thing. Genuine worship results in transformed hearts. Transformed hearts act differently. Genuine worship produces change.

  46. Bo says:

    Nothing wrong with a good binge worship session.

  47. Pingback: MT Notes March/April 2009 « Southside Music Team

Leave a Reply

