764

blogging

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 764

  1. Hurtful Goat says:

    Amen! :P

  2. Forrest says:

    Lately seen so many examples of that used badly to tear down others.

    They will develop an identity of you by your words.
    Your words will be who you are.

  3. Caroline Too says:

    ooops!
    :-)

    see you at Greenbelt unknown Jon! :-)

  4. Carole says:

    The trouble is, if you do the blog thing properly, you engage in the conversation, you don’t just chuck the odd anonymous hand grenade in (the fruit bowl? plagiarism rules, OK ;) ) and run away. Then you become known anyway. Even so you have to be careful with the written word – we forget how much facial expressions and tone of voice assist us in getting the subtle nuances of our message across. Emoticons have their uses :)

  5. marcus says:

    crap been rumbled!

  6. subo says:

    happy blogging

  7. Lewis says:

    PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES PIES are nice.
    And freedom is a beautiful thing.

  8. Forrest says:

    Since nobody knows me on this blog and I can say anything I want:

    the cat’s crying for me to come play
    huge pile of laundry I don’t want to do
    my glasses need cleaning
    got sunburned kite flying the other day
    wife got her stitches out of her toes there’s a picture here:
    http://bubbybird.blogspot.com/2009/07/this-last-week.html
    I over ate last night – pigged on pizza and chocolate donuts
    that grape soda by the company making Orange Crush is great!
    and the red-orange ball of the sun is just above a strip of clouds on the eastern horizon

  9. Kim says:

    Love it Forrest!

  10. miriworm says:

    Yep

    Turple The Green Waterhog

  11. subo says:

    the freedom to blog’s great, I love getting to know what people are thinking about, it feels weird now to sit in a worship service where people can’t say anything

  12. jonbirch says:

    I HATE ASBO JESUS AND EVERYTHING IT STANDS FOR! I AM VERY ANGRY ABOUT ALL THE CARTOONS AND AS FOR THE COMMENTS, WELL, THEY MAKE ME SPIT FEATHERS. HAVEN’T YOU ALL GOT ANYTHING BETTER TO DO THAN JUST SIT AROUND AT YOUR COMPUTERS COMPLAINING ABOUT EVERYTHING! YOU MAKE ME MAD! MAD, MAD, MAD!!! I’M OFF TO TAKE A COLD SHOWER AND CALM DOWN!
    YOURS, MR ANGRY.

  13. jonbirch says:

    mr angry @ 13…
    you are clearly an idiot! it’s obvious!
    mr. grumpy

  14. jonbirch says:

    MR GRUMPY @ 14,
    SHUT YOUR FACE AND GET OVER YOURSELF!
    I’M OFF… LOSERS!
    YOURS, MR ANGRY.

  15. jonbirch says:

    thanks to you all for not being like mr. angry and mr. grumpy… well not often anyway. :-) thanks for your thoughtful comments and conversation over the years. you’re a fine bunch.
    an appreciative jon.

  16. Forrest says:

    Sounds like Mssrs. 13, 14, 15, need to get outside and go fly a kite.
    Or something. ;-)

    Now what this anonymous blogger has going is a cardboard and balsa pond yacht with lacquer drying on its keel.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/dwm440/sets/72157621806341180/

    See y’all later, gotta go watch paint dry.

  17. jonbirch says:

    WHAT!!!? AND GET SUNBURN!!!?
    YOURS, MR ANGRY.

    BTW. THE COLD SHOWER DIDN’T HELP!
    ;-)

  18. Forrest says:

    “WHAT!!!? AND GET SUNBURN!!!?”
    do as I say and not as I do

  19. becky says:

    I actually feel sorry for people like Mr. Angry who feel so filled with rage that they only way they can express themselves is to go on a blog and take a colossal whiz on the world. Mr. Grumpy just needs a hug cause he reminds me a bit of me on a really crappy day. ;-)

    What really gets me are those who use the anonymous nature of the internet to spew forth venom. A lot of rumors (e.g., Obama isn’t an American, 9/11 was an inside job) become pseudo-fact through these means when before you know it urban legend becomes assumed to be fact because folks saw it enough times in print.

    And while Jon does NOT do this at ALL (need to make this crystal clear), I really get annoyed by bloggers who use their blog as a bully pulpit – they issue forth provocative material that’s clearly designed to generate traffic rather than create community. And then they often refuse to engage with those commenting on the blog (or worse, they close off the comment sections). As my grandma used to tell me, “don’t dish it out if you can’t take it.” I see this all the time with a some emerging/emergent/emergence blogs – if you dare to differ, you’re slammed to smithereens.

    And then it’s a bit sleazy is when the blogger runs a site paid for by his publisher – then you have to wade through pingbacks and other junk – and often the site takes on a rather sleazy commercial tone like you’re there not for community but to help sell someone’s product.

    Again, Jon is the antithesis of all this – thank God! ;-)

  20. Robb says:

    That is pretty much what I was getting at when I posted the Mitchell and Webb clip at the bottom of 759.

    It’s like strangers having contempt for you but on your phone!”

  21. Laura says:

    Jon,
    I recognize those people ;-)

  22. Tiggy says:

    The thing is…you’re not anonymous on blogs because if you use your real name, then people can sometimes come across you on there who know you.

    Someone at my church whom I don’t know suddenly asked me how I knew Jon Birch. I was rather taken aback to think she’d been reading stuff I’d put on Facebook. It’s alarming when your worlds suddenly collide. When I’m posting on Facebook I’m conscious that two of my church leaders are able to read everything I put, but you can’t let that stop you being you or making dirty jokes or whatever. That way madness lies!

  23. dadube says:

    Tiggy that is precisely the reason why I don’t have a facebook account! Far too many skeletons – lol! It would be so much easier to keep in contact with people that way but I just don’t want to go down that route.
    But yeah, there is always a risk about not being anonymous on blogs. I don’t use my actual name on here but its my picture, and I’ve laid myself bare on some occasions, and one cartoon in particular. I trust jon with my life and feel comfortable here in the asbo community, but there is always the risk that other people could misuse your comments….

  24. Tiggy says:

    I suppose that only matters if you’ve got something to lose. I don’t really have a reputation to keep up. I don’t really care if I shock the Christians I happen to know and I’m proud to be a natural born heretic!

  25. Its interesting to note how everyone has read into the cartoon that this person is going to write negative things about other people. The learned performance activist/educator Peterson Toscano visited my city recently, and it his reflection on this was interesting: he meets people who say they’re gay and they’re out to lots of people, and then it turns out that they’re only open to people they know online, which creates a sort of Narnia-esque illusion, where they feel liberated despite pressing harder and harder into the closet.

    In short, I think this goes both ways, with people using the internet as a way of not telling those around them offline who they really are, being more real with their online community than their offline community. For some this is a necessary tragedy, but not for all.

  26. Tiggy says:

    I didn’t assume that the person was going to write negative things about other people – it never occurred to me. I just thought he was going to feel free to write whatever he wanted about life, the universe and everything.

    Sometimes it’s easier to say things online rather than out loud, even if it’s to the same person. I’ve had times when I’ve been with someone and not felt able to say something because of embarassment and sat and written it down in front of them and then passed the paper to them.

    I also had to do this when I lost my voice – which my doctor found highly amusing.

  27. Forrest says:

    Re: #26 “Its interesting to note how everyone has read into the cartoon that this person is going to write negative things about other people. ”

    For me it came from that in the 2 blogs I had just come from 2 threads of interest turned out to have exactly that and it was still strong in my head.
    Personal attacks abound in the comments on this apserger’s centered blog entry
    http://lastcrazyhorn.wordpress.com/2009/05/11/death-threats-on-ari-neeman/

    And the on the Asperger’s Syndrome itself had come across quite a bit of negativity toward ‘normal’ people and then paradoxically same people expressing same toward other individuals on the board.
    Was rather taken aback by it.
    And rather annoyed about it.
    So that annoyance ended up expressed here.
    Looking at some other threads found same authors saying negative things – tells about how their life is going. Maybe tells even more about their outlook and soul.
    Permanently? Just at this time?
    Do hope just for this time.

    I have 2 blogs and wife Kathy has one. Except about a behavior, I don’t say negative things about other people: have said some negative editorial about society at large.
    Mostly tell about things of interest or write my thoughts and feelings.

  28. Forrest says:

    Fix:
    “And the on the Asperger’s Syndrome website itself http://www.wrongplanet.net/ had come across . . . “

  29. JF says:

    Is it me or does almost every single YouTube video have a comments thread that just goes completely off the rails! In fact I have a perverse appreciation of it and sometimes enjoy this more than the video itself! There should be a YouTube bingo game, where you score points for posting a video which ends up attracting comments including a) sexism, b) racism / nationalistic supremacism / groundless citation of national stereotypes, c) critique of others’ spelling, d) a post entirely in block capitals, e) unprovoked verbal assault and f) sexual suggestion.

  30. dadube says:

    lol JF – you are totally on the nail about that! I was trying to show some youtube clips to my year 10′s about John Paul II and the comments section was outrageous.

  31. JF says:

    Dadube – you shouldn’t be showing that stuff to kids anyway :-)

  32. Forrest says:

    JF, have also found it in comments sections on news articles in AOL.

    I wonder how many of these posters are over 15.
    I wonder how many are sober.

    I think it is the generally base nature of people.
    Just like math fractions, humanity “resolved to the lowest common denominator”

Leave a Reply

