769

alwayswrong

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to 769

  1. doctor ruth says:

    Hurray, I’m the first!

    I’ve never found it hard to always be right… Just ask my husband!

  2. miriworm says:

    Wise move – it’s a lot easier.

  3. miriworm says:

    On the other hand if your always being wrong then you can’t be! :-D

  4. Pat says:

    Or you could aim for a happy medium maybe? :-)

  5. Robb says:

    Why ask me? Dr Ruth knows everything…

  6. Tiggy Sagar says:

    I always teach my friends the mantra, ‘Tiggy’s always right’ because I usually am – and they have to admit it, eventually. I will freely admit when I’m wrong, but that’s rarely. :-)

  7. subo says:

    too true, it’s hard to work out whats right

  8. Forrest says:

    Sorry dude, the laws of probability say you’re going to be right sometimes.
    But then, relatively speaking, you’re still wrong, because the intent was to be wrong but you got it right, which turns out wrong relative to your stated goal.

  9. It’s ok to think that you are right as long as you admit there is a chance, no matter how small, that you are wrong.

  10. rockingrev says:

    But Nathan, those people who think they are right annoy those of us who know they are! But seriously isn’t it simply a case of having a bit of humility, of putting forth your opinion knowing that it is just that an opinion and not presuming that you are infallible.

  11. subo says:

    after considerable thought (and squirming), I accept you are absolutely, totally and always right.

  12. subo says:

    It’s been interesting reflecting on this one, and listening to how much I defer to others view points

    I come from a family with a long history of promoting a single view point, supporting the dominating parties, and using any foul means to maintain control

    needless to say, there’s also a fair amount of emotional distress, depression and schizophrenia

    now I’m slowly learning to value my own views and take care of my own feelings, and trying to let go of the hurts and mental bruises

  13. I think one of the best values I learnt was to value the opinion of others. It has helped me in family, church, friendships, work.

    But I also believe there is a time to be firm in what you think and act on it in the face of opposition. But always with love and humility.

  14. Caroline Too says:

    I’m find that I’m increasingly avoiding conversations where there is a right or wrong answer.

  15. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Ethically or logically?

    Would you avoid the question, ‘Have you finished in the bathroom?’

  16. Miriworm says:

    Gret to know your ALL wrong! :-D

  17. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Allow me to correct that sentence.

    ‘Great to know you’re all wrong.’

    Tiggy – always right. ;-)

  18. James says:

    I have a friend who is always right – even when he is wrong and you can prove him wrong – his still thinks hi is right (something to do with being unable to admit failure I think).

    I like to be right, nad I will argue my point – but if someone can show I am wrong I will admit it. I also go for compromise.

    However I will often look things up to prove to myself I am right :p

    I am starting to realise I am wrong at times to have this way of thinking and doing things. I shouldn’t feel the need to be right over other people all the time.

  19. Tiggy Sagar says:

    I would not be right about sums, though I did once work out a pizza bill intuitively and got it right.

    There are lots of things I wouldn’t be right about, but then I wouldn’t say I’m right about those. I only claim to be right when I know I am in my own intuitve way.

  20. theseoldshades says:

    Caroline Too: I sometimes find I miss my Biology A Level where there was right and wrong answers! So often in my degree (Philosophy/English) there isn’t a right or wrong!

    I do enjoy that as well though, it has really opened my mind to all the different shades of grey and I think that has helped me think about other areas of my life very differently from theology to arguments with my friends.

  21. Right and wrong are both thoroughly overrated. ‘I don’t know’ is always the much more interesting option.

  22. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Paradox is more interesting still.

  23. Pat says:

    I agree Tiggy.

    Theseoldshades @20 :-D

  24. Tiggy Sagar says:

    How do I put a picture on here instead of having a green box?

  25. subo says:

    easy Tiggy, if you register with wordpress and set up a blogg, there’s a space for your pic, which you can change around as suits

  26. beckyg says:

    I signed up for a global avatar (http://en.gravatar.com/) as I was posting an article on The Jesus manifesto (a cool site BTW) and next time I logged into ASBO Jesus and a few other places, this sucker just appeared).

  27. Tiggy Sagar says:

    That man in the cartoon is just a pencil in clothes!

    I’m so bored – Jon hasn’t changed the cartoon in days and my other bloggist is on holiday.

    I went to the pub tonight and they were all young enough to be my children and the two men I fancied were probably gay. What’s new?

  28. subo says:

    man is just a pencil in clothes?

    I don’t know Tiggy, there’s no answer to that

  29. Lee says:

    i’ve never been a fan of false humility

  30. bubbybird says:

    I feel this way some now days…..it seems that for me the older I get the harder it is to trust God for and with things. I’ve been in church all of my life literally until the last few years. I still talk to God and He with me all the time and deep in my heart and belief I know He is there and will continue to be there for me.
    I’m going through some changes where I am having to give up control of the things I have been the one responsible to get them done and turn them over to others for help. I am having more and more trouble with the fear of the unknown……like how is this going to turn out if I’m not the one doing it any more. I can say I’m giving it all to God to take care of but there is this doubt that keeps coming in there. I hate getting older!!

  31. Dave says:

    It’s so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and say the opposite. Sam Leveson

    It’s so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and say nothing. Sam Leveson

    dave

  32. Tiggy Sagar says:

    LOL Not man generally, Subo, just the one in the cartoon! I don’t see men as pencils – that would be…weird. And I’m not weird of course. :-)

    I don’t want to get old either. I think I’ll bail out before then. I don’t want a colostomy handbag, but maybe medical stuff will have gotten better by then. When I was younger I wanted to be old and wise, but now I would rather be young and silly – I tired of intensity.

  33. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Wow, looks like Jon DID explode at that wedding!

  34. Dave says:

    I was at ‘said wedding’ with him and he sang like an angel or is that angle!! Amazing Grace – not a dry eye in the building. Mind you we did have a few real ales after – perhaps he is still in recovery! davex

  35. jonbirch says:

    still alive! :-)

    cheers dave… enjoyed your talk, particularly the pig and chicken. ;-)

Leave a Reply

