apologies

apologies for lack of recent posts. been doing my nut getting proost stuff sorted for greenbelt (it’s that mad time of year again!). the good news is there’s some really great new proost stuff coming. :-)

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to apologies

  1. miriworm says:

    Apology accepted! :-D

  2. Robb says:

    Excellent news

  3. Tiggy Sagar says:

    No need to apologise – you’re normally very prolific. Wish I could go to Greenbelt, but doesn’t look like I can get a lift.

  4. jonbirch says:

    harsh! :-)
    btw… what money? :-)

  5. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Will you sing at my funeral Jon? As I’m not getting married, I might have a funeral BEFORE I die just so I can enjoy it. I want those black horses with plumes on their heads and a purple cloth like Silk-cut or Galaxy. Maybe I could get sponsorship….

  6. Catherine says:

    I love your site and I check it every few days. My husband and I are leading a new church plant here in New Zealand. We had a few issues lately with talk.
    I would love to see it have the special “Jon” treatment.
    Based on the wartime “Loose lips sink ships”, I thought you could adapt it to “loose lips sink Churches”!

    Have a great time at Greenbelt and thanks for your work. I look forward to every new installment.

  7. dubb says:

    WOOOOOOOP!

  8. Tiggy Sagar says:

    ‘Loose lips sink ships’ – never heard that one before, only ‘Careless talk costs lives’. I think the former may have been too much of a tongue-twister for most Brits. Anyway we didn’t have loose lips then, only stiff upper ones.

    It would be very nice if people in churches learned to appreciate the beauty of silence.

    ‘Poor little, talkative Christianity.’ – A Passage to India (Forster)

  9. Catherine says:

    Possibly Loose lips… was the american version. http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/237250.html

    Nonetheless, it seems “concern” in churches is a license to unfettered talk in many instances.

  10. subo says:

    all the best with your proost work, and Greenbelt, wishing you a wild time

  11. Tiggy Sagar says:

    I like juicy gossip – I won’t pretend I don’t. Somehow when I was at university, I knew all the Chaplaincy scandals before anyone else did – just by accident or people confiding in me. I didn’t spread any gossip. These were scandals about priests and nuns and priests and students and chaplains and students, so quite juicy. Also, people like Friars tend to tell me about their love affairs – but maybe they tell everyone.

  12. Laura says:

    Unfair!!
    I want to go to Greenbelt!

  13. rebecca says:

    I see that Proost are doing a session in New Forms at 10 pm on Friday — Jon, can we expect you to be there?

    If I haven’t managed to intercept with you before, there’s an all-day session in New Forms on Monday, and I’ll be there at least part of the day — probably first thing in the morning. So look out for me then.

    BTW, I’m becoming very aware that anyone following this blog who doesn’t go to Greenbelt must feel a bit left out. Sorry about that :-(, but at least the blog is bringing some of the spirit of Greenbelt to a wider audience :-).

  14. Cochleate says:

    Tiggy – you could go on the train… they run a shuttle bus from cheltenham station to the ground. I manuvered it quite easily last year.

  15. Tiggy Sagar says:

    No, I couldn’t go on the train because I wouldn’t be able to carry a tent, sleeping bag, clothes, wellies, duvet for sleeping on because I have to sleep on my front and if I’m on the hard ground there’s nowhere for my chest to go to and it hurts.

  16. rebecca says:

    Tiggy — I can’t bear this. In the past few years I’ve been absolutely prolific in the comments I’ve been sending to Greenbelt (they never acknowledge them, but they have certainly taken some of my suggestions on board), and one which I’ve been pushing hard recently is that it is a Bad Thing to restrict access to Greenbelt to people who have access to cars and the very small number of people who are able to carry their gear on public transport. I don’t have any brilliant solutions though.

    Where are you coming from? There just might be somebody reading this blog who is looking for somebody to share their costs and carbon footprint with — even if they don’t have enough space to offer you a lift, they may have enough space to carry your luggage. Having said that, I’ve never managed to get a lift, even though I come from London. (There’s a liftshare forum – see http://www.greenbelt.org.uk/transport — but I’m very reluctant to use it. I can’t assume that somebody I don’t know at all will be reliable).

    A further hint — one of my friends who brings camping gear on the train uses a large wheeled suitcase. One of my suggestions to Greenbelt which they haven’t picked up on yet is to offer left luggage storage, so that such people don’t have to keep their suitcases in their tents.

    Finally, you might find a lilo easier to carry than a duvet.

    When I give my feedback to Greenbelt this year I will make the point that they have not yet improved accessibility adequately.

  17. Tiggy Sagar says:

    Thanks, I didn’t think of taking a suitcase. I have a wheely one, but it’s not huge. I don’t know how heavy the tent is because I haven’t bought it yet, though think I’ve found a suitable one. I don’t cook there, so don’t need all that sort of stuff. I used to go in my family’s motor caravan and take a huge vat of curry, but last time I lived on ring donuts and chai.

    I used to go every year, but I’ve not been for a long time now as I’ve had no one to go with or means of getting there. I tried the liftshare site, but I couldn’t work out how to use it. I didn’t know there was a forum as well. You have to put in specific times and I’m totally flexible on time and day.

    True about the lilo, though I don’t like them to sleep on. I normally use this foam thing that folds up, but it’s still in Essex.

    Last time I went, it was a bit dispiriting because it was the first year ‘The Hothouse’ wasn’t running and I’d always been involved in helping in there and knew the people who ran it from going to College House. It was also the first year I went on my own. I miss going though. I’d been going since I was about 14 and for me it sort of marked the beginning and end of the year more than Christmas. I wanted a calendar that went from Greenbelt to Greenbelt.

Leave a Reply

