775

brainstudy

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 775

  1. Carole says:

    Exactly! And who is to say which interpetation is the right one? Lies, damned lies and statistics, eh?

    BTW, love the comb-over in picture 1! :lol:

  2. Forrest says:

    My brain research leads God to believe that occasionally, I do use mine.

  3. beatthedrum says:

    I always found Data easy to understand, Worf however was not so easy

  4. marcus says:

    the fact that I have a brain to research leads me to believe there is a God

  5. miriworm says:

    Isiah 55:8-9 “My thoughts are not like your thoughts. And your ways are not like my ways, announces the Lord. The heavens are higher than the earth. And my ways are higher than your ways. My thoughts are higher than your thoughts”.

  6. subo says:

    judging by the identical diagrams, there’s a shortage of brains to ‘research’

    would anyone be willing to come forward for the benefit of mankind?

  7. There is no data, only interpretation.

  8. beatthedrum says:

    Is that a bit like “There is no spoon”

  9. becky says:

    Here’s my overarching Q – and why I believe in God. There is a longing for me to connect to something outside of myself that doesn’t go away no matter what the Church or select Christians may do. Where did that come from? You can’t prove or disprove the existence of God – sorry Pascal. But I know it from a different place of knowing.

    The Language of God is one of the best books I’ve read on this topic.

  10. Caroline Too says:

    not, really, merely that the selection of ‘data’ is, in itself, an act of interpretation…

    my research into the ‘brain’ suggests that it’s not all it’s cracked up to be!

    (a bit of poetic licence into resarch into brain statement :-/

  11. JF says:

    “… a real possibility”?

    Spoken like a true agnostic!

  12. I like what Becky said at no.9

    My brain often feels too overloaded to think of anything tho.

  13. subo says:

    us humans don’t seem to see, our investment in ‘rationality’ and our reluctance to trust, often means we bring this kind of equation into our relationships

    someone recently sent me a personality profile she’d done on me, completed without my collaboration, it turned out to be a load of fictional theorising (the damnation of my behaviour hadn’t noticed that some of my irritation had been about some of the things she keeps on doing, as though I was protesting about being badly treated in a vacuum!) – though, subsequently, it’s been very hard to repair the relationship between us. She sent similar letters to someone else I know, and then has been surprised by their rage!, it’s as though she thinks she’s being completely rational.

    oh, sorry, getting carried away, am still pretty sore about that one, my point is ‘being objectively rational’ isn’t always the place to begin building a relationship with God

  14. JF says:

    Although only partially related to this thread, I found this article and discussion on the Times website worthy o the time it took to read it and the many pages of associated comments.

    http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/books/book_extracts/article6805656.ece

    (Sorry if there is a magical way of representing URLs that I don’t know about!)

  15. Forrest says:

    #13, “someone recently sent me a personality profile she’d done on me, completed without my collaboration,”

    subo, that’s nuts.
    Definitely the product of instability.

    Hmm . . . I wonder . . . how many times do we do the same to God?

  16. linus says:

    subo @ 6: I tried to donate my brain to science (i wasn’t using it at the time) but they sent it back. They said they couldn’t get it to work properly, it kept going off on tangents and things… speaking of which:

    CT, thanks so much for the kind words on 766. I haven’t been around much (mostly uninteresting things i’m afraid), but i’m still checkin in when i can and still think the asbo community is great. Hoping to meet some of you in person at Greenbelt this w/e. Very excited as am a complete GBelt newbie – should be lots of fun and hopefully refreshing and inspiring and all that jazz.

  17. Carole says:

    Yay! Linus – can’t wait to make your acquaintance in person. No doubt you will turn up at something Jon is involved with (like the pub!) so our paths are bound to cross at some point.

  18. Beatthedrum, there is indeed no spoon. this leaves us the eternal problem of what to do with all this soup.

  19. linus says:

    drink it straight from the bowl. obvious really.

    Carole yep likin that plan. I think there’s a good chance of me turning up at the pub….

    [leaving the pub, on the other hand...]

  20. Thats just bad manners Linus!
    How I wish I was going to GB.

Leave a Reply

