NOT A COMPETITION…

…just an opportunity to write something thoughtful if you so wish. i’ll see you next week. :-)

notacomp2

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to NOT A COMPETITION…

  1. Laura says:

    Dear God…
    Please heal my friend Mark’s eyes so he doesn’t go blind and baby Seth’s liver so he doesn’t need a transplant.
    Thanks,
    Me

  2. Dear God,
    Teach Robyn & I to love each other like you love us.
    Mwah.

  3. Kevin Harwell says:

    Healing for a neighbor’s little boy who is always sick and for her broken family.
    Thanksgiving for reconnection to old friends who are part of my healing.
    Grace and Peace.

  4. Forrest says:

    Oh Father, Kathy and I are each, and together, so discouraged, frustrated, anxious, and fearful of bad things to come in our 2 steps forward, half a mile back, lives right now.

    Also both are having quite a bit of anger directing toward you God.

    Each of our faith has taken serious damage and is currently about as shaky as a skyscraper on a foundation of toothpicks.
    Brings to my mind a wargaming combat results term “Critical Hit” where you get a hit which does generalized damage and then on top of that it does some really nasty specific damage to something you can’t afford to lose and then still live to see tomorrow.

    Kathy especially is at a place now today where she just can’t handle any more difficulty or trauma in her life or the lives of her loved ones.
    Any more loss is overload territory.

    She needs a long period of peace, tranquility in life, and grace. Years and years of it to allow recoverery from this and last year.
    So does her son Rusty.
    So do I.

    There are so, so, many factors in these events we are not the ones who decide the final disposition of the results of what led p to any given event or situation.

    Ultimately, ALL we have are the prayers of the saints and hopefully the tender mercies of
    God.

    Are they enough?

  5. miriworm says:

    God help us all.

  6. Carole says:

    Lord, I know I’m not a model daughter. You only see me when I want something…otherwise I find myself stuck for words and clockwatching. I don’t feel great about that. But, here I am again, on the scrounge. Tell you what, I won’t tell you how to do your job, I’ll just present the problems and leave it with you. I feel a real lack of self worth at the mo. My baby is really nervous about exam results. My brother-in-law is in terrible pain. A friend is critically ill and often in my thoughts. One thing I will ask is that you give me the good grace to accept your will in all things.

    How rude am I? Getting in there early with my demands without a thought for what you already do for me. Thanks for my health, for my home, for living in a country that isn’t that bad, actually; for family and friends who are so good I could eat them all! Thanks for the friends as yet unmet…deliver me from the temptation to ever get all superior over any of my fellow humans…who do I think I am? Can I put that last request on a loop? Thanks for ASBO, the thrills and spills, the laughter and tears, the intellectual debate and the gift of silliness! Love, Carole xxx

  7. rebecca says:

    Thank you for my three friends who have had babies in the last couple of weeks (one of them on Tuesday — I’ve just received a voicemail!) and one who is due this weekend.

    Expect birthday parties at Greenbelt in the future.

  8. Mike says:

    Holy Crap! When is it all gonna end??

  9. Tony says:

    Thank you that after many years of prayer, one of the men in our congregation finally decided to follow Jesus and trust his life to Him. Thank you for that light in the midst of difficult times.

  10. Father… i’m just so exhausted….

  11. subo says:

    dear lord, it’s happening again, this time it’s that asbo blog, i’m completely hooked and can’t stop looking at it

    i love the cheeky cartoons, and the irreverent comments, it’s as though i meet other people like me – on a blog

    i hooked lord, totally hooked, it’s effecting my family like, i’ve stopped going to church, help

  12. janetp says:

    God bless you, Carole, for your honesty and humility and humour. The world is so much better and nicer because you’re in it with us. :) Hope to see you and your family at Greenbelt. Love, Janet

  13. Tom says:

    Hello?

  14. Hayles says:

    Thank you.

  15. Tiggy says:

    Lord help me to wake up tomorrow morning for my lift and please sort out a lift back for me so I’m not stranded and help me not to panic too much or get hungry.

    And about the other thing – I can’t help it!

  16. cooperton says:

    “…”

    Sometimes that’s all I can pray, and I think that’s enough.

  17. Tokah says:

    Lord, why am I so blessed? Why was I born in a rich country with all the food I could eat, a clean water system, and a stable government? Why have I always been housed when so many go homeless? Why did you move my heart towards you, and intercede so greatly in my life, but not in the lives of my friends?

    And most of all… with all that blessing, what am I supposed to be DOING with it?

    Tok

  18. frauscharff says:

    *silence*

    …listening to what God has to say.

  19. Teus says:

    “Please tell me what to do today and tell me which decisions I should make. And please tell me what to pray…”
    – ‘Holy passivity’

    I’m reading Kevin DeYoungs ‘Just do something’ so this came to my mind. :)

  20. rockingrev says:

    On a lighter note, I pray for the folks at Greenbelt that the loos are better than they were 20 years ago!

  21. theseoldshades says:

    Lord, I pray for safe journeys and good beginnings for friends who are moving abroad, and for comfort for those who remain behind.

    Hope you’re all having fun at Greenbelt! :)

  22. Forrest says:

    Given what’s happening, maybe I should quit my faith and deny God in front of everyone I can.

    No, I won’t tell more about what’s happening.

    There is this line in the Bible about how God won’t give us anymore than we can handle – well, too late, it’s happened.

    Oh, wait, it’s always my fault, God is faultless!

  23. subo says:

    Hi Forrest, sorry.

    and we are made in the image of God

  24. Forrest says:

    what are some things to do when you’re disabbointed, discouraged, heartbroken, and hope wastes away like a river in a drought?

    I live along a river, have seen it in flood, have seen it low to where our water tastes like dirt.

    My hope is low as dirt, will it come back up like the river has?
    Has, so far.
    Is there a time it won’t ever come back up?
    Is that my hope this time?

    I don’t know what to do – things are empty, people are empty, I am empty.

  25. jonbirch says:

    thinking of you, forrest. x

  26. Ben says:

    Forrest: praying for you.

    In ancient times there was a broken, deserted, heartbroken man. His cry:

    “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?..”

    morning will come.

  27. Allatsea says:

    Jesus
    I want to relate with less fear/expectation of humiliation, rejection or abandonment
    I want to feel less broken when other people misunderstand me or disapprove of my faith or reason
    I want to be a more consistent person that incorporates more fragments of my self more of the time
    On a practical level, I want to know if Emma is my life partner and I want children one way or the other
    But it is up to you xxx

  28. Forrest says:

    There’s a thing going where I need to be on the receiving end of an act of boundless grace and amazing mercy.

  29. Lee says:

    why do you need to be on the ‘receiving end’, forrest? try giving?

  30. Kim says:

    I’m a bit sad as I feel some frustration at seeing the downside of this virtual community. If we all knew one another and lived nearby, we’d be able to go and see forrest and his wife, take cake, make tea, fly kites and share hugs together. it might not change the level of that river or take away the causes of the pain but at least we’d all be there together upholding each other. forgive me for the sentimentality, its how i am.

  31. beatthedrum says:

    “I wish i had some laxatives!”

  32. Forrest says:

    Lee, shut up, you don’t know shit about what’s going on.

  33. jonbirch says:

    that’s what i’ll be routing for then, forrest… boundless grace and amazing mercy. :-)

  34. jonbirch says:

    lee… sometimes in life i really do need to be the recipient of grace and mercy, simple as that. doesn’t stop me giving it. forrest’s gracious, merciful self has often been seen commenting here. i hope when you need to be shown grace and mercy it will be forthcoming towards you too.

    beatthedrum… do something that scares you, that should do the trick. :-)

  35. Pat says:

    “When there is nothing but ending and death –
    remind me that new life began in a graveyard”

  36. Steve Lancaster says:

    “…Stick it to me, God!”

  37. beatthedrum says:

    wow you can pray in morse code as well!

  38. Robb says:

    dot dot dot dash dash dash dot dot dot

  39. Carole says:

    Well…they do the flag thing in church so I suppose you must be able to pray in semaphore…why not morse code? ;)

  40. Kayte says:

    Forrest, wish i could say something that would help or make a difference. Am not sure if prayer helps or not, but am willing to give it a go. In the meantime, virtual hugs, and virtual cups of tea. Sometimes you just need to keep breathing, and get through. K x

  41. Steve Lancaster says:

    Always wondered what the flag thing was about. And circle dancing, too: what’s that then?

    But learnt at GB this year that you can pray by rearranging little bits of stone and sea-shell, or counting ceiling tiles, so the flag thing shouldn’t worry me that much.

    Can you pray using ventriloquism, or is that too leftfield?

  42. crazykites says:

    Wellll Steve, I learned yonks ago in these very pages that the flags are supposed to represent angels’ wings. I still don’t really get it, though. I prayed by weaving bits of wool at GB this year.

    Ventriloquism….interesting…

    “Bless me Father, for I have sinned,”
    “Get in the box”
    “I don’t wanna get in the box, anyway, it’s called a confessional.”

    Yep, could come in handy in our dwindling Catholic parishes…perhaps I’ll request a ventriloquist priest at my funeral, just to add interest. ;)

  43. Robb says:

    Steve – people have been doing prayers with kids using puppets for years.

  44. janetp says:

    I know it’s not much, but I’m thinking of you, Forrest. And thank you for the beautiful and unique gift of yourself that you share so generously with us all here at ASBO. Your openness and willingness to be vulnerable is humbling and moving. Hang on in there….

  45. Paul says:

    THAAAAANK YOOOOOUUUU!

  46. johnnyonthespot says:

    Stay strong, Forrest. I can’t imagine your pain, nor do I delude myself into thinking that I can understand the exact nature of the situation which you and your wife find yourselves in.

    But I can say this: I am here for you. For whatever value there is to having a shoulder to cry on or a friendly message or piece of advice to read, I am here. We are here.

    My thoughts, my heart, and of course, my prayers are with you.

    Yours,

    Uncle Johnny

  47. bubbybird says:

    Well as Forrest my other half has already told ya all He and I are about to the end of our ropes right now. I was hoping and praying that with the new month things would change but so far it is the same!! I just had a wonderful morning with apparently having gotten something that is going thru the building here ……that and stress just make things worse so have spent my morning eating only toast and drinking tea and will prob continue that most of the day.

    I do ask you all to join with us asking God for a stckable washer and dryer as that would lift a major stress off us both. With health problems on both of us it is getting next to impossible for us to get to the laundry mat these days. I have a place for a stackable set here in the apartment. God says we have not because we ask not……is this one of those things that are proper for that phrase? Not even sure any more…….so down in my faith but listening to my music and rejoicing as much as I can!!

    Thanks all for the prayers and thoughts !!
    Kathy

  48. theseoldshades says:

    Kathy: Have you tried Freecycle for washing machine/dryer? Not sure whereabout you are but they seems to come up quite often on the Cardiff group so might be worth a look:

    http://www.uk.freecycle.org/

  49. Kim says:

    They are in the US.

  50. Laura says:

    Dear God,
    Thanks! for taking care of both Mark’s eyes and helping Seth get a liver.
    I appreciate it…

    Me

Leave a Reply

