PROOST & GREENBELT

dubh&dubb

PROOST…

i hope you don’t mind, but i feel the need to plug a couple of album projects that i am particularly in love with which i have had a role in.

first up is DUBH, ‘FRACTURED, BROKEN & BEAUTIFUL’. this is a solo album of beautiful instumentals from my friend JONNY MCEWEN. jonny is part of the ikon community in belfast. a few weeks ago he came over to the west country to spend time with me getting final mixes sorted. the album’s title sums it up perfectly, for that’s exactly how it sounds. i don’t know what comparisons to make, it is so much it’s own thing. broken and glitched samples mix with warm textures and bits of melody and warm ambience. it’s original, thoughtful, lovely and i highly recommend it. 18 track album, just £6.99 from PROOST.

second up (only because it’s a newer release) is DUBB, ‘RHYTHM AND POETRY’. i am really proud of this record as it is the first by my wonderful godson HARRY BAKER and i got to produce it for him. the poetry of his rap takes your breath away, full of clever tongue twisters and neat rhymes… one minute you’re laughing, the next you’re thinking. over 9 tracks he covers so much ground, from the schoolyard to the environment and from being yourself to an amazing track about lego (“if only lifes problems were as easy to fix as my lego models”). behind the rap much of the beats are the mind-bending work of human-beatboxer extraordinaire, TYTE. producing these tracks was a joy, listening back to it is more so. 9 track album, just £4.99 from PROOST.

BTW. AN IMPORTANT NOTICE. A FREE TRACK FROM EACH OF THESE ALBUMS + OTHER FREE STUFF IS AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD AT… proost.co.uk/freebies

GREENBELT…

well then. it’s that greenbelt time of year again. here’s where PROOST (and therefore, i) will be.

FRIDAY 10pm. venue NEW FORMS. ‘PROOST UNUSUAL SUSPECTS’. a chance to see and listen to the work of new artistic talent. authors, musicians and film makers.

SATURDAY 9pm. venue THE HUB. ‘PROOST LOUNGE’. some of the musical artists involved with proost will be performing sets of twenty minutes… expect rap, chillout, human beatbox (from special guest TYTE) and guitars… a veritable smorgasbord for your delight and delectation.

SUNDAY 3pm. venue CMS TENT.  ‘PROOST MAKING MOVIES’. i’ll be chatting with and we’ll be looking at movies by ANDI MAC, JOEL BAKER and ex beeb/itv cleverbod MARK WADDINGTON. not only are these guys work beautiful and thought provoking they’ll all be on hand to answer questions. if you are a budding short film maker or you know someone who is, this should be an encouraging session.

SUNDAY 8.30. venue TINY TEA TENT. ‘SPONTANEOUS WORSHIP’… although, clearly not that spontaneous as i (and now you) already know about it. off the cuff (hehe) contributions from DUBB and HARRONELL.

Please, if you are an asbo’er, do say ‘hello’. chances are i shall be wandering to the beer tent when proost events are done. :-)

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to PROOST & GREENBELT

  1. Pat says:

    Just to say i really enjoyed hearing the stuff from both DUHB and DUBB in the Proost Lounge at GB – and this from someone who doesn’t normally listen to either of these genres. So, i reckon I’ll shortly be creating an ‘ASBO-expanded-Horizons’ Playlist on my MP3 player where they can take up residence alongside Nick Cave :lol:

  2. jonbirch says:

    nice one, pat! thanks for the encouragement. it was great to meet you. ;-)

  3. crazykites says:

    I’d like to recommend Dust…you can eat as much dust as you like…

  4. rebecca says:

    I’ve had a great time at Greenbelt except for one thing — I didn’t manage to intercept with Jon (despite receiving graphic descriptions of him (Jonny Baker tall, looks like Gandalf, always carries a rollup…))

    You’ll have to attend a Grace service sometime, and then we can meet face-to-face. Just be warned that you’re not the most popular person in the world at Grace, due to the incident at Greenbelt last year!

  5. Pat says:

    Thanx Jon – good to meet you too. I’m enjoying my purchases – wish all sites were as easy to buy and download from as Proost :-)

  6. jonbirch says:

    wow! pat, i’m glad it was a painless experience and the purchases worthwhile. :-)

    rebecca… hahahahahaha!!! :lol: bunch of grace softies! i don’t know… really. :lol: they’re using a track of mine on their next album, so i guess i’m forgiven. :-) at least i didn’t start a fire and endanger lives, now that would have been naughty. joel and harry and their posse chose to camp with us, so i guess that means we’re more ‘down wiv da yoof.’ :-) would love to have met you… it’s thrilling meeting my asbo chums and i’m so grateful to you for bothering to hang out here. ;-) x

  7. Pat says:

    Jon – surely you shouldn’t sound so surprised about either of those :-P

  8. Tiggy says:

    The Proost sessions were very enjoyable, but most especially Ian Archer (was he a Proost person?) and Harry Baker who’s converted me to rap. As I spent the whole of Greenbelt being dense and confused, I didn’t realise till the end that he was Johnny Baker’s son. I also didn’t realise that Jenny Baker, whom I was trying to see to say hello to, was John’s wife and had been standing right next to me! There was a weird guy there who I think was Jon Birch, but I DIDN’T GET A HUG! Oh well, had a fantastic time anyway.

  9. Carole says:

    Hahaha! Oh! Dear Tiggy, he will no doubt correct me if I am wrong, but I rather suspect that that weird guy didn’t realise you were Tiggy else you most certainly would have got a hug. It was lovely to meet you, albeit briefly, and I’m glad all the confusion didn’t stop you having a great time! xx

  10. rebecca says:

    A bit of light relief while we are waiting for Jon to produce another cartoon:

    At a recent concert a choir I am in performed a song entitled “Drinking Song”, which included the following line:
    But sure I think that I can drink with him that wears a hood.

    (The original quotation can be found here: http://bartleby.com/100/119.html )

    When I first heard this I associated “him that wears a hood” with the Grim Reaper, but on second thoughts I thought of another possibility — our very own Jon Birch!

  11. Carole says:

    Well, Rebecca…being cursed with a vulgar mind, I thought of something entirely different, although I don’t know the context of the quote. Upon further investigation I discover that it is from a 16th Century farce. This does not allay my fears.

  12. Carole says:

    Update – him that wears the hood could be the Grim Reaper or a monk or a scholar – no evidence to back up my theory…but you wouldn’t believe the veritable cesspit of double entendres I have had to crawl through on my hands and knees to find that out…and it was written by a bishop!

  13. Tiggy says:

    When I was doing a TEFL course in Barcelona, I was christened the ‘Queen of Double Entendres’. Hope no one takes THAT to be a double entendre! Our tutor said it was like being with Hatty Jacques. All those wonderful double entendre filled sitcoms we grew up with – Carry On films, Up Pompei, Benny Hill, Are you Being Served?
    I had to explain to an American last night why we don’t take the word ‘pussy’ seriously here because of Mrs. Slocombe. Well I’m glad you’re a woman after my own heart, Carole. ;-)

  14. Carole says:

    Tiggy, Carry On films were my staple TV diet as a kid – as British as the bawdy seaside postcard. :)

  15. Tiggy says:

    Yeah and kids loved them, even though they knew they were rude. It’s like my nephew who’s eight loves Ali G. I guess they were quite educational in a way. I saw a wonderful film about the actors who were in the Carry On films. They were all a bit crazy and very interesting people – had rather sad lives. I was thinking yesterday, it’s funny how so many of Britains best-loved comedians have been overtly gay. Remember Larry Grayson? And it’s very difficult to explain pantomime to Americans – how it’s a children’s entertainment involving much cross-dressing and bawdy jokes!

  16. Carole says:

    Yeah, panto is a bit strange when you put it like that. I don’t know much about its origins but I remember studying medieval French farce – farce is the french word meaning stuffing. Farces were the light relief, the stuffing, between the heavier, religious medieval mystery type plays. I would guess that panto comes from this tradition with its slapstick and stock characters. It’s quite interesting, really…much as I am not a huge fan of panto, I recognise it as an importance feature of British culture.

    Blimey, look what happens to us when we have no cartoons to comment on! ;)

  17. Tiggy says:

    Yeah the humour was very bawdy in the Middle Ages, even during the Mystery Plays. I thought panto derived from the Italian commedia dell arte.

  18. Carole says:

    Yeah, that’s probably about right then, cos Moliere wrote short farces before he went on to his major plays and his stuff was full of commedia dell’arte influences – which is where we got the slapstick and very physical comedy from. And now I’m thinking Bottom (oo-er!)

  19. rebecca says:

    Talk about going from the sublime to the ridiculous. This discussion started with a song by Vaughan Williams! (For the record, it’s from In Windsor Forest, which apparently is rarely performed. I can’t understand why). Even though the song is narrated by somebody drunk, nobody could sing it while drunk.

  20. Carole says:

    So it’s not a dramatic performance of Gammer Gurton’s Needle, then? ;)

  21. Tiggy says:

    From Vaughan Williams to Kenneth Williams!

Leave a Reply

