779

foundheart

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to 779

  1. Carole says:

    Aww! So beautiful!

  2. Kirsten says:

    oohhh but it’s so much more beautiful than it was before!

  3. Kirsten says:

    And when you stitch something up, you acknowledge its right to be restored! You would only restore something valuable enough to deserve restoration.

  4. Pat says:

    ‘..but there will always be a scar’

    Well I reckon God and Christ also have them; I guess the Spirit likewise – but need to think about that one a bit more :-D

  5. jonbirch says:

    nice comments. and pat, i guess spirits do get broken and bruised. maybe it is possible for god’s spirit to display wounding. you’ve made me think now… and it’s late… bad pat. :-)

  6. Kirsten says:

    i used to say that tears represent the heart bleeding. i like hearts. in the alchemist, the heart is really important. you have to follow your heart’s desire. hearts can be restless. hearts are also affected by the way we live our lives. some would even say that are heart deteriorates depending on our moral behaviour in life. Look after your heart. Do exercise, eat healthily and always act justly.

  7. Kirsten says:

    i love my heart! It’s beautiful because it loves. Does anyone else think the heart is like the universe? that the capacity for love is forever expanding?

  8. jonbirch says:

    oooh… good question, kirsten, and very poetic. i guess ones capacity for ever expanding love depends on how one looks after ones heart, what truths one feeds it etc. very beautiful thought. :-)

  9. Ben says:

    Really made me think:

    Theologically I reckon my physical scars will be gone when Jesus returns. And my emotional and mental scars.

    But my physical scars remind me of experiences, stories and events that shape me. If they go; then so does something of me. Even more so for my emotional and mental scars.

    Do my scars die with me so that the true me can rise?

    or will I, like Jesus, bare the marks of life…
    physically,
    emotionally,
    mentally,
    spiritually?

  10. Forrest says:

    It’s like a quilt.
    It’s stitching shows there a history and a story of its creation.
    Quilts are often “stitched with love”. So has been this heart.

    That’s some good questions Ben.

  11. becky says:

    When my dad died the priest (who otherwise was a jerk) said one thing that I can’t remember word for word but the gist of it has always stuck with me – part of being human is that we love. With that comes getting hurt but once we stop loving then we lose that bit of us that makes us human.

    If we stop loving and caring then we become narcissists – and I can’t go there.

  12. Pat says:

    Jon@5: :lol:

    Ben@9:I think we’ll still have scars – note ‘scars’, not ‘wounds’ and for the reasons you suggest. And, after all, what is ‘the true me’?

    “If there is a soul, it is a mistake to believe that it is given to us fully created. It is created here, throughout a whole life. And living is nothing else but that long and painful bringing forth.”
    Albert Camus

  13. Miriworm says:

    Psalm 51:17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.

  14. Carole says:

    Aah! Pat! I love Camus! He had such a good understanding of the human condition…apparently he was a keen footballer, too!

  15. Carole says:

    Kirsten – it reminds me of an old, much loved teddy bear. I do not recommend literature much here but there is a little known masterpiece
    that I would like to share…you’d have to go to the children’s section of your local library (do use your library, we’ve just nearly lost ours), among the picture books…it is called ‘Nothing’ and it’s written by Mick Inkpen…and don’t forget the old classic, ‘The Velveteen Rabbit’. Kids’ books – like ASBO – get right to the heart of the matter.

  16. subo says:

    thanks for this one Jon. I’ve become really aware recently about how I’ve let my wounds shape the way I live, and am trying to get a handle on how I wound others from my broken state

    so it’s good to stop and think our woundedness is part of our loveableness, and part of our connection with each other

    still aiming to get to grips with how I hurt others though

  17. jonbirch says:

    subo… damaged hearts want to protect themselves and sometimes they do it by initiating a ‘first strike’ approach, in the hope of putting off that which might damage them further. i bet we all do it or have done it.

  18. Pat says:

    Carole @14: Yes Camus is wonderful isn’t he – and so unflinchingly honest. I love Mick Inkpen too – I don’t have ‘Nothing’ but i kept ‘Threadbear’ after my kids had grown up. :-)

  19. what happens when you cant find all the pieces?

  20. Robb says:

    What happens when you can find all the pieces but it is impossible to fix them back in the right places?

  21. Pat says:

    You end up with a different type of scar maybe…

  22. Kirsten says:

    Well what happens is it grows back little by little. it hurts for a while and may always be a little tender but it grows back. hearts are very resilient if you let them be.

  23. jonbirch says:

    put them in a tidy pile?

  24. jonbirch says:

    ah. kirsten, i crossed with you… yours is, of course, a much better answer.

  25. Kirsten says:

    hahaha! i have a pal on facebook who’s just talking in her status about how she wishes she’d never been persuaded to go with her head over her heart…the best decisions are made with your heart.

  26. theseoldshades says:

    Kirsten: Don’t say that! I just made a head decision, not a heart decision and am scared it was a mistake and will add just add to the scars! :(

  27. Robb says:

    My experience is that if you rule with the head over the heart it keeps coming back to bite you. If you go with your heart it is either fantastic or it crashes and burns. In that case the pain is much quicker to deal with.

    Sorry – just experience.

  28. jonbirch says:

    maybe it’s fairer to say, the most enjoyable decisions are made with the heart, possibly? maybe?
    so, jesus in the garden of gethsemane… head decision, or heart decision?..

  29. Rosslyn says:

    what happens when you cant find all the pieces?

    You borrow a little from those who love you until you’re strong enough to build it up on your own. (God has been know to be very generous in these times)

    What happens when you can find all the pieces but it is impossible to fix them back in the right places?

    Create something new and beautiful out of the pieces and you might just be surprised by who appreciates your creation.

    Don’t worry theseoldshades (26) Sometimes the head gets is right and ESPECIALLY when we’re only halfway through the stitching we have to trust something. The head is a very good place to start. Good luck.

  30. dubb says:

    my heart loves this picture… :)

  31. subo says:

    just wondering if this little video belongs with this cartoon?

    http://www.abusehelpspiritual.com/abuse_help_video.html

    it’s beautifully made, and informative, – sometimes I think we need to keep ourselves informed, who knows when we might find ourselves reaching out to someone who needs a friend?

  32. jonbirch says:

    is that ‘the’ dubb… the godson whom i love? :-)

  33. duttyo says:

    I believe that God calls us as we are, with all our hurts and scars.

    I also believe there is nothing so bad in this world that God cannot redeem it even if that redemption costs God everything.

    So then our real healing begins not when we hide away our scars but when we place them at the foot of the cross and say ‘Lord this is me, all that I am. Now put me to work for you.’

  34. Carole says:

    Duttyo, I really like that final paragraph. I shall take that away with me today. Thank you. :)

  35. dubb says:

    yeaaah it is! or a really good impersonator :)
    i figure i’d prove my goodgodsonliness by commenting as well as looking…

  36. émie says:

    this makes a lot of sense to me right now…hm.

  37. Tiggy says:

    Were the two part of the heart in the first picture intended to look like two faces about to kiss – or is that just my romantic imagination?

    The Dubb is on here? Cool :-)

  38. Carole says:

    Aww! Tiggy, yes, I can see that now. I bet you are good on ink blots, too! ;)

  39. HisGal says:

    painfully beautiful..

  40. Eric says:

    @25-28: why do the head and heart have to be different things? I find the damages to my heart reflected and causing some of the thoughts in my head, and the thoughts in my head can cause some of the damages in my heart. My head is not cold, unimpassioned logic, my heart is not vibrant, illogical emotion… Are they really different at all?

Leave a Reply

