793

desiremost

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to 793

  1. BlackXanthus says:

    I already have a dishwasher, does that mean I can opt for World Peace? or is there a cuddly teddy bear? or perhaps a wobbly man……

    ~BX

  2. kelseyUD says:

    same here.

    is there meaning for life after a dishwasher?

  3. Andrew Sillis says:

    I’d rather like to paraphrase Isaiah 2 “and they shall beat their missiles into dishwashers”

  4. dadube says:

    lol Andrew

  5. Darren says:

    ‘all these could be yours, if you just bow down and worship me’ says the lord of the easy life

  6. Forrest says:

    “‘all these could be yours, . . .”
    Which is not the same thing as “‘all these WILL be yours, . . .”

    “World Peace” is a too big, too overwhelming to do, kind of thing, beyond the reach of the being of one individual human.
    And what really is it, and what direct impact will it have on my life, and when will it have it.

    A dishwasher, now that I can wrap my mind and my arms around.
    Literally!
    And I can immediately tell you precisely what direct impact a dishwasher will have on my life!

  7. Carole says:

    Will world peace clean eggy residue off my frying pan? ‘cos my dishwasher often finds this a challenge…

  8. Carole says:

    Andrew (4)Yep! Can’t be that difficult, surely, to gather together all the guns in the world, and melt ‘em down to make dishwashers…let the cry go up, “Make dishwashers, not war! ;)

  9. Will says:

    So mch easierto wish for a dishwasher. I have a better chance of getting one of those. Why go for something that I couldn’t possibly get!

  10. Big Dan says:

    Jon,

    Remarkable synchronicity with this post, on the same day: http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2009/oct/18/david-mitchell-politics-hypocrisy

    “Which would you choose, the washing machine or the vote?”

    Coincidence, or did one of you inspire the other?

  11. Tiggy says:

    Forrest #7 ‘World Peace” is a too big, too overwhelming to do, kind of thing, beyond the reach of the being of one individual human’

    That’s how I feel about my washing up… :-(

    I’m getting a table top dishwasher, then I’ll have more time and energy to spend on world peace.

  12. Tiggy says:

    See what I think is, if we all just focused on things like buying a dishwasher, then we wouldn’t go to war. Men fight, women shop.

  13. Mike says:

    This is a tough one. I don’t have a dishwasher and getting world peace is as about as likely as me getting a dishwasher…I don’t get anything :(

    Anyone wanna wash my dishes?

  14. Forrest says:

    Re: “Anyone wanna wash my dishes?”
    Depends on what you had for dinner – I don’t clean up after lasagna.

  15. Rainer says:

    Hmmm… Dishwasher or whirled peas…

    Tough choice.

    We don’t have a dishwasher, and I don’t like peas.

  16. dadube says:

    completely off topic – poppy has a temp of 40 degrees that keeps spiking and we’ve had to give her three types of medicine from the dr. anyone who has a moment from my asbo-family, could you please pray – thanks, our poor love is so unhappy.

  17. @ Dadube: Paying while I go out to get my kids

    I wash the dishes and my wife works for world peace.

  18. Er… should read:

    @ Dadube: Praying while I go out to get my kids

    Sorry about that.

    One thing I learned while washing up: what appears impossible is often possible when you keep working at it.

  19. Robb says:

    Is the world getting more peaceful or less peaceful?

  20. beatthedrum says:

    I want both please, as someone who loves Christ I want world peace, as someone who loves his wife I want a dishwasher please.

  21. miriworm says:

    If we all had a dish washer and dishes that needed washing would we have world peace? :-)

    PS: I am my own dish washer!

  22. If more people were invited to dinner more often, world peace may be attainable through the use of dish-washers.

  23. Tiggy says:

    Beatthedrum, what has loving your wife got to do with wanting a dishwasher?

  24. Sec says:

    A dishwasher is quite something..

  25. beatthedrum says:

    i work away a lot and having a dish washer means she has less work to do when i am away… very simple.

  26. Tiggy says:

    But less washing up as well. :-)

  27. jonbirch says:

    beatthedrum… aah, we were all thinking you expected your wife to do all the washing up. i now feel guilty. :lol: speaking of which, i have some washing up to do before i go out, so i’d best go and do it.

  28. jonbirch says:

    sec… you’re quite right. great comment. a dishwasher is indeed quite something. :-)

  29. subo says:

    hi dadube, how’s poppy today?
    x
    su

  30. AnneDroid says:

    I find this a really challenging cartoon, Jon. Not because I need a dishwasher (I’ve got one – yeay)but because I am so aware of the huge gulf between how hard I pray for myself or close family in a crisis and how I hard I DON’T pray for world peace and lots of other issues too. Thanks for the nudge.

  31. Caroline Too says:

    agree with you AnneDroid… really challenging

    … so what do we put our time into?

    OK World peace is too huge to imagine, but a little bit of peace in our church/street/home?

    or substitute car, promotion, etc.

    which matters to me, to the extent that I put effort in…

    oh dear, I really don’t like the answers that are emerging in my thoughts…

    I’ll go away and hide

Leave a Reply

