796

sermonator

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 796

  1. Carole says:

    Witty…what about the sermon-hater?

  2. jonbirch says:

    i thought about that one carole, but couldn’t make it work. btw, that’s not a comment on your brave attempt. :-)

  3. beckyG says:

    Jon – have you been dipping a bit into the Naked Pastor brew here? :)This is the kind of brutal ass kicking I expect from him. :) :)

    Carol – I’m a sermon-hater. I know I show up to a service about 40 minutes late so I can get communion sans the sermon. Some of that I know is because I have a divinity school degree and too many folks feel the need to give me a refresher on what I already know. The ones who move me go beyond the scripture and help me wrestle with my doubt by letting me know it’s OK to be PO’d with God and think Jesus left me. It’s that move from head to heart.

  4. Tiggy says:

    Scary – looks like The Iron Man.

    Sermons are risky things. For weeks I turned up at church and loved the sermons – wept through most of them. Then I went last week and hated it. It made me furious. Who are these people to tell me how to live my life based on First Century culture. I neither had an arranged marriage in my teens, nor do I believe that demons are responsible for mental health issues.

  5. This guy’s going down well in the comments. Will he be back?

  6. Forrest says:

    “Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.”?

  7. Tiggy says:

    More likely, ‘You will be excommunicated.’ :-)

  8. miriworm says:

    He will be back! :-)

  9. Mike says:

    Forrest us right there with me on my thoughts. “Your culture will adapt to service…US. Resistance is futile”.

  10. Marie Breskic says:

    Hahahahahaha! Wonderful!

  11. Caroline Too says:

    no no noooooooo, (forrest, #8)

    Resistance is FERTILE!!!!!

  12. Carole says:

    Jon (4) Too late…I’m off for a sulk… ;)

  13. subo says:

    cheers Jon, I needed that one

    what is it about church, and the inevitable drive towards churchliness and Murphy’s law about the elevation of preachers to the point of irrelevance, and the compulsion to dominate and control. partly I know it’s because nice Christians sit there quietly, planning a lunch party, while the sermon proceeds – who’d stand up and interrupt an armed preacher?

    I can’t talk, I sit there wondering what’s wrong with me, and why do I have such an irritating bee in the bonnet about ‘worship is about the opportunity for everyone to express their faith’, church controlled and organised by the few who have the money to belong to the planning team – is meaningless

    then there’s that little glimmer of hope, as the church organise a ‘review’, to ask everyone their views (so they can shelve them for another yr)

  14. andy amoss says:

    That is very, very funny!

    Always banging on about some guy with initials J.C who is supposedly the saviour of humankind.

  15. Laura says:

    Baawwwhaaaaahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

