798

“subject for another cartoon” indeed, fro. :-) …inspired by robin’s comment no. 19 – cartoon 797

expressinghimself

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to 798

  1. Stumpy says:

    And its always someone else fault. No one will take responsibility for anything these days…

  2. beatthedrum says:

    I woul be happy for someone to speak into my child like this if they were not doing what they were supposed to do or were being disruptive.

    What annoys me more are the parents who think jimmy is infact God, what jimmy says is always gospel truth, and that jimmy never ever does anything wrong.

    Those parents I confront as needs dictate. It means I have a bad name with soe of them but it also means that sometimes they reign their little cherubs in.

  3. miriworm says:

    Probably needs a clip around the ear, but then that would be assualt now days! :-|

  4. Yep, and I’m just expressing myself too!

  5. subo says:

    child loves Miffy, and keeps out the way of grumpy adults

  6. Carole says:

    Let’s face it, the ‘little Jimmy’ set up has always been there, but it seems more prevalent today. Our culture actively encourages it. It seems every small act is considered a potential abuse today…how long before you have to be CRB’d to shop in a supermarket just in case you encounter any children? Children may only be approached slowly, bowing and scraping respectfully as if they were black widow spiders – be sure to keep your distance. And pay £36 or whatever for the piece of paper which merely confirms (a)there is no record of you being involved in any ‘dodgy’ activity (b) you haven’t been caught YET at any dodgy activity. And of course, it is not a transferable bit of paper. If you are involved in work and home activities with children/vulnerable adults, you have to have one for each. OK, voluntary workers are usually exemptfrom payment, but what a fuss producing your documents yet again! I refuse on principal to do anything outside of my work which requires a CRB. Still I suppose all this bureaucracy keeps people in jobs.

    I digress, back to little Jimmy. Trouble is, little Jimmy is viewed by his parents as a wide-eyed innocent who wouldn’t dream of any wrongdoing. But in so doing, they deny him the intelligence (that he clearly has) needed to present the face of an angel when under attack. As the child worker will no doubt confirm, he is a devious little sod!

  7. damn right says:

    Hold the front page!

    a cartoon that does not criticise church!

    A cartoon that criticises culture!

    I’m off for a lie down…

  8. Carole says:

    …do you come here often, damn right? ;)

  9. miriworm says:

    On seconds thoughts maybe his mum should have the clip around the ear! :-)

  10. subo says:

    ‘And pay £36 or whatever for the piece of paper which merely confirms (a)there is no record of you being involved in any ‘dodgy’ activity (b) you haven’t been caught YET at any dodgy activity.’

    spot on Carol, I just think our culture has lost any understanding of how to build good communities where children (or adults) flourish safely, we imagine we can control the abuse of children with legislation, and that there’s no need to look at the causes of the escalation in abuse

    yet some church’s are out there, doing cutting edge work, in supporting healthy family structures, educating people on domestic violence and so on

  11. fro says:

    One happy children’s pastor in hiding here. Thanks for that Jon!

  12. jonbirch says:

    no probs, fro. take those parents on with a big stick… they got it comin’! ;-)

    damn right… you’re clearly a relatively new boy. welcome… and don’t worry, you’ll be fine after a little rest. :-)

  13. jonbirch says:

    ed… should that be an asbo for the child or for the parent? :?:

  14. jonbirch says:

    ooh… i found a new emoticon. :-)

  15. jonbirch says:

    carole @ 16… couldn’t agree more with your rant. ;-)

  16. Hi Jon,

    This is totally unrelated to your work but I didn’t know how else to contact you. I’ve been following your blog for a couple of years now and love it! I’ve just noticed you’ve put a link to Stepping Stones Nigeria. I’ve recently joined as advocacy and campaigns officer and am in the process of mobilising the Christian community into camapaigning etc. If you’d like to join our network that’d be really great. My email is lynda@steppingstonesnigeria.org Thanks!

  17. jonbirch says:

    hi lynda… i have sent you an email. the work stepping stones does is crucial and has my support. thanks for getting in touch. i will blog about it again. cheers. :-)

  18. AnneDroid says:

    One 12 year old boy in our church whispers to his pals all through the service. When he was a toddler he ran about all over the place and couldn’t sit still…

    His mother was the same as a child. I know that because I am the mother, and his dad’s the minister. On the plus side, we are glad he absolutely loves being in church, is moral and kind, has a faith of his own, and copes with being the only boy in his class at school who attends a church.

    Also, other families who might otherwise be stressing out about their kids wriggliness can comfort themselves that the minister won’t mind!

    And yet I know it’s distracting for others and believe me we don’t just let him do it, without consequences.

    I do sometimes comfort myself with the thought that his grandpa was thrown out of Sunday School but grew up to be a minister himself and all round lovely person (as well as my dad).

    We have another child in the congregation who has Tourettes. I often think I wish more people knew of his condition. His mum is a star and he’s a lovely little lad and it bothers me that people might be judging them unfairly. I say that to highlight the obvious – before you get too irked by kids in your churches, remember that maybe they can’t help it.

  19. Tiggy says:

    Hmm, me and my friend got hysterical with laughter at a baptism once. It was cos it was full submersion and the vicar had wellington boots on. We just couldn’t stop laughing because we knew we weren’t supposed to.

    Another time I got glared at by a Catholic priest in Westminster Cathedral because I’d been staring at a rather handsome chorister!

    Don’t adults whisper to each other in church? In my church they talk fairly loudly to each other while the sermon is going on or send text messages.

    We don’t have a problem with the kids because during the worship part they can run around a bit or dance or wave coloured flags or ribbons to the music. Then they go off to their own kids clubs for different age groups and they love it. I often see young children with their arms round each other swaying to the music – it’s so sweet. Sometimes the adults dance with the kids too. The kids can lay on the floor if they want, but so can the adults. Babies crawl around where they like. I very rarely hear a baby crying in the service, but there’s a side room the parents can take them into if necessary.

  20. soniamain says:

    I loved your comment Annedroid :)

    yes parents can be annoying (I’m sure I am!)and I do think we need to feel that we can say in a constructive way that we find some behaviour difficult, but what else do we do to support the parents?, do we judge or do we think of ways in which we can support them in their difficult role as parents?.

  21. beatthedrum says:

    Just uploaded a great parenting advice video to my blog see it here http://beatthedrum.wordpress.com/2009/10/30/parental-advice-from-famous-fathers-darth-vader/

  22. soniamain says:

    that is so funny, good link

  23. Robb says:

    This is one of the most annoying things about teaching. Real story:

    Child X “f£%”ing wait for me”
    Teacher “Less of that swearing please”
    Child X “it’s not bloody swearing”
    Head “don’t swear at one of my members of staff please”

    Within 30 minutes the mother had been to and had then been banned from the school site for swearing at the head about how “it wasn’t f£%”ing swearing”.

    I wonder why you are having such a bad time at home with your lovely teenage daughter who is making you pull your hair out on a minute by minute basis.

    The problem is often that in public places no-one feels empowered to deal with the issue. You get the same thing in a classroom when you have two teachers rather than one. No-one wants to tell anyone off because it may be seen as not your place.

    In a church parents don’t want to be seen telling off their kids. The youth leaders don’t. The cleric/leader/whoever doesn’t.

    At the time I wouldn’t have said this but I am really grateful that my mum dragged me up right. It was worse when I had ‘dissapointed’ her than when she told me off.

  24. Tiggy says:

    I expect to them it wasn’t what they understood by swearing. Maybe t hey saw swearing as things like tellig someone to f*** off or calling them a bad name, but in the sentence the child used it was being used as an intensifier and the same in the one the mother used. To them it was probably the same as saying, ‘For goodness sake, wait for me’ or ‘No way is it swearing.’

  25. jonbirch says:

    robb… “The problem is often that in public places no-one feels empowered to deal with the issue.”
    exactly… it’s rubbish. :-(

  26. just got back from my travels and saw this, thanks Jon I love that little guys attitude.

  27. Claire says:

    “Maybe they saw swearing as things like tellig someone to f*** off or calling them a bad name, but in the sentence the child used it was being used as an intensifier and the same in the one the mother used.”

    Possibly off topic, but I agree with this and I think it’s a very important distinction. If I exclaim S#!T! when I drop something on my foot, that’s not the same as calling someone a S#!T. I do think they’re both “swearing” in that they use “swear words”, but I would be upset if someone was namecalling me with words that weren’t “swearing” (very easy if you have a decent vocabulary and a little imagination) but wouldn’t bat an eyelid at someone using a swear word as an exclamation or an intensifier. (Although it depends on the tone of voice used as well.)

  28. Robb says:

    I would like to make the distinction between me swearing when I drop an Anvil on my foot and an 11 year old swearing at the top of their voice across the streets in front of their school at kicking out time.

  29. Tiggy says:

    Were they angry?

Leave a Reply

