812

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to 812

  1. subo says:

    “she rings after every show” – Larry Davey, ‘curb your enthusiasm’

  2. Pingback: postmodern vadå? » Blog Archive » Dagens ASBO

  3. Why have they all (bar one) got mullets?

  4. damn right says:

    all the same colour…. i thought jesus was more inclusive

  5. miriworm says:

    #2 Yes Mr Angry Swede.

  6. jonbirch says:

    my, what a pedantic bunch you are today… did you all get out of the wrong side of the bed this morning? :-)

  7. LOL. Isn’t that Judas, getting a ring from the Priests?

  8. Caroline Too says:

    so, who upset YOU, Jon with a mobile call/

    I remember several years ago, giving a lecture on the fourth floor. I had warned the students that if a mobile (cell) phone rang, I’d drop it out the window.

    one rang, and I took it from the surprised student and dropped it out of the window….

    there was a ledge just below eyelevel, but I never had a mobile ring in my lectures….

    sorted :-)

  9. Caroline Too says:

    actually, are those all mullets or are they head scarf thingies?

  10. Sophie says:

    since when has having a fringe meant a mullet?!

    it’s weird how phones seem to command our attention more than actual people who are in the room with us. I get horribly embarassed if my phone goes off when I’m out for dinner, or round at someone’s house!

  11. Ros says:

    A historical event ruined by modern technology! ;)

    It’s a shame how modern technology gets in the way of communicating face to face, or by posted letter.

  12. Robb says:

    It is much worse when you are gethered around the Lord’s table and it is the person breaking bread whose mobile phone goes of :lol:

  13. Robb says:

    Sorry to be a pedant Mr Davinci but isn’t one of those dude’s head supposed to be facing away from centre?

  14. jonbirch says:

    ah, robb, i think you may have mistaken me for a great artist. :lol:

  15. jonbirch says:

    holidaylonging… nice lateral thinking! :-)

    caroline @ 8… hahaha! :lol:

  16. Robb says:

    Well you get paid ;)

    But then so do I so that perhaps doesn’t say a great deal :lol:

  17. Robb says:

    I must get back to writing “The D’Birch Code”

  18. jonbirch says:

    …and there i was thinking it couldn’t get any worse than the da vinci code. clearly i was wrong. :lol:

  19. Pat says:

    The thing puzzling me, given the peculiar anatomical alignment of their legs, is why they haven’t all toppled over backwards :lol:

    Sophie @10, I agree with your observation about the degree to which mobiles command our attention…and i wonder, rather apprehensively whether our neurocircuitry is changing under the onslaught of the communications revolution :???:

  20. Forrest says:

    Pat – this fellow may be a bit “out there”, but who knows.

    http://www.willthomasonline.net/willthomasonline/ABCs_Of_Cell_Phones_ebook_excer.html

  21. kls says:

    “blackberry devotionals”

  22. Carole says:

    OH! I HATE the old mobile phone going off at inappropriate moments syndrome! A couple of weeks ago, I was at a concert thingy given by the very wonderful Bryn Terfel. Halfway through one of his songs, aargh! a mobile phone goes off in the audience. Even when it is not your phone, you feel buttock-clenchingly embarrassed, don’t you? feeling guilty by association just for owning one of the damn things. Anyway the ringing went away and we continued to listen to more pleasant sounds. After a short break, Bryn returned to the stage and said that his pianist had perfect pitch…and the phone ring was in D Minor…how clever of the owner to have a tone which was ringing in the same key as the song.

  23. Eric says:

    You don’t need perfect pitch to tell the key a phone is ringing in if there is already music playing (esp if it’s in the same key).

    However… I was an organiser of an inter-church youth event, and over the week I had lots of phone calls. My ringtone is a tune I wrote. One night as my friend & I were preparing for the next day, I noted that my phone had been ringing regularly, and that everyone would know the song by the end of the week.

    At this, my friend started singing my ringtone. Just then my phone rang. In the same key! Demonstrating that he indeed has perfect pitch.

  24. jonbirch says:

    eric… “‘perfect pitch’ is the ability of a person to identify or recreate a musical note without the benefit of an external reference.” as your friend heard your ring tone and then practised it in his head, he was probably displaying that other well known musical attribute of simply staying in tune. :-)

    carole… i once had an argument with a man sat next to me at the cinema who insisted on using his mobile. not using it to call, but checking texts. mobiles are really bright in the dark of a cinema. if he needed to check texts so badly, why was he at the movies? he had the cheek to be rude to me when i asked him politely not to use it. i won the battle, but the battle was unnecessary to say the least. :?

    pat and forrest… i don’t know if that chap’s whacko or not, he’s certainly on a mission… but i think constant mobile use is bound to affect us in some way. who would trust government recommended doses of microwave activity? not me! my government can’t even decide whether eggs are good for me or not. pat, isn’t it true to say that our neurocircuitry is in constant development and change? some things seem hardwired and mapped, but other synapses are grown or wither depending on the stimuli which feeds their growth. constant use of mobiles from a basic brain development angle surely must have some sort of effect? some effects may even be positive, given that at it’s best the mobile phone is a way to communicate and communication at it’s best is good for development of the brain. :?

    just say your mobile does kill bits of your brain with microwave activity, i wonder if this could be counteracted by playing sudoku on the same mobile. :-)

    my personal bugbear is people feeling the need to answer their phone when you’re in the middle of a conversation. it’s one thing if someone tells you they’re waiting for an important call and asks your permission… but quite another to have to wait ten minutes before you can finish making or listening to the point that was so rudely interrupted because your friend answered at the meal table, or got up from the table to answer. that’s just rude. :-(

  25. soniamain says:

    I ran some training for social workers yesterday, a number of them had been given new phones for work, it was hilarious as some of them didn’t know how to work them / turn them off, every break they were huddled together trying to figure out the damm things!. Fortunately they didn’t go off too many times :)

  26. Tiggy says:

    My friend asked me to teach her about active listening. When I was talking to her, her mobile went off and she answered it. I think that was her idea of ‘active’ listening.

    It pisses me off so much when I’m out with a friend say, having coffee and talking about something personal and they answer their phone or start replying to text messages. It’s so rude. If someone were telling me something important, I wouldn’t dream of answering phonecalls or texts.

    I especially hate it if you’re out to dinner with someone and they place their phone on the table, ready to answer or read texts. Whe I mentioned this to my friend (the same one as above) she said, ‘Don’t be silly, no one turns their phone off.’

  27. theseoldshades says:

    I only ever turn my phone off in the theatre and church…I wonder what this says about me?! I hate the idea that if someone really needed me they wouldn’t be able to get hold of me, even if it’s a drunk and tearful phonecall at 3am that the other person doesn’t remember the next day!

  28. Tiggy says:

    I can understand that, and I always tell people to ring me if they need to even if it’s in the middle of the night. Actually I’m usually at my best then! I think it’s bad though if people can’t wait ten minutes while someone is talking before they start replying to text messages either by phone or text. I have a ‘Befriender’ from Mind who is constantly getting phone calls or texts while she’s seeing me and it makes me feel very unimportant that she deals with those when I’m trying to tell her stuff. I’ve never said anything, because she’s always been just a friend really, rather than anything official as we hit it off right from the start. I also know a lot of her friends have difficulties, but I do think it’s important to give your full attention to someone at that moment. Sometimes when she’s getting lots of calls, I feel like just not bothering to start speaking.

  29. Leave it at home sometime…it’s really rather liberating.

  30. Sophie says:

    I did enjoy not having signal on Iona. It was a real joy! It would be interesting to know what they do to our brains and the way we think.

  31. Tiggy says:

    Information overload doesn’t really allow for the mind to become still.

    Robb, if you’re around, I was a bit worried by you shutting out your random thoughts with music. Random thoughts can be very creative. Maybe you use music to remind you to focus.

  32. Robb says:

    Tiggy – I am a strange breed for the role I have. I am a fidgety, kinaesthetic and aural person.

    I gave up making lecture notes after the first year of my undergraduate degree. I scribble and draw as it keeps me focussed on what is being said. Without this it is so much more difficult to concentrate. This annoyed one of my MA lecturers to the point of being taken outside and being told off. When I think about it the same thing happened in my undergraduate degree too. My friend handed over her notes (as she had made some) and I said “No – I am an adult and you will treat me like one”. As bolshy back then as now I guess :lol:

    In retrospect, (20/20 hindsight is easy…) when I went to a church with a “strong preaching tradition” I would always “need the loo” at about 15 minutes and hang around outside talking for the next half an hour. And yet I can sit through an hour long theology lecture with a doodle pad.

    I am pretty convinced that if you can’t say it in 15 minutes there is something wrong. I get bored watching someone restate the same thing again and again and again without going anywhere useful.

    If I am honest, I am a little bit like the ADHD kids I used to teach. Focus is very difficult for me. Silence cripples me. Music does help me to focus. Without it I start looking for a visual stimulus to keep me focussed – and this isn’t always very constructive and becomes more of a distraction.

    Odly with music playing I am somehow able to sing along in my head whilst stringing together the necessary thoughts to make the sentences I am writing happen. I am currently singing along with a record whilst I type this.

    I wonder if that is why I have been suffering from insomnia lately. I always used to fall asleep with music playing. Unfortunately Dr Ruth can’t sleep to Metallica :lol: .

  33. Robb says:

    Just realised that this is a totally different thread…. I can’t even remember where I said that :lol:

  34. Tiggy says:

    Yeah, that was my fault Robb. I knew it was on a different thread, but couldn’t be bothered to find it.

    Lots of students find having music on helps them focus and I think tests were done in that area and it was found that it actually did.

    I could never read the notes I took at college, so I do spidergrams now or mind maps. So much more effective.

    I think it’s good at other times though to just sit and let thoughts come up. That’s kind of what dreams are – things emerging from the randomness.

    I’m the opposite – very still and I don’t take in things very well aurally. I much prefer to read stuff, but I like to engage with it by underlining.

  35. Robb says:

    The background noise means that I am actually able to engage with the written word.

    Odd.

  36. Tiggy says:

    My brother in law’s mobile went off just as he was engaged in the honoured act of unveiling the Torah scrolls in his synagogue. Knowing Russell, he probably answered it.

  37. Rosie says:

    I really did think for a moment that this would be all about the antibac gel. Great cartoon though. I love this site!

  38. dadube says:

    I hate my mobile – its constantly on silent (well, I can’t afford for it to go off when I’m teaching) – but I regularly forget to turn it back onto ringing after school. Skippy shouts at me at least once a week coz I’ve missed so many of his calls!

  39. jonbirch says:

    i like my mobile. what i don’t like is when people allow it to interrupt. mind you, i don’t like that with the home phone either. i’m sure i’ve said this before, but if the phone was your friend, it’d be the rudest friend you had. my phone is for my convenience, not the convenience of everyone trying to get hold of me. oh dear, no wonder people find it difficult getting hold of me! :-)

  40. Tiggy says:

    That’s why texting is good, Jon.

    Dadube, there should be some sort of timer or clock on mobile phones where you can set it to switch back on at a certain time. Is there such a thing?

  41. Pat says:

    Tiggy: Yes there is…it’s called a finger! :lol:

  42. Tiggy says:

    Unfortunately my finger doesn’t have a timer/clock in it and nor does my brain a lot of the time. So many people have the problem of forgetting they’ve switched their phone off, there really should be something.

  43. Carole says:

    Dadube – that sounds so familiar!

    Jon – I know what you mean. On the one hand, phones, especially mobiles are the most useful and wonderful inventions. On the other, they have the most intrusive, omnipresent quality. If anyone calls me after 9.30 in the evening, I automatically assume someone is either dead or in hospital – my heart lurches when I hear it ring. Also,I can’t understand why cold callers, especially automated ones, are not illegal.

  44. Carole says:

    Sonia (25) that sounds like a joke – how many social workers does it take to switch a mobile phone off…?

    By the way, is it just me, or could the Jesus in picture 2 be a woman showing off her pregnant belly?

  45. Tiggy says:

    Jon I have had an idea for a cartoon for some time. How do I send it to you?

    That’d be a very high belly, Carole.

  46. Carole says:

    She always carries them high…exactly the same with her first three.

  47. Tiggy says:

    Well she’s definitely got a bun in HER oven! Actually, more of a loaf.

    JON, where do I send my cartoon idea to????

Leave a Reply

