814

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to 814

  1. Wow. Have you been reading my blog? I’ve been doing a series of posts on “the true Christian woman.” Washing clothes and cleaning up are a the TOP OF THE LIST!!

    NOT…

  2. subo says:

    I to, like colour co-ordinated household gadgets – too good to use

  3. Ali Campbell says:

    What kind of man is it who can put up STRAIGHT shelves?

  4. If you catch me with a pink mop and bucket, please shoot me.

  5. miriworm says:

    John your abonimable! :-)

  6. Forrest says:

    Who in their right mind, woman or man, “delights in cleaning up and washing”?

    Now, I do delight in the results of having cleaned up and the results of having washed.

    Coincidentally, was putting up a shelf last night.
    Later it was decided to move it to the other room today.

  7. I feel a deep rooted sense of shame that I struggle to put up shelves.

  8. Robb says:

    Ah…. that old can of worms!!

  9. chris says:

    *sigh* look how happy they are…

  10. Sophie says:

    and how angry the preacher dude is!

  11. chris says:

    probably cos he can’t put up a shelf…

  12. Tiggy says:

    I’d like a pink mop and bucket.

    I’d also like a man to put up my shelves.

    I think the difference is, when you put up a shelf, you can do serious damage when putting holes in the wall. Maybe a lot of women are wary of that. Also, a lot of men put up shelves, but not all do it well. A lot of men are good cleaners; they just don’t do it very often.

  13. The Millers says:

    If that is was it is to be a man, and that is what it is to be a woman… naturally, inherently, so to speak, then we shouldn’t have to be told how to be “that.” Right? If it’s so natural…

  14. soniamain says:

    and when did you last put up shelves Jon? :) ( or wash up!)

  15. jonbirch says:

    :lol: haha! sonia, i put up shelves once, i will not be doing it again. i laid a carpet once, i will not be doing it again. yesterday was my most recent washing up, i dare say i shall be repeating that often. i also made a lovely chicken korma and put the washing in the dryer. i love to cook, but am really bad at hoovering. :-)

  16. wow jon you just described my life!

  17. janetp says:

    :ol: Thanks Jon, I really, really needed cheering up, and your cartoon and comments made me laugh.

  18. janetp says:

    What happened to the little face???!

    It was supposed to be :lol:

  19. janetp says:

    Mind you, the first one is quite a good representation of how I felt by the time I got in from work – so it’s a ‘before’ & ‘after’ ASBO …. :)

  20. marzipan says:

    while I don’t delight in washing up or cleaning, I did manage to trip my mains circuit drilling a hole in the wall for an indoor washing line (shorted the neutral wire, not the live, hence I’m still alive)
    as for colour coded buckets, what about those pink drills etc?

  21. Pat says:

    Hey…janetp! Good to see you :-D

  22. Ros says:

    I can think of one woman who can operate power tools – my big sister!

    And there are plenty of men who should have a restraint order taken out against them doing DIY! :)

  23. Carole says:

    Never been much for cleaning or putting shelves up, myself.

  24. Tiggy says:

    Well…I need a man or two to lug my new computer desk up the stairs because I’m certainly not doing it. It nearly killed me just trying to get it through the front door. I’ll wait till those big, strong Polish builders arrive on Monday.

    I used to clean six houses a week – it’s hard work.

  25. Émie says:

    men should be men and women be women but shouldn’t have to adhere to stereotypes if they don’t want

  26. Who needs shelves when there is a perfectly good floor? Enough stuff stored on a floor means it doesn’t need hoovering.

  27. theseoldshades says:

    Ah yes…men and women have different roles but equal! Hate it, hate it, hate it! Gender stereotyping is so infuriating: I hate cooking, I hate cleaning, I don’t particularly like spending hours with children: am I not a woman? Does my life not honour God? I will do those things, and I enjoy some ‘feminine’ things like baking, but they are not all I can, or want to do. I will not let any man make my decisions because he is a man, nor do I accept that I have nothing I can teach a man because I am a woman.
    The whole different but equal just restricts women to making tea and running crèches and it likewise restricts men to preaching and leading. We are not all called to these things. We are not called based on our sex. In God’s eyes we are truly equal, not some shitty, misuse of the word which denies the full humanity found for all in Jesus.

    Sorry, in a cross mood tonight :)

  28. Hazel says:

    I like this. I bought a mug for a present yesterday that says three things a real man can’t say “I’m wrong, I’m lost, I can’t fix it!”
    Jon, did you know that 19th November was International Men’s Day?! Apparently?
    It was also World Toilet Day! Now there is a whole other subject for a cartoon.

  29. Hazel says:

    Sorry for grammar in above post. Should read “Three things a real man can’t say: ‘I’m wrong, I’m lost, I can’t fix it!’”

  30. Robb says:

    you know what? We get a lot of flack for having a penis………

  31. Tiggy says:

    LOL, have you been dwelling on that one?

    Yeah, I think it’s kind of, ‘Just because you’ve got a penis, you needn’t think you’re better than us!’

  32. Carole says:

    I don’t really like the whole gender role in-fighting thing.I’ve kind of got used to the idea of me being a ‘woman’ over the years but I’m not much good at…much, really, so it is difficult for me to wear the ‘real woman’ badge with pride – I would feel a bit of a fraud. I have probably as many men friends as women friends, but I value their individuality more than anything. So, I love Mark for his cheeky sense of humour, I love Julie for her passion and loyalty, I love David for his capacity to care, I love Lynne for her creative gifts, particularly her artistry with choux pastry, I love
    Alison for her flamboyance, I love Sam for the way she throws herself into adventurous activities and wacky hairstyles (and not giving a f**k about what people think); I love Ed for his passion for languages, hospitality and positive attitude; I love Simon for being real; I love Mo for her love for others; I have loved Eddie for many years but really appreciated his honesty when, after losing contact for 17 years, he was so real and honest about his lovely wife’s 10-year battle with cancer which she sadly lost just a few weeks ago…I could go on. These are not the only reasons for loving them, but they are all qualities which help me to aspire to the the best in myself, regardless of society’s gender stereotypes.

  33. Tiggy says:

    Well you’re good at writing intelligent posts and making people feel good and by the sound of it at making and keeping friends. I wish I had that many!

  34. theseoldshades says:

    Robb@30: Sorry, I was unnecessarily cross :(

    Though my rant wasn’t aimed at men, or anyone in particular really, just general frustration at an attitude I encounter so much at university and which I find immensely disheartening.

  35. Carole says:

    That’s really nice of you to say that, Tiggy. But I have only learned how to truly value people in very recent years. I’ve never actually been the type of person to win popularity contests. I’m naturally a bit of a wallflower – painfully shy (no, don’t laugh!!) Like many people I have developed strategies to try to overcome this. It was only probably once I hit my 40s that I stopped making an effort to be the kind of person I thought other people liked and relaxed into being me. Then I found others who began to like me and I started to appreciate others more. As we get older we all become (I think/hope) more accepting of ourselves and of others. It’s been a long journey but I now feel I am beginning to make progress. :-)

  36. Carole says:

    theseoldshades – haha! I loved your rant! :lol: and could empathise with a lot of what you said.

  37. jonbirch says:

    carole… you have FRIENDS?!! :lol: btw, i agree thoroughly with tiggy at 33.

    theseoldshades… 10/10 for a great rant! this blog venerates the rant! :lol: btw… i’m disheartened to hear that university is just as backward as ever it has been in regards to gender. the male, female thing just goes on rumbling and raging, when all most of us want to do is get on with each other and not feel pressured by female or male stereotypes… enjoying one another simply for who we are.

    hazel…’world toilet day’, eh? you have me ‘flushed’ with excitement! :lol:

  38. Carole says:

    Jon, there are some very charitable people out there! ;)

  39. jonbirch says:

    haha! nah, they’re the lucky ones! x :-)

  40. Robb says:

    Jon – I have friends. When I got my first Job back at Uni I bought Dr Ruth the first four series of boxed sets. Last year I had to buy her them all on DVD.

    Mind you I am now enjoying How I Met Your Mother. It is Legen…… wait for it…… DARY!!!!

  41. jonbirch says:

    never really liked ‘friends’. ‘frasier’ man m’self. :-)

  42. Robb says:

    It is possible to like both. With Dr Ruth’s profession Frasier was mandatory….

  43. Tiggy says:

    The only American comedy I like is ‘The Big Bang Theory’.

  44. Robb says:

    Now we’re talking. When you have a brother with asperges and a liking for comic books that show is legen…. wait for it….. DARY!!!!!!!

  45. Tiggy says:

    They’re all so cute – well except the one who thinks he’s really smooth. It’s funny how three of them are Jewish, when it’s not really Jewish comedy. The little one is my sort of bloke.

Leave a Reply

