823

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 823

  1. Caroline Too says:

    and if Christmas follows the pattern of previous years, the next couple of weeks will have both experiences.

    of course, the peak, is being first to comment on an asbo cartoon! :-)

  2. Caroline Too says:

    oh dear,

    looking at this cartoon again,

    is it only me who thinks it looks like…..

  3. jonbirch says:

    hope you haven’t peaked too early, caroline. :lol:
    and, yes, it is only you… well out of the two of us it is. :-)

  4. Pat says:

    Mountain top visions
    can only be realised
    on the downward path

    Taking a leaf out of your book here CarolineToo and attempting a poetic way of expressing my response :-D

  5. Mark says:

    I’ve always interpreted John 10:10 – life in all its fullness – as being about experiencing the heights of joy and depths of sadness. One of my favourite theological phrases is ‘humanity at full stretch before God’ (which is the subtitle to the book Liturgy and the Moral Self Essays in Honor of Don E. Saliers) and something this cartoon beautifully encapsulates.

  6. Caroline says:

    I’ve always loved the thought that you can see great things from the valleys, but only small things from the mountaintop – not least because I’m never sure which is supposed to be better.

  7. Pingback: Got It All Figured Out

  8. Forrest says:

    Yep, That is exactly where real life is to be experienced.

  9. preacherlady says:

    Don’t the lilies grow in the valley?

  10. Tiggy says:

    I thought this cartoon was about being bi-polar. Not that I am, but I have quite a few friends who are.

    As an Essex girl, I find being on the flat easier to negotiate. Boring, I know, but a lot less of a strain.

    I’m not sure what the valley represents and where’s the big dark hole?

  11. becky says:

    Yep – sounds like John of the Cross to me.

  12. subo says:

    it’s like that stuff about lifes mystery and ‘unknowness’

    you lead me through deaths dark valley

  13. Caroline Too says:

    I guess that whilst you are able to notice the peaks and troughs,
    you’re ok

    it’s when you become unable to notice a difference that you’re in
    trouble.

  14. Sophie says:

    Did you catch Pete Rollins at Greenbelt this year? He was talking about how the moment when everything is stripped away is where God is. That there’s something important about the valleys even though they are not comfortable to be in. He pointed out that Jesus had a moment of abandonment too.

    I think you’re right Caroline Too, that it’s important to spot where whe are. These last few cartoons have really reminded me of Ignatian spirituality, taking time each day to recognise where you’ve been drawn towards life or consolation, and which moments have been desolation, and learning to see god in both.

  15. chris says:

    i din’t like the valley bits, they are no fun – but i’ve pretty much learned everything that’s important to me there.
    also is it just me or does anyone else get suspicious of people who seem to live on the peak all the time? Maybe that’s wrong of me, maybe it’s fake of them – i dunno.
    I am currently on a very lovely peak and loving it!

  16. kim says:

    isn’t real life being experienced in every place – the top, bottom, middle, sides..?

  17. jonbirch says:

    sophie… caught up with pete rollins when he gave me a moo and blue pie minister pie. he’d been given a free one and was full up. i was happy to help him out. i do enjoy a bit of pie. :-)

    chris… enjoy the peak and i hope the journey to the valley is smooth and rock free. :-)

    kim. yes indeed.

    i think where i live geographically is a good representation of where i like to live my life emotionally. not at the bottom, not at the top, but tucked into the side with neighbours close by.

  18. chris says:

    I’m Welsh – we don’t seem to be able to do the half way up a hill thing – we do tip top and rock bottom – it can be tiring! :D

  19. janetp says:

    Jon: Love your last comment at 17. I think that’s where I like to be too. :)

  20. jonbirch says:

    yup, janetp… that’s where i feel most at home. :-)

    chris… sounds exhausting. :-?

Leave a Reply

