824

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 824

  1. Pat says:

    Bother you Jon Birch – this is a bit uncomfortably close to home :-(

  2. Pat says:

    :-D I wish there was a smiley for the particular type of wry smile I’m wearing at present!

  3. jonbirch says:

    :-? just seeing if this does it.

  4. jonbirch says:

    hmmm, not quite. :-D

  5. Forrest says:

    Ohhhhh baby can I ever relate!

    And a whole lot of people on the Wrong Planet forum for Aspergers and Autism would too.

    Dad, Mom, either way.

  6. becky says:

    story of my childhood – the only way it got resolved is everyone died.

  7. soniamain says:

    that is sad, trying to make sure my daughters won’t be saying it.

  8. gloriousthings says:

    It must be Christmas. Too many parishioners in hospital, too many services and trying to be in too many places at once. Too much trying to be God. Dad this my life!

  9. Pat says:

    soniamain @8: is easier thought and said than done…sadly :-(

  10. jonbirch says:

    you’re being very hard on yourself, pat.

  11. Carole says:

    It cuts both ways…I sometimes think life might have been a bit more straightforward if my parents had had given me something to live up to…maybe I wouldn’t feel my life is a somewhat directionless non-event.

  12. jonbirch says:

    hey carole… your computer works again! hooray! you seem to be being very hard on yourself too. it must be christmas. :-(

  13. rockingRev says:

    As Jesus said to his Father.

  14. Pat says:

    Carole – I think we need to find a quiet corner and get drunk together :wink:

    Interesting slant on it rockingRev – is this an ontological comment or an existential one? Or was there a conflict of interest between God and Godself as God actually experienced life in the flesh do you think?

  15. Carole says:

    Jon – yes, I still have the problem but I can work around it by putting https instead of http – long winded but it works.

    Just re-read what I wrote and it sounds awful! My folks were wonderful solid people and gave me a grounding as a (half) decent human being in terms of my values. But they didn’t have much of a perspective on life beyond a blue-collar, working class existence, bless them. I love(d) them dearly. And actually, perhaps what they gave me is far more important than all the other stuff.

    Pat – I’m learning the hard way all the time from my kids… Rather than drowning sorrows, I think we need to make merry…next August bank holiday?

  16. chris says:

    to. close. to. home.

  17. Tiggy says:

    I couldn’t relate to this one iota, but it made me realise something – my father took no interest in me whatsoever.

  18. To be fully human Pat, that conflict would have to be experienced?

  19. Pat says:

    Carole – making merry it is then. Will look forward to it :-D

    themethatisme – yes, I think you are right. Fully human means that the choices of the wilderness and Gethsemane must have been real ones – i.e a real possibility that the answers and choices could have been different. Otherwise the whole thing is just an illusion isn’t it?

  20. Caroline Too says:

    I only inherited my life fairly recently…

    hadn’t realised before then just how much energy I had had to put into aping what I thought I should be like

    long time running on low
    trying so hard not
    to let the other folk know
    long time running on low
    trying so hard not
    to let the true feelings show

    long time trying to play the game by the rules
    long time trying to make them real
    long time trying to be
    the one that you want
    long time running on low
    long time running on low

    long time running on low
    trying to find a pump
    to fill up this life and then go
    long time running on low
    trying to fill the vacuum
    inside I call my soul

    longtime trying to play …

    Long time running on low
    trying to do it right
    do it as you want, just so
    long time running on low
    wishing some time someone
    would take the time just to know

    long time trying to play…

  21. jonbirch says:

    much respect, caroline.

Leave a Reply

