827

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 827

  1. chris says:

    oops – i haven’t made a resolution yet…must do that or miss out on the tradition of beating up on myself in January.

  2. Carole says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH…PAUSE FOR BREATH…HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    You been peeking?

  3. Sophie says:

    Nice one Chris. I’m really bad at setting targets for myself. I always, without fail, set totally unrealistic ones. Oh dear. So I tend to think that they are pointless. Ah well.

  4. subo says:

    sometimes I feel the church has let itself become inextricably bound with the economics of scarcity

    we hold ourselves to account over guilt pricking minutia, and fail to enter into the spirit of generosity and over flowing tenderness

    if God was counting how many chocolate bars we get through, why did he make it?, my guess is he’s more interested in our multiple ways of making chocolate into a celebratory experience, of using it as a tangible gift of love, and of nurturing ourselves

    lets start the new year with a rant

  5. andy amoss says:

    …I’ve taken to smearing it all over me instead.

  6. Caroline Too says:

    I would just like to learn how to eat a little more intelligently

    and less

    but I won’t

    so, there you are Chris (#1), I beat you!

    I’m beating myself up for a failed resolution and we haven’t even got to January yet!!!
    :roll: :-( :roll:

  7. Forrest says:

    A few years back I made a resolution to make no more resolutions.

    Keeping that one just fine!

  8. chris says:

    Ha! you got me there Caroline, I feel better now :)

  9. Will says:

    Why do we make resolutions to give up things? Why not to do things we don’t do enough of? Give generously, open our homes, help people? Is it because these are real things that we don’t want to fail at?

  10. kim says:

    aargh its a day too soon – at present i am trying to eat as much of the chocolate in the house as i possibly can before tomorrow, when i will give it up. just like lent. doh!

    i agree with subo, didn’t Jesus come so we could have life [chocolate?] more abundantly?!

  11. I’m going to buy some clothes that fit…resolution formed on my behalf by my better half.

  12. jonbirch says:

    did you know that the average time a female manages to keep a new years resolution is 5 days, the average time for a man is a staggering 6 days. given that some people actually do keep their resolutions this must mean that some don’t even make it to five minutes! :-)

    i don’t do them. in fact everyone i asked yesterday didn’t do them either. seems like everyone’s had enough of trying and failing. :-)

  13. Laura says:

    I don’t do “resolutions” I make “goals” for the year.

    For some reason, that seems to work much better for me. I have about a 50% success rate fot that where as a “resolution” lasts about 2 weeks.

    Weird….but true.

  14. Laura says:

    Oh, and I make my “New Year’s Goals” list on my birthday. It’s a new year for me…so it seems appropriate.

  15. Bo says:

    I have yet to make a single new years resolution. For some reason, the time I am ready to make a resolution just doesn’t coincide with new year…

  16. rebecca says:

    There are certain things you can do to make your resolutions more likely to be successful. E.g. make them SMART; break them into smaller goals, focus on the benefits of reaching the goals, don’t give up at the first sign of failure, write down the resolutions, tell others… They’re the same rules as for success in any other plan!

    My own idea is that the best New Year resolution is to resolve to do something which on every level you want to do, but for which you need an extra push to make sure you actually do it. For example, go to Iona. I’ve lost count of the number of people who’ve told me they’ve always wanted to go to Iona — why don’t they just go? Last year I made a resolution to join a new choir, having outgrown the choir I was then a member of. I have since joined three choirs, so does that count as three successes? (And yes, I do have problems with clashing rehearsals).

    (Laura #15 — that’s a great idea, but what if somebody’s birthday is right on top of New Year? Perhaps they could make half-year resolutions in the summer).

  17. theseoldshades says:

    I’m starting my resolutions on the 13th this year, because there’s no way I can give up chocolate and take up running when I’m writing essays and revising- it’s bad enough all ready!

    Happy New Year everyone :D

  18. jonbirch says:

    hmmmmmmm… haven’t yet come up with any ‘goals’ either. :-?

  19. I gave up alcohol this year, but forgot to finish that bottle of Baileys in my fridge – that would goes so well with coffes….

    It is just there taunting me…

  20. Ooop … go so well with coffee

    Another resolution – learn to spell ;-P

Leave a Reply

