834

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 834

  1. kat says:

    I am my own worst enemy.

  2. bigdaddywhale says:

    I’ve just started using a Digital SLR camera that was given to me on a long term loan and have set myself the challenge of taking a photo a day this year. Yesterday someone suggested i took a self portrait. Now i don’t have a shutter release cable so i was trying to do it at arms length so it was quite hard. Having taken several i looked at them and realised that i hated all of them and even more hated how i looked in them.

    Esther looked and saw something completely different. It’s a good job as she’s the one who has to spend her time looking at me not me!

  3. I once worked in theatre with a girl like this: I cast her in a role of a girl who gradually discovered she was beautiful, and conspired with the costume and makeup people to make it work. by the last scene in the show she looked amazing, in front of a (small) auditorium

  4. Caroline Too says:

    But the trouble is that I trust my judgement more than others!

  5. Ed says:

    Liking this!

  6. beckyw says:

    Everyone thinks you’re forgiven… except you.

    Forgiveness makes us beautiful but we find it so hard to accept for ourselves. How many times do we ask God to forgive us for the same thing?

    Why can’t we believe the good stuff?

  7. Forrest says:

    Andy – sneaky blokes those theater directors are ;)
    Becky W, excellent question.

  8. chris says:

    @ Caroline Too, ditto.

  9. Carole says:

    How about, “Everyone thinks you are magnolia emulsion…just go with the majority!” :)

  10. miriworm says:

    Perhaps she thinks she’s drop dead gorgeous! :-)

  11. Ros says:

    @beckyw (no.6)

    Absolutely! Very true in my case. I’m forgiven, but I still feel guilty.

  12. becky says:

    I hear you Becky – that’s me in a nutshell. why can’t i love me the way other do?

  13. subo says:

    ah, yes

  14. Pat says:

    I guess one could substitute any number of other words in there and would maybe be different for each of us :-(

  15. rebecca says:

    As one of my friends put it, “Raise the double standard!” She meant this in the context of hypocrisy, i.e. expecting other people to live up to standards which you do not expect yourself to live up to, but double standards work the other way as well — i.e. you expect yourself to live up to standards which you do not expect other people to live up to. In my experience that’s a very common problem. I once criticised a preacher who didn’t seem to be aware of this!

    I’m not a theological expert, but I think it is valid to say that Jesus didn’t like double standards, either way round. He said “Love your neighbour as yourself” (Mark 12 verse 31, and elsewhere), not “Love your neighbour more than yourself”. Paul, however, did seem to expect double standards of his correspondents, telling the Philippians “consider others better than yourselves” (Philippians 2 verse 3), and the Romans “think of yourself with sober judgment” (Romans 12 verse 3) when it is clear that it is wrong to judge others. These verses aren’t very helpful to someone with low self esteem. They wouldn’t be the only examples of Paul writing something which turned out to be unhelpful.

  16. “They wouldn’t be the only examples of Paul writing something which turned out to be unhelpful.”

    I suspect that’s because Paul, though a great evangelist and theologian, was probably a bit of a pain if you knew him.

    Having dealt with a lot of people who work like he does, I suspect he wasn’t always great at dealing with people who were struggling.

  17. Caroline Too says:

    I wonder if it’s our reading of Paul that is unhelpful at times…

    a sober judgement of ourselves… would be one that didn’t underestimate our worth

    and remember the Phillian’s quote comes right out of his most encouraging letter as he was encouraging them to imitate Christ … perhaps we would better understand that quote as “consider others worth your service and care…”?

    Paul a bit of a pain? The Corinthians considered him a bit of a softy when he was with them (toughter in his letters though), and that last meeting with the guys from Ephesus church, didn’t seem to be marked by people who considered him a ‘bit of a pain’

    Mind you, don’t take my word for it… I have a tendancy to cheer for the bible characters others aren’t keen on… Job’s friends, Jonah, Martha…. ;-)

  18. Amy Watson says:

    ouch…. this hit me hard.

    I am very grateful to have a man who constantly tells me these things

  19. Angela France says:

    Sigh, I get this… seriously love it

  20. Angela France says:

    Uhm the last post said I was Amy Watson thats just not True I am Angela France thanx

  21. Angela France says:

    haha soo weird eh??? really!

Leave a Reply

