843

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 843

  1. chris says:

    ah yes, thought i recognised him…

  2. Laura says:

    Ah, he’s from Roswell then eh?

  3. Hazel says:

    I love this one. Have to say imo for me, this would happen the other way round as I think “my church” (which is Baptist) is nutty…whereas I think the people are all perfectly normal at my local C of S!

  4. Hazel says:

    I’ve realised by what I’ve said above I have implied that I have missed the point -as the Baptist is portrayed as the “alien!” (duh). Anyway there’s some folks I can have a good laugh about this with!

  5. ARJWright says:

    Man, this hits home on both sides – and I’m not a pastor.

    Got to say though that its a lot disturbing that when you ask laypersons this question that you get more blank/disturbed stares than any others. And that’s before they answer your question with just a look and a nod.

  6. Laura Anne says:

    Yay!!!! aliens on planet christian make a return!!!!!

    It’s the other way round for me. I came from an independent spirit filled very family orientated church which was filled with people from all walks of life. I now go to a baptist church, and I often find their ways very difficult to get my head around.

    Like communion in a shot glass. Or the whole voting church meetings thing…

  7. Forrest says:

    Expect this goes on with pretty much any pairing of denominations.

    From places where I’ve been to, any given denomination hasn’t got a mechanism in place to give info on any given other, except where it’s in doctrinal error in their eyes.

    But then, there so many denominations, how could it be done in any practical manner anyway?

    Even each church is itself a kind of individual culture.

    Kind of inclined to say it’s the individual’s responsibility to seek out the relevant info and educate himself.
    And to LGM’s credit, he had the initiative to go take his question to a first-hand source.
    Good job :)

  8. Ah Jon that is so funny, thanks for the laugh.

  9. Catriona says:

    Love it! And, yup, I’m a Baptist… how did you know what I look like?! :-)

  10. miriworm says:

    John 10:16 I have other sheep that are not of this sheep pen. I must bring them also. They too will listen to my voice, and there shall be one flock and one shepherd. :-)

  11. Caroline Too says:

    ummm, I fear to the world that all of us Christians are the weird aliens…

  12. themethatisme says:

    We should delight in the differences. If diversity stems from anything at all it is creation and Gods desire for it.
    I visit the mosque,gudwara and hindu temple and find it all surprisingly familiar, but different.

  13. Carole says:

    Hahahahahahahahahaha!…nice one!

  14. subo says:

    I so remember how being a Christian, in a secular world, used to leave me feeling like a total alien – then I realised knowing God’s love and engagement in creation, his plan to bring restoration through Christ, and that Christ himself had come to share in the suffering of the world, makes being a Christian the sanest and most exciting place to belong

  15. Hazel says:

    Laura Anne, have been “a Baptist” since I was 8 but there’s a lot of diversity in Baptist churches! I don’t know how your independent church was governed but the whole church meeting/voting thing has struck me as more and more ludicrous the older I’ve got – and it can never be explained why God doesn’t tell all the people the same thing at the same time! But I’m a cynic!

  16. Forrest says:

    Hazel, you have a point,one does wonder.

    I don’t know, God may be tellin’, but are the people listenin’? ;)

  17. chandy says:

    Honey, I married an Alien. Thanks Jon 8 years too late.

  18. Laura Anne says:

    @Hazel – I’m not entirely sure either, but it seemed to work well, and we were all generally on the same page, and the leadership were really open to explaining and listening to everyone in the church (most of the time…hey even church leaders aren’t always perfect!)

    But I guess not everyone is always listening or willing to listen to God if it means sacrifice or change THEY don’t want. Wouldn’t be great if we were all perfect Jesus-like clones? Solve the whole issue really. :-)

  19. kls says:

    I’m a “Baptist”, who’s kindof becoming an Anglican. If it weren’t for an excellent video on “The Nuts and Bolts of Anglican Liturgy”, I would probably feel the way the poor fella does.

  20. berciXcore says:

    @kls: now it is you, who seems to be an alien. ;]
    i’m a catholic-born, church-deserter, used-to-be-krishna-conscious, tried-the-new-age, been-there-done-that neo-pagan, short-term agnostic, brought-back-by pentecostal-amazement, never-got-too-close-to fundamentalists, love-my baptist-friends, steering-towards liberal/mainline-protestantism, staunch-ecumenist, pigeonhole-me-if-you-can type of ???. i assume i’m “more alien than thou”. :D
    (not you kls. :P)

  21. berciXcore says:

    and also baptist-youth-group-attending. add that to the mix. ;)

  22. Pingback: Is there hope for Christian unity? « New Epistles

Leave a Reply

