848

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 848

  1. miriworm says:

    What about Melchizedek? :-)

  2. Stumpy says:

    He obviously works in the same place that i do….

  3. Caroline says:

    Yes – he’s spent too much time working, and not enough time on holiday!

  4. I’m lay here in my hospital bed surrounded by death and I’m thinking God it’s just not long enough. x

  5. Laura says:

    Then Den, get the hell out of there already mate!

  6. Laura says:

    ummmm,
    forgot this ;-)

  7. Caroline TOO says:

    hope it’s not to seriousl mennissing, Dennis

  8. jonbirch says:

    a shocker, dennis… get well soon, mate.

    that bad eh,stumpy?

  9. jonbirch says:

    i was thinking about my late grandma when i did this cartoon. she could have quite happily gone when my granddad went many years earlier. some people just seem to want to stop once they’ve suffered great loss, others really want to carry on once through the worst of bereavement.

  10. AnneDroid says:

    My gran is 102 (and ten-twelfths)!

    She is so frail and can no longer see well enough to read (which was her great passion) or hear well enough to listen to the radio. She has outlived ALL of her friends and ALL of her generation in the family – by many years in most cases. I love her a lot but I wouldn’t want to be 102.

  11. Tiggy says:

    If I’d known what was coming, I’d have wanted to depart as soon as I was born. I’m resigned now to it not getting better, by which I mean I no longer hope. In fact,I’m pretty sure it’ll get worse so the shorter it is, the better. I want out, but we seem to have this inbuilt instinct to keep our life going no matter how tortuous it is. Maybe one day I’ll have the courage…

  12. Carole says:

    Tiggy, that is so sad. :( I hope you find something that makes life worth the effort for you.

    I like living and would not like to leave life behind at this point in time. But I must admit to often finding my life a bit dull and uninspiring (ingrat that I am!). I’m reaching that age when friends and acquaintances are beginning to ‘drop off the perch’ and it is making me think just how short life is. Things which have been on my list of things to do for years are still unachieved and I am beginning to think I might struggle to do them at all. It’s not just about the years lived…it’s about the number of years when you are fit enought to go out and do things.

    Jon – my mum was the same as your grandama – she waited about 14 years before joining my dad. It must be very hard to carry on after the loss of your soulmate.

  13. Martin says:

    My life has been terrible and i feel like takeing the exit door, spilt from wife missing kids lost job and in a terrible area glasgow and not got 2 pennys sitting in the cold, think wife and kids will be homeless 2 its hard liveing with this guilt i have aged ten years in 3 months no one phones me no friends god get me out of this awful existence.

  14. Sophie says:

    Oh Martin, I’m so sorry to hear it. I hope you can find some hope soon.
    Sophie

  15. Tiggy, Martin, for some of us this is our lot, I honestly believe that there is a role and purpose for those of us who have less than ideal lives, if only to constantly prick the conscience of the smug. this is my response anyway, to the loss of hope. I can perhaps create some hope for others.

    My first response to the cartoon was ‘I’m bored now! I’ve had lots of good bits but this long drawn out death is not appealing’.

  16. jonbirch says:

    martin, tiggy… i’m so sorry. i hope life changes for you both in positive ways.

    themethatisme… thank you.

    carole… yes, it must be.

  17. linus says:

    Martin – sounds like a really tough gig just now.

    A good guy i know is the minister of a church in Glasgow called Queen’s park baptist. I see on their website they have a welcome lunch this comin sunday. If you are feelin isolated, this might be a good place to share with people. If you’re interested, you can get in touch and book a place at the meal here. Just a thought. I’m sure you would recieve a warm welcome. Hope and pray that God blesses you with all kinds of new life in the coming months.

  18. Martin says:

    Thanx for the nice replys. Still here moods are really bad up as high as a kite then down as low as can be only still here through help of my mother i have made my mistakes and trying 2 live with them. The drink and gambling has destroyed my life i feel dead lost weight dont eat or wash just given up. Thanks 2 the kind people out there

Leave a Reply

