861

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to 861

  1. duttyo says:

    this is really interesting after watching the brilliant ‘Doubt’ last night at our film and faith service

    ‘A woman was gossiping with her friend about a man whom they hardly knew – I know none of you have ever done this. That night, she had a dream: a great hand appeared over her and pointed down on her. She was immediately seized with an overwhelming sense of guilt. The next day she went to confession. She got the old parish priest, Father O’ Rourke, and she told him the whole thing. ‘Is gossiping a sin?’ she asked the old man. ‘Was that God All Mighty’s hand pointing down at me? Should I ask for your absolution? Father, have I done something wrong?’ ‘Yes,’ Father O’ Rourke answered her. ‘Yes, you ignorant, badly-brought-up female. You have blamed false witness on your neighbor. You played fast and loose with his reputation, and you should be heartily ashamed.’ So, the woman said she was sorry, and asked for forgiveness. ‘Not so fast,’ says O’ Rourke. ‘I want you to go home, take a pillow upon your roof, cut it open with a knife, and return here to me.’ So, the woman went home: took a pillow off her bed, a knife from the drawer, went up the fire escape to her roof, and stabbed the pillow. Then she went back to the old parish priest as instructed. ‘Did you cut the pillow with a knife?’ he says. ‘Yes, Father.’ ‘And what were the results?’ ‘Feathers,’ she said. ‘Feathers?’ he repeated. ‘Feathers; everywhere, Father.’ ‘Now I want you to go back and gather up every last feather that flew out onto the wind,’ ‘Well,’ she said, ‘it can’t be done. I don’t know where they went. The wind took them all over.’ ‘And that,’ said Father O’ Rourke, ‘is gossip!’

  2. kim says:

    Is that Fox News?

  3. rebecca says:

    Duttyo — I’ve heard that story before, and I think it makes an important point, but can I suggest that you reframe it so that it isn’t so sexist? At present it looks as if it is saying sarcastically that gossiping is something which women do and men are entitled to berate women for, with the result that the important point is lost.

    I’m dredging my memory here, but I remember reading that the origin of the word “gossip” comes from “God” and “sib” (i.e. a relative), and initially referred to people sharing what was important to them. When did gossip become necessarily malicious?

  4. freedbyjc says:

    SO the “important point” of the story was that-to you- it was a woman? Only to you, rebecca…the point of the story was gossip kills: the witness of the speaker and the reputation spoken of.

    Where did you read that? PLEASE, Go to any dictionary and read http://www.dictionary.net/gossip and get the whole definition…

    Keep the MAIN thing, the MAIN thing …

  5. duttyo says:

    sorry Rebecca it’s a direct quote from the film

  6. subo says:

    gossip is about constructing a false reality, and then imposing it on someone else – with all the conviction one can muster

    however, we can receive our own realities from God, and bask in His love of us, – remember, it’s God who actually knows us, so His love is based on reality

    – when you find people have been having a good old gossip and finger pointing session at your expense, remember, they’re made up stories are not even a little bit true

  7. jonbirch says:

    one of the main points in the cartoon is that ‘the news’ is gossip. the news from the tv, radio, newspapers, internet… pretty much all gossip… tittle-tattle…

  8. Pat says:

    Jon, I’d certainly agree with you that some things categorised as presentations of ‘news’ are indeed nothing more than gossip. However I’m not sure I’d include every instance of ‘the news’ under that – although I would agree that all news is, of necessity already interpreted information. Which might not be quite the same thing, but is equally problematic perhaps :-(

  9. Forrest says:

    Yep, Jon, but that seems to be what the majority want since it gets the ratings necessary to get advertising revenue to pay the way.

    It’s that old world famous doing fractions math phrase:
    “Resolve to the lowest common denominator”

    It seems quite applicable to the rest of the universe.

  10. Tis funny you should say that as I was watching the News tonight and however sad it is to see a couple who might get divorced, its not really NEWS is it.

    I mean me making tea two nights on the trot didnt make news at 10 did it, sharron thinks it should.

  11. jonbirch says:

    dennis, you crack me up, mate! so glad you’ve survived humour in tact! :lol:

  12. Pat says:

    themethatisme :lol:

  13. Caroline TOO says:

    I think that a growing problem with news – serious versions of it, rather than gossip – is that it’s becoming more about predictions than news.

  14. Forrest says:

    But the evening gossip won’t make any sense if you’ve missed the midday gossip!

  15. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/arts_and_culture/8570282.stm

    It gets better. could he not be put down instead like a good racehorse?

  16. Is the newsreader meant to look a little bit like Hitler?
    (sorry, realise Godwin’s Law will now be invoked)

  17. Sophie says:

    Have you seen News Wipe on BBC4? It highlights how ludicrous the news is and how it’s essentially all about the fear. V funny, but sometimes a bit close to the bone.

  18. Russell Howards Good News is back soon too.

  19. Forrest says:

    Speaking of “gossip”, here’s some needing your payers for my wife.

    Hey Y’all;

    Oh, this is wonderful.
    Just friggin wonderful.

    Kathy called me from Grandview MO which is a hundred and twenty or so miles west of here a couple hours ago the report daughter-in-law had assaulted Kathy by pushing and shoving Kathy while she was telling DIL that no, the kids could not stay there with her and her sick son all day. The initial agreement was for half the day. Kathy’s health is bad and her son’s is too.

    Kathy said she took no physical action. Other adult witness was said to be Rusty her son.
    And then DIL called police on Kathy. On Kathy????????????? For what?
    Kathy is unsure whether to go file a police report.
    I think she should, no telling what psychotic DIL will do.
    DIL was said to have threatened to file child abuse charges on Kathy.

    Kathy had gone there to take care of her son who is quite ill since his wife was not helping her mate.
    So much for that wedding vow, eh?

    What a mess.
    What a bloody f-ing mess.

    Kathy will probably be upset with me for putting this here, but, dammit, I am her husband and I want the truth to get out. Comfortable and pretty or not.
    Sometimes the truth is ugly.
    And my wife was treated quite ugly.
    I. Do. Not. Like. That.
    At. All.

    And Kathy needs a bunch of prayer.
    She still feels God calling her to move there.

    But is it safe?

    Before she left my intuition was Screaming “Do Not Go!!!!!!!!”
    That was made known.
    The call of God to go was felt to be the right thing.

    I am quite concerned for the safety of my wife…. See More
    She is concerned the state will take the grandkids.
    And she will no longer see them.

    Chaos all the way through.
    Turmoil, crisis, and chaos.
    Wherever her son is, it follows.

    I. Am. Not. Pleased.

    And do not foresee that being altered.

  20. Tiggy says:

    Channel Four News is great and so is Newsnight.How is stuff about Obama trying to get his health bill through gossip?

    I love the news, it takes me out of myself and makes me think about other people rather than myself.

  21. Tiggy says:

    Oh Forrest, I do feel for you. Kathy must be feeling dreadful. Lately I feel the world’s going mad.

    I’m on a false, trumped-up police charge myself from someone I trusted. It makes you feel horrible, even though you know that you’re innocent and can prove it. The worst thing is the shock of betrayal. I was put in a freezing police cell for eight hours after having spent the afternoon in hospital with suspected heart problems and I couldn’t believe he had sent them to arrest me knowing I was in hospital. And because he had no real case he told them lies, like the lies he told me when he kept saying he cared about me. I think he’s sick and has lost the plot.

  22. Forrest says:

    Hi Tiggy; Prayers for you.
    Hey, an idea, maybe we could throw him and DIL together, that could be a show.

    Why don’t people repent and change their ways?

    These two might be as mentally gone as was, oh, I think, Nebuchadnezzar was for awhile.

    Whew. Sin makes a mess of things.
    Like having an overflowing garbage skip tipped into your life.

  23. subo says:

    thanks for sharing your situations Forrest and Tiggy, will be thinking of you, and praying for a way through. blessings. Su

  24. Tiggy says:

    Thanks Su,

    I’m thinking even in the unlikely event that injustice prevails and I get sent to prison, I will at least have more company than I do now and I can help the other prisoners improve their English skills. Then I’ll come out and write articles about my experiences. Hey I might get an ASBO, then I’ll be really cool. Actually though, despite my weird fantasies it’s hard to see any way I’ll be found guilty. It probably won’t even get to court and then I’ll miss my chance of having a captive audience.

  25. Forrest says:

    Tiggy, think Joseph. And Paul.

  26. Tiggy says:

    Er… did they teach English then? They didn’t get put in a freezing cold prison cell for eight hours because they didn’t have prisons in those days, not like we do now. They would just have been put under house arrest in a normal residence and I bet they were given biscuits with their tea and didn’t have their mobile phones apprehended. I bet they didn’t take his fucking Blackberry Curve!

  27. Carole says:

    This cartoon instantly sprung to mind when I was watching the news the other day. Two men went on trial for the ‘manslaughter’ of a 15 year-old girl two years ago in Goa. The media seemed more interested in the fact that the girl’s mother, who has fought tirelessly for justice for her daughter, has admitted to benefit fraud. As a taxpayer, I’m not wild about that…but it kind of pales into insignificance compared to the drugging, rape and murder of a child.

  28. Pingback: » Evening Gossip Thoughts, Feelings & Experiences

Leave a Reply

