862

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 862

  1. Carole says:

    Is it more a case of the double talk thing that we can have going on? Preach forgiveness from the pulpit but it doesn’t quite stretch down the corridor to coffee and biscuits?

  2. Forrest says:

    Where there are human beings there is ego-centered judgment. God is the only righteous judge.

  3. chris says:

    oh, i’ve been there…

    actually, I didn’t know just HOW bad I was before I walked into church. I was enlightened :\

  4. or:

    “I know I’m different, but…”
    “I know I don’t sing well, but…”
    “I know I don’t worship in the same way, but…”

  5. beckyw says:

    At least it was only an hour ;-)

  6. Andy in Germany says:

    “At least it was only an hour”

    Or maybe it’s still going on, and on, and he’s just been thrown out.

  7. Tiggy says:

    When we were studying Matthew’s gospel, we got to the bit about not judging people and somehow the woman leading it managed to turn it round to saying, ‘People need to be told, we need to speak out about the state of society with all these single parents and gay people adopting.’ It ended in a big row with me walking out and she hasn’t spoken to me since.

    She also managed to turn Jesus comments on keeping prayer simple and private to a lengthy and didactic talk on exactly what she says to God. Poor God, that woman really does go on!

  8. Pingback: ASBO Jesus does it again!… « Getting There… 2 steps forward, 1 back

  9. Kevin says:

    Delima: Out of joy, I am compelled to share my story of redemption, but I can only share with a very few close, trusted friends specifics about the torment from which Christ has rescued me. The weight being off my shoulders is such profound freedom, yet I fear that the judgment of people could trigger a relapse.

  10. Reminds me of a tale of Abba Isaac the desert father:

    He saw a brother committing a sin and he condemned him. When he returned to the desert, an angel of the Lord came and stood in front of the door of his cell, and said, “I will not let you enter.” But he persisted saying, “What is the matter?” And the angel replied, “God has sent me to ask you where you want to throw the guilty brother whom you have condemned.” Immediately he repented and said, “I have sinned, forgive me.” Then the angel said, “Get up, God has forgiven you. But from now on, be careful not to judge someone before God has done so

  11. Pat says:

    Well, it may depend on what sort of judgement is being referred to I guess. Sometimes we do need to be pulled up about something and encouraged to confront or re-evaluate some aspect of our thinking or praxis. I can remember a number of very clear instances when that has happened to me in the context of a church service – not necessarily through a direct personal challenge (of the dreaded ‘I have a word from the Lord for you’ type :-? ) but because something seen, heard, sung etc has confronted me with a different perspective on myself or on my behaviour in a specific circumstance and made me think – ‘what ought I to do/how do I need to change in the light of this?’

    And are we so very free from passing ‘judgement’ (in both constructive and destructive ways) here on Asbo?

  12. miriworm says:

    Seems to me Jesus and the apostles weren’t above passing judgement on others on the odd occassion?

  13. poplanthe says:

    What kind of world would this be if we didn’t judge/comment to people on their actions/dealings?

    It would be choas, unless everyone had got their moral and action compasses lined up perfectly all the time.

    Although I must say, that people you barely know, are probably not the best place source of these comments!

  14. chris says:

    unfortunately it’s not just inside the four walls of churches that Christians will want to get at me and everything I believe and and tell me how bad i am… Today, it seems, they are every BLOODY WHERE!!!!!!!!

    Time to step away from the computer and my emails and… people I know and… Suck my thumb in the corner.

    (sad cross face)

  15. Caroline TOO says:

    I dunno…

    I’ve had some pretty harsh criticism and judgement in church
    over the last few years,

    but

    others have stood by me, accepted and loved me…

    (the difference between the groups tended to be whether they knew and
    had shared my story with me…

  16. poplanthe says:

    lovely point caroline :-)
    Sometimes I am amazed when I look back or take a step back, at how hugely loving and caring people can be. Once I’ve cleaned my glasses of the small smears of hurt I have been caused, the bigger picture is always love.

  17. Pat says:

    Chris @14 – here’s hoping today is more expansive, generous and …well just plain good and wholesome for you. Keep well. Pat

  18. chris says:

    Thank You Pat.
    Taken some deep breaths and… today is a better day.
    love.

  19. Pat says:

    Glad to hear it :-) – and hope it continues so Px

Leave a Reply

