879

cartoon 5 from ‘stories from the edge‘…

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 879

  1. Caroline TOO says:

    ok, fine by me, then that will be the last thing you get from me….
    :roll:

  2. Hayles says:

    Brilliant cartoon, and right on the mark. How can any of us judge anyone when we’re all in the same boat, trying to work out what on earth is going on in life?

    Reminds me of that quote:
    ‘Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.’

    I don’t know who said it (the internet attributes it to lots of different people, from Plato to T.H.Thompson and John Watson), but they were definitely on to something. Everyone carries hurt and insecurities and secrets around with them, and we should all give each other a break.

    Now, if only I could put that into action…

  3. Forrest says:

    And the flip side, cynically speaking, is:
    “The last thing I need when I’m judging is your desperation.”

  4. Lisa says:

    Reminds me of when I was 20 and attending a new church. I had been sexually abused for years by my family members and thought that dressing provocatively was the only way to get love. I got judged and eventually tossed out.

    Thankfully, Jesus was kind to the prostitute by loving her as she was first, then telling her to go and change her life. Compassion and understanding is hard. But we never really know what’s behind the desperation. Be kind. Be compassionate. Then help.

  5. ARJWright says:

    Given the events that I had last night with three different audiences, this hits home and then some.

  6. miriworm says:

    What about when your not desperate? Thoughts ed.

  7. dgsinclair says:

    Is that an oar? Great cartoon, although Forrester’s comment made me laugh. Maybe he should have said:

    “The last thing YOU need when I am trying to give you loving advice is your victim mentality.”

  8. dgsinclair says:

    Or, again, taking the ‘other’ side:

    “The last thing I need when I am desperate is you telling me that I have some responsibility for my decisions.”

    Just sayin’. This is still a great cartoon saying something worth saying.

  9. jonbirch says:

    lisa @ 4… thank you so much for your contribution and sharing your experience… i agree with you entirely. it always seemed to me that when jesus says ‘go and sin no more’ it feels like an empowering benediction, giving the person strength, rather than a damning judgment which is disempowering and dehumanising. i love jesus for that. :-)

  10. pemko says:

    So true, many people judging people who cut themselves….

Leave a Reply

