896

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 896

  1. Whether or not there was a real whale seems like a side issue to me. The real point of the story is that people need to live out of an idea of God’s mercy that is bigger than the idea of it we have at the moment. Jonah reminds me of the elder brother in the parable of the prodigal sons – the one who excludes himself from the party, in spite of his father’s earnest pleading and obvious goodness.

  2. jonbirch says:

    hi ed… agreed completely.

  3. No matter how much I bitch and moan, God will put me where I need to be. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve pulled a Jonah here. :)

  4. Mathias says:

    Nice one! Actually, I like to think that God simply shrank Jonah so that he fit inside a herring. Just for the fun of it.
    May I shamelessly promote an article I wrote about Jonah on my blog? ;-)

  5. Miriworm says:

    Been on your hols Jon or was it Glastonbury? :-)

    Check this out:
    http://www.trivia-library.com/a/real-life-jonah-a-man-who-survived-in-the-belly-of-a-whale.htm

  6. now that’s interesting

    i completely bypassed the ‘did jonah really end up in a whale’ bit and thought it’s the ‘had time to think’ bit which doesn’t happen in the real world :/ – tells you where i’m at…

  7. Lin says:

    me too Radical Evangelical!!:-D

  8. jonbirch says:

    mathias… nothing wrong with a bit of shameless promotion. :-)

    hi miriworm… neither, just a lot of work and a head full. back now. :-)

    radical evangelical and lin… :lol:

  9. Peter Parslow says:

    @miriworm: see also http://www.truthorfiction.com/rumors/n/newjonah.htm

    @radical evangelical: with you there!

  10. :) we all need space to think, i’ll settle for the belly of a whale if that’s what it takes!

  11. Thanks to no longer having a job, I have plenty of time to think, and write.

  12. Will says:

    Hey Radical, Perhaps we should start to pray for a fish to swallow us up. Get some space in our lives. :)

  13. Forrest says:

    That’s okay Jonah, my life also has things that never happens in the real world – like my checkbook balancing.

  14. Hazel says:

    I love this one. In fact, I love the whole story of Jonah, especially the bits where he moans to God “I knew you would save them anyway” and the bit at the end where he admires the plant giving him shade then the worm chews it up and he moans again…reminds me so much of myself!

  15. Hazel says:

    In fact, Jon, you could do a whole series of Jonah cartoons…

  16. chris says:

    I always get him mixed up with Gepetto…

    and

    Hooray, you’re back!

  17. Robb says:

    I have spent a lifetime being swallowed by big fish and spat back on the beach at Nineveh. I don’t know where I would be without those big fish.

  18. Miriworm says:

    Heh Robb, #17, life’s a beach so that explains while your having a whale of a time! :-)

  19. janetp says:

    Great to have you back, Jon :)

  20. Bo says:

    I can relate to that thought.

    Much of what God does is not what we expect to happen in the real world.

  21. Mark says:

    I’ve always thought that the book of Jonah was religious satire – fish, worms and cattle in sackcloth!

Leave a Reply

