910

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 910

  1. becky says:

    this isn’t eternity, it’s hell on earth. :)

  2. Miriworm says:

    Sorry what was that I think I was a sleep! :-)

  3. Carole says:

    I sometimes have to stop myself from thinking that I feel a bit like I’ve succumbed to a slick sales pitch…and the salesman has glossed over the details of what ‘eternity’ actually means. What does it mean – in literal terms. If I have signed on the dotted line, is it too late for someone to go through the small print with me? Have I just responded through fear that my spiritual soffits and bargeboards are crumbling? Hmm…

  4. subo says:

    I was in Aldeburgh a few days ago, where we visited the Moot Hall – apparently Benjamin Britton incorporated this very same building into his music

    anyhow, inside the Moot H. is the history of the church, including it’s historical usage, apparently the church was originally used for all social gatherings, theatre showings ect, and only became set aside purely for ‘sacred’ services hundreds of years after it was built

    it’s a huge barn of a church, and would have made a fab market hall and dance venue

  5. that place needs more windows …

  6. Carole says:

    We were talking the other day about time and how the days always seemed so long when we were kids and yet now, they fly by. I think it is something to do with the fact that as a kid I had no real sense of time, but in my adult life, time is constantly marked by one event or another. Often in church, you have no idea where the time markers are. I find the liturgy very useful in this respect. ;-)

  7. Pat says:

    Is it the tedium of ‘endless repetition of the same’ or the joyless sterility ‘completely disconnected with each other’ which represents the worse prospect I wonder?

  8. jonbirch says:

    i just can’t do a service week in week out. the occasional service i can manage. weddings and funerals i can do, they seem packed with meaning and are proper community/family events where the purpose is clear. the purpose of the church service is less clear to me and i find myself clock watching and desperate to be somewhere else.

  9. Kim says:

    aarrgh – were you in the service last evening where I did the talk??

  10. sarahboo says:

    Ah well …. if you’d been with us on Sunday evening, I think you might have felt that the time just flew by. Excellent, moving, honest testimony (Thank you Lynn).

  11. jonbirch says:

    kim… haha! :-) no, but i’m sure it was great! ;-)

    sarahboo… people’s stories are things i always find completely fascinating. i’m sure there isn’t one person on the planet whose life story i wouldn’t find utterly compelling. people are quite simply interesting. :-)

  12. linus says:

    yes i am sick of services for the sake of services and Sunday morning consumer Christianity (wot Pat said).

    Its interesting that the discussion here is almost immediately contrasting a dutiful religious event without interaction on the one hand, with community and relationship and sharing our story on the other. Those things can be done in and around a sunday morning event, but often aren’t.

    Jesus defines eternal life as knowing God. Its about relationship and community and story and purpose, just like the comments above have said. Its not really about endless time, its about unlimited life. I don’t think i really experience much of that just now, but i’d like to. If the good news is that one day i’ll experience that completely, that’s an attractive message to me.

    @Carole – yes i am at greenbelt (yay!), and it would be lovely to get to meet you and have a bit of asbo community going on there to hopefully practice what i’ve just preached. Who’s for an asbo gathering at GB?

  13. janetp says:

    Linus @ 12: Who’s for an asbo gathering at GB? Count me in! Hope to see you there.

  14. Carole says:

    See you both, Janetp and Linus…I now have both your numbers…mwahahaha!!

  15. Pat says:

    ‘Its not really about endless time, its about unlimited life’

    Linus – I really like that way of putting it. Thank you :-)

  16. jonbirch says:

    linus… “Its not really about endless time, its about unlimited life.” love it! :-)

  17. rebecca says:

    #12-14 It seems a little sad to have an Asbo gathering at Greenbelt at which the source of it all is not present. Unless Jon has changed his mind about not going. :-) And perhaps he would argue that God, rather than himself, is the source of it all.

    If you want to look me up, look for the Grace service in the Big Top at noon on Monday. Or Landskapes in the Hub at 10 PM on Friday.

    Jon (#16): I agree as well.

  18. Carole says:

    So Rebecca, will you be carrying a newspaper or wearing a red rose in your buttonhole or something? ;-)

  19. rebecca says:

    I’ll probably be wearing a yellow jacket at the Grace service, but so will all the other Grace leaders, so if you want to find me, ask one of them!

    I hadn’t thought of wearing a red rose. Not really my style, I’m afraid.

  20. Carole says:

    I’ll see you there – probably Friday night. :-)

  21. Tiggy says:

    Oh, you’ve all done the Greenbelt arranging already. I missed this post earlier. Hmm, who do I give my number to?

    You could just pop up for the day, Jon, once the sun comes out again. Is Messy Space running after all? Maybe they should have an adult version. Or perhaps that’s my tent.

Leave a Reply

