914

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 914

  1. subo says:

    that’s brilliant, absolutely brilliant

  2. Carole says:

    Blimey! Where is everyone? Only a lonely Subo in the house?

    I can understand that this is a bit thought-provoking but I thought someone else might have something to say. I’ve thought about it for ages and left it and come back to it again…several times. The only thing that keeps coming up is, how could you be an atheist AND be chirpy? I mean how could you go through life with a smile on your face and think, “I’d better enjoy myself, for tomorrow I may be worm food!”

    Maybe more theologically atuned persons would shake their heads and make tutting noises at me for saying this. Fact is, I need a saviour to save me from the fear that life’s a bitch and then you die. It’s as basic, selfish and unsophisticated as that.

  3. sFunny that Carole cos I have been coming back to this all day trying to think of something witty to say and instead I just kept looking at it and thinking I dont know what to say.

    Im not sure I need a saviour anymore because I have one, well at least I think I do, and my choice of saviour is Jesus although I don’t really know him that well I have chose him or did he choose me? lol.

    I got thinking about something my Dad said to me once which was a bit like “I don’t need a saviour dennis” I just need someone to understand me, he never really got to grips with it which tore me apart, so the thing is he didn’t think he needed one, I just don’t think he recognised it.

    I embarrassingly used to say to him you wont find answers in the bottom of that glass and I can hear him responding “Im not looking for answers, Im just thirsty”

    maybe the search for a saviour isn’t answered in the same way for everyone, maybe they just dont know it yet?

  4. Forrest says:

    True, the world doesn’t need a savior.

    But the people in it sure do.

  5. Andrew says:

    “how come so many people are crying out for one?”

    – we are told to
    – when young, we learn that if we cry we get attention
    – it is easier to cry and get saved than to serve and pay the price
    – we have a culture that has promoted consumption by the self rather than the expansion of the self

    We’ve tried the saviour thing. But now we have to save the world from our own crying.

  6. subo says:

    hiya everyone, good not to be quite so lonely today.

    perhaps ‘old language’ doesn’t help, we all work so hard just to stay still these days, that someone going on about ‘sin & salvation’ seems irrelevant

    and yet when someone mentions ‘addictions’, the room goes a little quiet – it’s the stress

  7. jonbirch says:

    forrest @ 4. i thought the saviour came to bring in a new creation… ‘even the rocks cry out’ and all that.

  8. justpassinthru says:

    The only thing that keeps coming up is, how could you be an atheist AND be chirpy? I mean how could you go through life with a smile on your face and think, ā€œIā€™d better enjoy myself, for tomorrow I may be worm food!ā€

    Sorry to disappoint! I am unfortunately to your everlasting Bible-over-your-heart horror, I am certain, one of “those chirpy atheists who goes through life with a smile on my face and think I’d better enjoy myself (yes I enjoy myself morally as I just know that’s going to be your next objection) because tomorrow I might be worm food” How I do this (much to your pearl-clutching shock it seems) is specifically *because* tomorrow I may be worm food.

    Seize the day. Live every day as if it were your last. Stop and smell the roses. Life is short live in the moment. These are not just twee sayings they are truth writ large!

    The more of your single, finite, lifespan that you waste looking up to the clouds for some intangible beautiful here-after….The less time you will have left to start enjoying the world and the people in it that you think your God created and placed you in, in the first place.

    The better question is how can a BELIEVER go through life with a smile on their face and a chirpy attitude if you believe the world is really so wicked, evil, sinful, useless, worthless, and is only just a really lousy waiting room for the harps and the halos and that?

    Sorry. I don’t normally read the comments here tho I read the strip.

  9. janetp says:

    justpassingthru @ 8 : good to see an atheist who (presumably) enjoys ASBO too – welcome, and thank you for your comments. :)

    I find it really interesting to hear the thoughts of someone whose views are different from mine, although I wouldn’t exactly place myself in the ‘other’ camp you describe above.

    However, I do feel the way you phrased some of your comments (particularly the 2nd paragraph) was a little unnecessarily disparaging and somewhat loaded with assumptions, unlike Carole’s initial comment which, as I read it, was intended only as a rhetorical question indicating her particular feelings on the matter rather than an attack on those who hold an opposing view.

    Have I misunderstood?

  10. justpassinthru says:

    janetp,

    To my credit I did reword the comment before I hit Submit.

    Carole’s initial comment may indeed have been rhetorical — but does that not point out another flaw of the believing mindset? That no atheist was ever going to read her comment (nor by implication would any atheist ever read this blog) Carole then felt free to post her unfounded assumptions and ask her (rhetorical or otherwise) question with impunity.

    I did not read an attack in Carole’s words. I did read unfounded assumptions and a disparaging attitude towards people like myself that I felt (Rightly or wrongly — likely wrongly!) needed to be addressed.

    I was disparaging and loading my own comment with assumptions you deduce correctly — but it was only to hold a mirror to Carole’s comment to show her what it looked like from the other side.

    Like I say, I probably should not have commented. I read the blog fairly regularly but I do stay away from the comments. I’m sure the reasons why have now been more than sufficiently revealed! :-)

  11. Laura says:

    Hi justpassingthrough…

    I read Carole’s comments as being more introspective and about her own reaction to the times she’s pondered thinking about being an atheist than being a comment on anyone else who has made that decision.

    It’s always interesting to see how different people read things isn’t it?

    Glad you commented and gave people another perspective.

  12. Carole says:

    Hi justpassingthru. Thank you for your comments – aside from the ace cartoons, this place is a great place of conversation and it is good to have a variety of viewpoints. Indeed there are a number of points in your comment which I wholeheartedly endorse irrespective of whether we share beliefs or not.

    However, Laura and Janetp got it right – this was merely little me sharing my innermost thoughts and struggles. If you feel I have in any way judged you and others who do not share my beliefs, that was not my intention so I apologise if this is how it has been interpreted. But I think there is a bit of the pot calling kettle here. I feel that you have made a few assumptions about me on a personal level which simply are not true. You do not know me or anything about me so please do not presume that you do.

  13. Tiggy says:

    ARE people crying out for a saviour? I hadn’t noticed they were, except maybe people in churches. Maybe we all have a Cinderella complex. I can’t say I’ve ever felt the need for a saviour myself and I certainly don’t now. Friends yes, fellowship yes, a lover yes, even a dog, but not a saviour. I don’t want someone to sweep down and rescue me in what would be a very unequal relationship. I’ve never had heroes or looked up to anyone, even my parents. I have no sense of hierarchy. I doubt the idea of a Saviour would even occur to me if the word weren’t used in the Bible. It’s not a word I’ve ever used much in speech or thought.

  14. Cecil says:

    You’re absolutely right : actually people AREN’T crying out for a saviour. No man in his blind sinful state sees any need to be saved. Saved from what ? Man lives as if he were the centre of the universe. Only when God begins to show him that he is a sinner, that he falls short and one day will be judged by the One Who made him. After all man did not make himself, did he ? He can’t even sustain his own life. One day he will stand before the One who DID make him to be judged and damned eternally or to be saved. Still don’t need your need for a saviour ?

  15. jonbirch says:

    ooh cecil, you make it all sound so inviting. :lol:

  16. Pingback: What the world wants | Things Findo Thinks

Leave a Reply

