926

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 926

  1. becky says:

    Jon – to me it’s not a matter of ‘decent behavior’ as much as there comes a point when somehow being a drunken ass with your pants down isn’t funny anymore.
    In a similar note, “trying” to be cool by breaking the rules by swearing, drinking, drugging, having random sex, etc. strikes me as horribly uncool.

  2. 12views says:

    Another funny, provocative cartoon :) love it!

  3. subo says:

    just been reading Julian of Norwich, on being tempted to sin. I found my thinking challenged when she talked about praying for ‘infliction’, and her prayer being granted, so that she nearly died from an infirmity, that one caught me out with my struggles to stay well. now I find myself overwhelmed by her knowledge of God’s love for her in the midst of temptation, her warmly grounded faith that ‘all will be well, and all manner of things will be well’. – that’s a longwinded way to say it’s good to feel free from the fear of the invisible line, or fear of others slipping across

  4. soniamain says:

    made me laugh!, very jon birch:)

  5. Changingworship says:

    Becky – the cartoon smacks more of monty python than comment on hipster Christianity.

  6. naomi says:

    this is nothing to do with this cartoon, but i was tlkaing with my parents and my mum was saying how she went to come christian meeting thing and the computer failed dismally to work due to their incompetance and they basically were saying it was the devil interfering with it, and then my dad (a minister) was saying for services where there’s lots of people who don’t often come to church there, like christmas eve carol services, if before hand everything worked perfectly then in the service it all goes wrong and we know it’s nothing to do with the operator of the AV system (me :P) or the stuff he’s put together sometimes it might be the devil.

    but it also made us think how much people rely on technology and seem to think jesus will give them a perfect hassel free life.

    and it made me think ‘Jesus didn’t say pick up your laptop and follow me and you’ll never have a technical glitch again’ would make a good cartoon!

  7. Carole says:

    Ooh! Jon, I am shocked! This is just about the rudest cartoon you’ve done on here! I’M VERY ANGRY!!!
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    -
    _ ;-)

  8. chris says:

    hahahaha! call me juvenile, maybe but hahahahahahahahah! : D

  9. Caroline TOO says:

    frankly, and the world should be very happy about this, I feel no temptation to moon at the world!

  10. Jael says:

    can you send this to my stalker?

  11. Hahahahahahahahahahah I’ve just been reminded why I love you so so much.

  12. PB says:

    Oh, I do so love schoolboy humour! Laughed out loud! Can we have some about passing wind in church next – PLEASE!

  13. Tiggy says:

    Jesus made a point of crossing lines.

  14. beckyw says:

    *splutter* just nearly spat my tea across the room reading this…hahaha

  15. Kim says:

    but did the pointing out of the line make him do it just to ‘rebel’? I know I have this in me and I wish I had grown out of it by age as its pretty close to self sabotage at times.

  16. dgsinclair says:

    Being from an evangelical subculture, I find that there is a healthy balance of emphasizing decency and humanness.

    For example, last weekend, one of our female worship leaders was barefoot on stage. In some circles, that might be considered indecent.

    I have Christian friends who sometimes curse (as I do), and we don’t go about looking cross-eyed at one another for such ‘indecent’ speech.

    However, lewd jokes are definitely considered gauche in my circles, as are overly revealing clothing on women (I don’t quite ever see revealing clothing on men, but I guess Daisy Duke’s on either sex would be considered somewhat of indecent).

    Heck, I think showing too much cleavage is distracting, if not indecent on a Godly woman, but I would not berate an unbeliever for such.

    Then again, I’ve been to nude beaches and ‘clothing optional’ resorts and see no problem with the human body as long as you don’t become a lust machine. But I expect that would hardly be an evangelical perspective ;)

  17. dgsinclair says:

    @DAVID #15

    Your blog would not let me leave a comment on your article above, so here’s my response:

    I think that either extreme is unhealthy. Seeing how close you can get to the line shows more love for sin than for Jesus.

    But trying to ‘stay as far away as possible’ is also a danger. Such was the error of the Pharisee, who created laws on top of laws to keep far away from sin.

    Listen to Solomon on this subject:

    Ecclesiastes 7:16
    Do not be overly righteous, Nor be overly wise: Why should you destroy yourself?

    Seek to be close to God, but also enjoy your humanness. The emphasis on ‘keeping away from the line’ ends up with a self-induced legalism with no real power to control the flesh, hence Paul’s admonition:

    Colossians 2:20-24 (New King James Version)

    20 Therefore, if you died with Christ from the basic principles of the world, why, as though living in the world, do you subject yourselves to regulations— “Do not touch, do not taste, do not handle,” which all concern things which perish with the using—according to the commandments and doctrines of men?

    These things indeed have an appearance of wisdom in self-imposed religion, false humility, and neglect of the body, but are of no value against the indulgence of the flesh.

Leave a Reply

