948

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 948

  1. Bones says:

    “The cone of shame!” –UP

  2. I wish I could say only tea partiers wear these but I have one in my closet I keep on so I don’t have to listen to conservatives.

  3. Carole says:

    hahahaha! That’s funny!

  4. Spot the gerbil says:

    Not quick enough, but I’ll say it anyway…

    “The Cone of Shame!”

  5. chris says:

    There are times when i willingly put on mine. Sometimes the big picture is just too big, sometimes all the pain is just too much…. Maybe i should say, Sometimes I will myself to take mine off, just for a peep.

  6. janetp says:

    Perhaps the reason we wear these things (and I think we all do sometimes) is for much the same reason as we make our pets wear them – because seeing the bigger picture would make some of our wounds so sore that we would tend to ‘chew at them’ in our distress?

  7. Mike says:

    This looks like something the Liberals wear in America.

  8. linus says:

    oh look at that – a liberal claiming conservatives are blinkered, and a conservative claiming that liberals are blinkered, all right there in the same comment thread. Sigh. (with all due respect to Becky who is self aware enough to admit she wears a cone too. I totally do.)

  9. jonbirch says:

    i have an adjustable cone for all occasions.

  10. Mike says:

    Linus,

    My cone is always set in the correct direction :). Thus says a flawed man.

  11. Ros says:

    I find it’s best to keep an open mind for extremists, conservatives, liberals and communists to pop in for a cuppa!

  12. youthworkerpete says:

    I’d have loved to see this cartoon have the same caption on each picture. Don’t we all have wounds we can’t leave alone? Even those we thought we’d ‘given to God’?

  13. AnneDroid says:

    Jon, your comment at #9 made me smile! But to be fair I think your adjustable cone, at least as you model it, is a Good Thing :)

    YWP at #12 – that’s valid too, I reckon.

  14. linus says:

    That’s all good, Mike =] I too am very flawed. lookie, we all have something in common after all =]

    YWP – yep, agreed. Maybe especially the wounds we “give to God” (horrible phrase – yeuch).

    Talking to God about where we hurt might well be the start of the healing process, but in my experience dumping stuff on God’s lap and expecting a magic-wanding away of stuff that hurts is not a good plan. Because when painful things happen it *should* hurt, and that is part of the process of dealing with what has happened and hopefully being changed and maturing through the experience.

    I wish some things that have happened to me… well, hadn’t. But the pain of those things is part of my response to who i am and what i’ve experienced and i think God wants to redeem that pain rather than magick it away in a manner that shows no respect for the events that caused the pain in the first place. I don’t even know how you could make the pain vanish like that without undoing the events that caused such pain, or at least the memory, or the human-ness of my response to those events. And i don’t want those memories or that human-ness undone – they are part of me.

  15. jonbirch says:

    linus… once again, i find myself agreeing with you. :-)

    ywp… yup, that would have worked well. a very good caption in fact. :-)

    annedroid… shucks. i’m blushing. me… a model. :-D

Leave a Reply

