996

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 996

  1. dgsinclair says:

    Dude, you gotta go back and categorize your cartoons. This one could be under Technology, Guidance, and Autos

    The question for this cartoon is, was God Nav right in putting you in the drink?

  2. preachersa2z says:

    As a baptist, I have to approve of the God-nav’s flawless sense of direction. Need to be careful with sat navs though – see http://richardlittledale.wordpress.com/2010/10/20/competing-stories/

  3. chris says:

    ah, the whole ‘i’m following God therefore I turn off my brain’ thing?

    frustrating. sometimes hilarious. more often heart-breaking.

  4. Pat says:

    Worse than that Chris – the whole thing is already all mapped out in the ‘Divine Plan’ – we are objects upon which God acts, not subjects with whom he engages. Freedom indeed :-(

  5. jonbirch says:

    pat… predestination is yuck, nonsense, oppressive, dehumanising etc… you pointed out many things on post 995 regarding this that i utterly agree with.

  6. Pat says:

    Jon – sadly, I think a surprisng number of people operate inside the christian framework with versions, albeit sometimes quite subtle ones, of it though. I don’t think God is predestined to do certain things either – not within the framework of space/time/matter at any rate :-D

  7. Pat says:

    Sorry – meant also to say that I love the cartoon :-) Works on all sorts of levels to amuse me :lol:
    …. as well as being thought provoking in a more sombre way. Thanks.

  8. Anke says:

    So why is the dude sitting on the left in the first frame and on the right in the second? Trying to appeal to both UK and international audiences? ;-)

  9. jonbirch says:

    anke… first frame front view, second frame back view. i wish i was so thoughtful as to be so internationally aware. :-)

  10. dgsinclair says:

    >> JON: pat… predestination is yuck, nonsense, oppressive, dehumanising etc

    Actually, predestination with regards to salvation’s initiation and completion is liberating and peace-inducing. And it does not obviate free will or responsibility.

    However, predestination practiced in a way where we avoid our responsibility to plan, reason, think, decide is not only unbiblical, is foolish.

    My early Christianity was part of the Arminian (emphasis on free will, requirement of holiness and devotion to keep your salvation), and it was a heavy burden. Then, I read the classic book Reformed Doctrine of Predestination by Loraine Boettner, and in combination with Hebrews 3 and 4, took refuge in healthy Calvinistic predestination, which essentially to me is “faith in God’s ability to save and keep me, rather than in my ability to be devoted to God.”

    Viewed that way, I think predestination, which is obviously throughout Paul’s writings, is a righteous refuge.

  11. jonbirch says:

    “faith in God’s ability to save and keep me” i don’t have a problem with. that my life is mapped out, i do, big time. free will and predestination are opposites in that respect.

  12. Ros says:

    I’ve just been reminded of an old joke;

    A man is in serious financial difficulties, so he goes to a church to pray. He asks God, “my business is about to be liquidated. Please can I win the lottery?”

    Next week, he’s back again. “I’m about to be declared bankrupt and my house is going to be repossessed. Please can I win the lottery?”

    The following week, he’s back and angry. “I’m bankrupt, homeless and my wife is divorcing me. Why aren’t you listening to me about winning the lottery?!”

    Suddenly a big voice tells him. “Work with me on this – buy a ticket!”

  13. take the short cut its easier …

  14. Carole says:

    I tried for a number of years to seek God’s guidance in my life. Sadly I found that generally things went pear-shaped. Maybe that is what God intended. His humour is too warped even for me. :-( Now I don’t bother asking, I just do as I feel.

  15. Ros says:

    @Carole

    Because God wants us to take the initiative (otherwise we’d be stuck in one place), but work with him at the same time.

    @Jon

    This cartoon and discussion is very helpful. Thanks.

  16. Kayte says:

    i often think it would be easier if God used neon to communicate what we’re meant to do! I think i’m in a similar place to Jon and Carole at the mo; not quite sure what direction I’m meant to be going in, and God feels quite quiet…

  17. mmp says:

    sometimes any activity ( yeah even ending up in water) is preferable to that silence

    not saying it’s right tho
    and not saying i don’t also blame God as well :(

  18. roy says:

    the GodNav is great – just not sure which version to use, think they update it with new ‘more inspired than last time’ versions ;-)

  19. Johnnyonthespot says:

    Often I find that when we blame God, we ignore how we got ourselves into the mess we are in. How ultimately it is by mortal failings and selfishness that we suffer, many times, even by our own making. It is often when we silence ourselves and listen that we hear the inspiration we so longed for. Not in a thunder clap or a rushing wind or a great fire but in a quiet whisper. It is when we are humble that we find the Lord carrying us, not upon a great chariot or the back of a horse or even upon the shoulders of a great multitude, but in a gentle hand lifting us up and saying ‘There now. The strength is in you, for I have made it so. Go now and know that I am with you.’

Leave a Reply

