1010

About jonbirch

animator, illustrator, character designer, graphic designer. music producer/recording musician. co-owner of PROOST. proost.co.uk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 1010

  1. Carole says:

    Nah – there are usually good practical reasons why people don’t travel it. ‘Tis a wonderful thing, the metaphor. I often wonder how much ego and pride play a part in walking the ‘road less travelled’.

  2. linus says:

    happy 10th cartoon in binary =]

    i think there is more than one road less travelled. I think the road less travelled is not really a road… yet. I think most of the things worth doing in life are not easy things. i think too much.

  3. subo says:

    oh Carol, yr a gem. the only person I know who’s claimed to have read & practiced the Road Less Travelled, sent me several A4 documents about the flaws in my personality – she still talkes to me as though she’s only ever sent warmth + love in my direction! so wonderfully liberating to read your comments ‘how much ego and pride play a part in walking the ‘road less travelled’.’

  4. That would explain why it’s so friggin’ difficult.

    I’ve often wondered if it would be easier to follow the mainstream way that everyone criticizes me for not following. If I was living the way I do for the sake of my ego I’d have given up years ago…

    I’d suggest that if people can go a certain way because of Ego and pride, they aren’t really following the ‘road less traveled’: From experience you generally get ignored and slandered rather than praised and encouraged.

    Come to think of it, people often say things like “You’re being egotistical and proud”.

  5. Carole says:

    Ego isn’t necessarily a bad thing – for most of us it will play a part at least in being the motor to get us to achieve things. Pride, well, I think most of us fall into that at some point. In my experience shortly after I feel I have achieved something, pride kicks in. The sense of satisfaction of a job well done is harmless enough. On occasion, though it has veers dangerously into the territory of superiority and judging others. Fortunately for me, I seldom achieve anything of note ;-)

  6. Forrest says:

    Hmm . . . post #1010, road less traveled……. Okay, here’s what you do.

    Two working stiffs in cab of truck/lorry at a fork in road. One branch is nice, hard surface 4-lane, with a sign above it “Less Traveled Rd.” Other branch is little more than a weedy farmer’s lane, obviously rarely traveled, illegible peeling and rusty road name sign.
    Our dauntless laborers have instructions reading “Make delivery to lot #1010 on less traveled road.” You can see what this sets up.

    Whichever road they took, they eventually they get to a dwelling – it has no indication of lot number. They stop. One fellow gets out and goes to front door of house. Door is fully open, swings in. Seeing neither a button for a bell and being uncomfortable with having to reach through doorway to knock on door, our good delivery fellow calls out, something along the lines of “Pardon me, hallooo, is this ten-ten?”

    Those familiar with a comic drawn by a fellow who went by Herge; and a certain Gerry Anderson TV show, can imagine some things to do be done from that point.

  7. Forrest says:

    and the delivery could be “ten tins” of something, I dunno, oil, biscuits, something which comes in a tin.

    And that after all the confusion is sorted out, our 2 truckers get back in the cab, close the doors, sigh in relief, put her in gear and head off into the distance.

    As truck vanishes into distance, audio of our two good fellows is heard, “Wot’s next on the list?” Answer, “It says go to warehouse and pick up fork handles.”

  8. jonbirch says:

    i don’t know what the road less travelled is. i only know the road i’m on and i’m not sure i ever saw a fork in the road from which to make a decision. i have an ego, hopefully in check, but i mostly feel insecure. i expect i’m on a road frequently travelled… it’s a hard enough road even with fellow travelers to share the journey with.

  9. roy says:

    roads are usually less travelled when they have a “stinger” on them – hate it when they shred the tyres ;-)

  10. Sarah says:

    It is a path.

    And it’s worth it.

    It might be lonely, but it’s so worth it.

    Blessed be.

    Sarah

  11. subo says:

    Phew, for a minute Jon, I thought you were talking about ‘The Road Less Travelled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth’ by M. Scott Peck, a pop psychology self help best seller, – I’ve no idea if this tome was included in the research of how helpful self help books are, which discovered they leave people more depressed than prior to reading them

  12. jonbirch says:

    i’ve heard of the book, subo… but you know me, i wouldn’t have read it. :-)

  13. Sarah says:

    Su, that book actually helped me very much.

    But, one must withal and forge one’s own life. And one can.

    Nevertheless, it helped me.

  14. AnneDroid says:

    I haven’t read it either, Subo and Jon. I’ve read “People of the Lie” by the same author – it’s about evil people and is quite interesting.
    Nice cartoon btw.

  15. subo says:

    nice one Sarah, good to hear the Scott Peck cuts the musterd – at least for some

  16. goodfield says:

    Anything coming on AV before the big day Jon?

  17. Pingback: The Road Less Travelled | pioneer.cms-uk.org

  18. ARJWright says:

    My last poem for my current poetry compilation has a similar image (added animal references); neat to know that there are others feeling similar, swash-buckling a road in life that’s definitely more adventurous.

Leave a Reply

